Translator application for DaVinci/Utopian

Hello!

My name is Alejandro Estévez. I'm 25 year old and a soon-to-graduate production engineer in Simón Bolívar University, in Venezuela. Coming from a tech-savvy family, I've been deeply involved in the growth of the internet as the main vessel that created this era of information we're currently in. You could say I've been a proactive millennial hahah.

I've been an end user for the most time of my life, and I've seen how developers and community managers have suffered from failing to convey the actual information they're trying to pass on. I've seen it coming from everywhere, from indie games instructions to top-notch technical software UIs.

Now, from my studies and my background in various student groups from my university and internships, I've had the chance to view things from the other party's point of view: the project manager trying to get people to use the tools he's offering.

The problem is translating is not an easy task. It's not only a matter of using similar words. You're trying to fit a way of thinking into a whole new culture. It takes a deep understanding of both ends to actually pull the together.

Through the utopian platform, I had the chance to put all this knowledge into practice. I'm well aware that an individual might have the abilities to get a job well done, but if he sees no motivation in doing so, he will simply not do it. That's why I've always been so fascinated by the strategic incentive plan thought by utopian. Even more, it's brought the end user and the project manager closer. It's amazing to watch the discord so alive, where end users and project managers can casually speak. You can really feel the ideas flowing.

I was both a translator and a moderator in the utopian translations section when it was active and it was a great experience. This time, I will stick only to translating since I believe every project requires and deserves my complete attention to actually get the job well done. Sure, watching other translators improve thanks to my advises is nice, but nothing compares to seeing the final product filled with your very own words.

Hopefully I didn't ramble too much, but I'm really excited to get back to work!

Thank you for reading (and listening!). I hope to hear news from the DaVinci Project soon.


¡Hola!

Mi nombre es Alejandro Estévez. Tengo 25 años y soy un estudiante de ingeniería en producción en la Universidad Simón Bolívar, en Venezuela, por graduarse próximamente. He estado bastante involucrado en el crecimiento del internet como el principal motor creador de la era de información en la cual vivimos actualmente. Se podría decir que soy un ‘millennial’ activo jeje.

He sido el usuario típico la mayor parte de mi vida, y he visto como desarrolladores y ‘community managers’ han fallado al intentar transmitir la información que realmente desean que llegue. Lo he visto en todos lados, desde en juegos independientes tratando de dar instrucciones hasta en las interfaces de usuario de programas técnicos de alta categoría.

Ahora, a través de mis estudios y mis antecedentes en diversos grupos estudiantiles de mi universidad y pasantías, he tenido el chance de ver las cosas desde el otro lado de la moneda: el gerente de proyecto intentando que la gente use las herramientas que el ofrece.
El problema es que traducir no es una tarea sencilla. No se reduce a solo utilizar palabras similares. Estás intentando adaptar una matriz de pensamiento a una cultura completamente diferente. Se requiere de un conocimiento muy profundo de ambos lados para realmente poder juntarlos.

A través de la plataforma utopian, tuve el chance de poner todo este conocimiento en práctica. Estoy bastante consiente de que un individuo puede que tenga las habilidades necesarias para realizar un trabajo eficazmente, pero si este no ve la motivación en hacerlo, simplemente no lo hará. Es por esto que siempre me ha fascinado tanto el plan de incentivos estratégico pensado por utopian. Más aun, este ha acercado al usuario típico y al gerente de proyectos. Es increíble ver el canal de Discord vivo, donde usuarios y gerentes de proyectos pueden hablar casualmente. Realmente se pueden sentir las ideas fluyendo.

Yo fui ambos, traductor y moderador, en la sección de traducciones de utopian mientras esta estuvo activa y fue una gran experiencia. Esta vez, prefiero enfocarme a solo traducir, ya que creo que cada proyecto requiere y merece mi atención completa para realmente hacer un buen trabajo. Seguro, ver a otros traductores mejorar gracias a mis consejos es interesante, pero nada se compara a ver el producto final lleno de tus propias palabras.

Espero no haberme desviado demasiado, ¡pero es que realmente estoy muy emocionado por volver a poner las manos a la obra!

Gracias por leerme (¡y escucharme!). Espero pronto tener noticias por parte del DaVinci Project.


My whole steemit feed is proof of the translations I made in my time in utopian. I'll also leave a link to my crowdin account.

Here's a link to my read-through for the english bit of the application:


And here's a link for the spanish one:

Sort:  

Congratulations @acrywhif! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64768.36
ETH 3436.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51