There is No Appropriate Place, Situation, or Time to Express Interest In A Woman

in #dating8 years ago (edited)

selection_030

There is no appropriate place, situation, or time to express romantic interest In a woman. Every one is off limits to some women who will complain about you hitting on them there. The only exception is if she has a profile on a dating website. Then it's okay to be one of the 200 people who wrote her that day, hoping she will read your message and respond.

What has me thinking about this today is that a woman shared a delivery guy sex fantasy with me; or rather, there was a story about such a thing actually happening and she lamented that it never happened to her. That's when I told her what I said above.

It was on my mind because, just today, there is one thread where a friend of mine is being called out on her bullshit. I love it. She's complaining because she scratched her butt and a man was turned on by it. She's made about half a dozen of these posts, complaining about men being attracted to her, as she dresses as much to attract men as possible and men are calling her out on the thread. One called her an attention whore who whines when she gets attention. Nobody is white knighting. I love it. It's like a tipping point happened after a certain number of times and everyone is being honest for once.

This is a theme that has come up many times in my life as countless women complain about being hit on in various scenarios. Examples of times/places/situations when approaching a woman are off limits include and are not limited to:

  • At the gym
  • At work
  • On the dance floor (I just came here to dance)
  • On the street
  • If she's your waitress
  • On Facebook
  • Basically any place in public
Also, It's rude to pick up any woman who is a stranger. If you want to date a woman, you should stalk her out for several weeks. Say, become a regular in the restaurant where she works, drop about $500 in meals first, so she can get to know you and feel comfortable; then it's okay to ask her out.

It's also rude to try to get the attention of a woman, in public. You cannot talk to any woman who has not first looked at you and given you non-verbal permission to talk with her. That is so profound, I want to say it again:You cannot talk to any woman who has not first looked at you and given you non-verbal permission to talk with her. The girl who said that, to me, unfriended and blocked me on Facebook, after discussion about the topic. Good Riddance. There is no, "excuse me miss" or "hello there," to get her attention. If she's not looking at you and smiling, don't talk to her. It's simply inappropriate. I pointed this out that it is much like one way royalty assert dominance over their subjects. It's a subjugation technique.

This conversation came out of the infamous New York Walking girl video. Remember the one where she got hit on, men greeted her with hellos, etc. and she just walked as if everyone around her didn't exist? There were a few men who tried a little too hard there but most were quite courteous. If anyone was rude, it was her. Granted, she doesn't owe strangers her time; but it would sure be nicer if she politely said so. I don't want to live in a world where women acted the way she did on the video. At the end of the video, she counted up, what seems to be every time a man said anything to her, as verbal street harassment. I would assume, she posted all of the worst ones in the video.

It's really sad for all the women out there who would enjoy attention they aren't getting and the men who feel a bit on egg shells, talking to them. I guess, the best advice for them would be to say fuck off to the women who are offended by that. You have no right to not be offended. That's advice I really should take myself. I Probably should have asked the clerk at the hardware store out. If she liked it, good. If she's offended by the idea that a man would dare approach her; fuck her anyway. She's not the kind of person I need in my life.

There is another thing to consider. Any of these women complaining about being hit on in these times, situations, scenarios and saying they are inappropriate situations to pick up women in--would completely forget about their rules, if they wanted the particular guy hitting on them.

Sort:  

I'm a happily married woman. My husband and I have talked a fair amount about this issue, how it's almost like if you're a guy, you're automatically some kind of sinister potential rapist or something. I agree with you that it's not right. Back in my single days I would sometimes get hit on by men. If I was interested I'd flirt back. If I was not interested, I'd still be friendly and polite, but make it clear that we'd be "friends" and that was that. I found that the men appreciated knowing early on if the woman wasn't interested, as opposed to being led on for a while and "let down slowly." I've had some drunk guys hit on me at times (in rather obnoxious ways), and one time I had a guy try to dance too close to me at a country/western dance. Since he was from a different country, I just informed him that in the US a certain comfortable distance is required for the dance to work. Yeah, it was BS, but it worked and no one had to be embarrassed about anything, and we could enjoy the dance (imagine that!).

I've never had a truly frightening situation where a guy was stalking me or threatening me in any way. I imagine if I experienced that my perspective might be different. Like I said, I've had times where I got hit on and it was kinda obnoxious, but I always felt like I could handle it and no harm done. I guess what I'm getting at is what's wrong with a guy asking, and a woman saying no? Why is it that just asking her out (or otherwise showing a romantic interest) is now wrong? As a married woman, if a guy hit on me, I'd just show him my ring and smile and say "taken" and that would be that, but I wouldn't hold it against him. I'd probably be flattered, actually.

I think it's a minority of women who are offended by some romantic attention (provided the guy isn't actually saying off-base things).

It is good that men such as yourself aren't getting discouraged by it.

So maybe guys have to deal with gettin' dealt some eye-rolls or dissed-out for their unwanted advances; at least it's unlikely a woman will murder them for it.

What men can control is how they react to the women that reject them. Often, yes, she is too busy to talk. O the classic 'not in the mood'. And remember, she does not represent ALL WOMEN. Men are really prone to that kind of fallacy as women are very symbolic to them.

Men should just learn to be a charmer ;) A genuinely charming man is like a desert in an Oasis.

It's also dangerous.

because a woman's word is always taken over a man's in such cases and she can claim all kinds of bad evil things.

Well said. Id like to point out though that, the crazies aside, dont take a brush off (such as the Im just here to dance) as an accusation of harassment. No one owes you theur time if youre not paying for it. Though some polites would be nice now and then.

I would have loved to see it if some guy with Brad Pitt-level looks nodded and smiled at that chick in the video, and how fast her agenda would go out of the window.

Neo-feminism gone wild... lol.. out of control psychosis.

Wait, did you really just suggest stalking a waitress is OK?😂

No. You get that most of my article is written in the voices of other people, right? Though in that particular part, there was some interpretation. Basically, the girl told me that to pick up a waitress, you should first become a regular in her restaurant, to get to know her. I thought a bit about that, and wrote what I wrote.

Congratulations @joeallen! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @joeallen! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64658.37
ETH 3421.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52