STEEM-POCALYPSE Spreadsheet! The Ultimate Spreadsheet of Ultimate Destiny!

in #dataisbeautiful7 years ago (edited)

Here's the #STEEM-POCALYPSE spreadsheet! I spent all of yesterday and well into the night and morning working on this thing. Also ended making a few big changes today as well. It'll evolve as it becomes necessary, but I'm very happy with it and things are going very smoothly now!

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/e/2PACX-1vTvkvMZccUb1wneT3Xa7N27c0h7tu8gR9zTa04lrJFZVMuLUuaJyWV9CEO5fXod3AYKbq36027MEO8z/pubhtml?gid=0&single=true

I'm so damn proud of this thing! I worked so hard on it!

Edit: I've made a sort of guide to reading the spreadsheet.

Sort:  

Wow amazing work! It must have taken you hours reading through all the comments and all. Just wanted to thank you for doing this.

Thank you so much!

I had to go through everything from the start, then I went through it all a couple more times to make absolutely sure I had everything correct.

At this point, it's working really well. It's much much faster to update. Fully-functioning.

I love STEEM-POCALYPSE. I'm perfectly happy taking the time and effort to make sure the records are up to date and accurate!

Can you explain the colors and terms?

Yeah, let me see about clearing that up some.

Alright. I've made a guide for it. Please refresh the post and you should see an image at the bottom explaining it.

Thanks for this!

It's what I do! :D

I don't want to limit the number of players who can sign up, so this is super helpful, because it gets crazy.

I don't think we should limit the number of players that sign up! That's one of the reasons why I suggested leaving the sign ups open until the payout for the sign up post next time. :)

I will very happily keep records for you for as long as you want me to. Now that I finally have an easy to use system (for me, at least) I can take on the brunt of the record-keeping, starting from sign ups.

I love STEEM-POCALYPSE very much. I never survive long in it. I think my place in the game is behind the scenes in the record-keeping.

Oh, could you please get on Discord for a minute? I have a question for D3 R1.

This is cool. Just wish there was a way to have column heading. But that would still need a guide. Great job.

I've tried and tried and tried.

Actually, I think it wouldn't require a guide, because of how I would name the columns.

Thanks!

I didn't mean to sound like I was criticizing your spreadsheet. Sorry if it sounded like I was.

I was finally able to get something to kinda work like that.

Constructive criticism is appreciated, it's just that I had just got it up and fully functional, and I'm exhausted and would like to have at least a little time to admire my work before being told how to fix it. ^^;;

Would you please take another look at it and tell me if the yellow bar at the top makes it any easier to understand?

I looked at it and it's a lot easier to understand what each column is. Also it will be nice to have the whole game stats on the spreadsheet.

Whole game stats? Please elaborate.

It looks like your going to put each player choices for the days and rounds on the spreadsheet to keep track of their choices&inventory

Yeah...I've already done that...

Are you ok with everyone knowing your email address from this? Disregard comment if yes.

I knowingly left it visible. I thought about it for a little while, but I decided to just leave it there.

There's a reason for that decision as well.

I appreciate your concern and bringing it to my attention in case I wasn't aware it was visible. :)

No problem, as long as its intentional.

It was!

Thank you very much for caring about it!

Great job with that spreadsheet. I was initially going to ask papa-pepper if he would want me to keep a record for him as I find this game both interesting and exciting, but you beat me to it. And I can see the effort you're putting in and how well you're doing this. :)

I put in a lot of time on this. Oh my God, I put so much time into this, lol.

Thank you! I really love STEEM-POCALYPSE, even though I'm not very good at it. (Always the risk-taker in the game. What can I say? I can't afford to take risks in real life.)

If @Papa-pepper will let me, I'd like to continue keeping the records for future games as well.

I hope so too. I also wish you luck in winning this game someday. :)

Haha, I thank you for that wish, but if I continue keeping the records, I don't think I'll continue playing. :)

I don't want anyone to cry foul if I win anything from the game.

But that's okay, because even though it's tedious, I really enjoy the record-keeping.

Looks great. Lots of work in making this, but I'm sure Papa loves your work.

2 questions:
What is NITR?
Any chance of a Alive/Dead count somewhere?

NITR = No Item(s) This Round

I don't know if you can sort it, since you're a viewer, but if you're able to sort it, go to column B (the one with A or D in it), right click, select "sort z-a". That'll bring all of the dead up to the top. Then you just scroll down and look at the number on the last row of the dead, subtract one (because of the yellow row at the top) and that'll give you the number of the dead.

The instructions sound much more complicated than they actually are, I promise.

I can also post up a daily tally of deaths and such if you'd like.

Ah, of course.

Sheet was already sorted for A/D, but there are no row numbers visible for viewer

Ah, I wouldn't know, because it always loads for me showing that.

We started the game with 286 players. There are 145 still playing and 141 dead.

Thanks. So, those alive have nearly outlived half the entrants. excellent

Indeed.

This is definitely getting interesting.

It'll be more and more interesting as more seasons go by. I have no doubts at all that next season will have at least four hundred players. Possibly five hundred or even higher.

And I just can't wait to jump into that data nightmare! I come equipped with an effective record-keeping spreadsheet! Do your worst!

Always good to push data around and see what sort of things you can get from it. Are the beneficial choices chosen by more than the neutral ones? How often is the deadly choice taken by >random chance selection (better than 50% if only 2 options, 33% if 3 options, etc)?
how much of the field starve to death?
how many days does it take for half the field to be eliminated?

so many questions you can get from the data :)

Only one person starve to death. The others that died did so for failure to respond to the post before the cutoff.

Alright thank you :) i see me ^-^

Yep! I managed to see your reply three minutes after you posted it. Into the spreadsheet it went! :D

I was so surprised it was already there i had to commend you for it

I'm a record keeping ninja! :D

Thank you muchly! [bows]

A ninja 0.0 wow here i thought you were batman ^-^

Nope. Nova hasn't managed to eat me (yet). Nova did manage to eat Batman.

Ah i see i misread XD well im sure your ninja skills will save you

It's not really my ninja skills as much as it is that I'm the one that feeds Nova and it wouldn't be smart of him to eat the hand that feeds him.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by knowledge1 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

nice work there... I am sure @papa-pepper will be thankful... it must be a shit-ton of work to run this game!

I just know that we started with 286 players and it was hard to go back through everything to make sure I had it all correct for the spreadsheet.

Which took a very long time. But now that the spreadsheet is fully functional, it's a hell of a lot easier.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62567.99
ETH 3431.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47