Driving to Portmeirion in Wales with me @c0ff33a ☕️

in #dashcam7 years ago

drivinginwales7a.png

On Tuesday March the 20th I spent the whole day driving...320 miles round trip (515km) to a little village on the Welsh coast. The picture above, with that quaint Castle on the mountain top looks wonderfully scenic doesn't it. If only all the journey was this nice! I would have stopped to take some photos but I was running late for the job I had to do.
For rough guidance here is the route I took.

walesroute.png

The dark blue path is the one my car Sat Nav so Kindly decided to route me - because it is the shortest distance, not the quickest though because it takes you over the mountain tops and along roads barely wide enough for my car - that are still two way roads! Honestly if I met a car going in the opposite direction on some of those stretches one of us would be reversing a long way! The full video is below, feel free to set it off and listen to the music while you read through the rest of this post.

Skip to 15 minutes to avoid the boring Motorway and enjoy instead the wonderful Welsh mountains.

drivinginwales1.png

Believe it or not this is a road, looks like a footpath right? Not only is this a road - it's a two way road! I was so lucky on some of these sections no vehicles were heading towards me - it's isolated and remote but you still get traffic up in the mountains.

drivinginwales2.png

This bend is at the end of a long straight, I can imagine on a dark night putting the pedal to the metal on the straight - reaching this bend and launching straight off that bank at the side and into the lake! I wonder how many cars are rusting away at the bottom of that, it's not like those reflective sticks are going to stop anything!

drivinginwales6.png

And here is what happens when you do get it wrong on these mountain roads, on the right the very nice shiny new BMW hatch back has parked at a jaunty side on angle in a ditch! The driver is sat with his friend in the BMW Estate to the left - no doubt waiting for a tow out - although it looked expensive to me even if cosmetic damage only. Boy's and their expensive toys, no doubt this pair were having a little race up these winding roads.

drivinginwales8.png

Heading back down the mountains to my destination, we pass these Slate mines - quite amazing to see all the slate just lying around on the sides of the mountains.

Eventually we reach my destination - after a little detour. The postcode took me too far up the small village Porthmadog so I was not in the correct section for my customers coffee shop. While distracted by messages from the office, I misread the address's and re-routed to their other coffee shop in the actual Village of Portmeirion. I would have liked to take a look around and grab some photo's - but by this time I was already 45 minutes late - plus after the training work I had to do in the coffee shop I still had to drive back home. So all you get is a drive by of the village made famous by The Prisoner TV series.

Thanks again to @avesa for providing the back tracks to this video section.

And there you have it, my Tuesday I left home at 10am and got back at 7.30pm. The actual Barista Training I did at the coffee shop lasted for one and a half hours, I would have taken some pictures in the coffee shop but they were closed for a few days for a refurb so it was a bit of state and I was slightly vexed from all the driving! The drive back was a bit quicker - I was eager to get home for my tea.

source

source

If you enjoyed my post don’t forget to leave an Upvote, feel free to comment on what you liked or where I can do better even. Follow @c0ff33a for regular and varied posts, photography, my weekly VLOG, posts on coffee roasting and brewing - just follow and see.

For the simplest way to upvote and promote your work, log into SmartSteem it’s the smartest way to get your work noticed.
Join Steemfollower and get upvotes in return for upvotes. It’s free, simple, easy to find new content to upvote and get your own content seen by more users and possibly upvoted.

For more upvotes and content sharing join the GuideSteemit team discord

All photos are my own, taken with my iPhone. All my steemit posted pictures can be freely used by other Steemit users in their own blog posts - all I ask is that you follow me and credit @c0ff33a linking to my post you took it from. You can also follow me on Twitter

For Steemit to grow we need to post rich content - interesting and unique posts that encourage others to join in and share their experiences. If you feel your own posts are not doing well look at what your favourite content creators are doing - if you like their work they are doing something you could do as well - think of way to do similar things with your own unique twist.

The picture to the right kindly sketched by the wonderful @bridget.art , be sure to check her incredible art out https://steemit.com/@bridget.art

As Steemit grows making your content stand out gives it a greater chance to be seen and enjoyed, I try to work on making one post every few days - but making it as big and content rich as I can. I don't know if this is the right way, but I enjoy the most big content rich posts - and a wise man on Steemit once said to me - make your content like the content you enjoy.

!steemitworldmap 53.766547 lat -1.801500 long Bradford, West Yorkshire, United Kingdom. d3scr

Sort:  

Nice post my dear friend

That is quite a long trip, and I bet you were exhausted by the time you got home!

Holy cow @c0ff33a that narrow two way road is something else. Never seen something like that before.

And some people like driving on the wrong side of the road in your Country, huh ?? :P

Thank you yes, we drive on the the wrong side of the road.

really amazing photography while driving...👍

Thank you very much, I am pleased your enjoyed it.

Wow! That was a long drive my dear friend! I really enjoy all the videos! I cannot believe my eyes... wow, double path route! That sounds crazy! But how? Lol
Excellent post! Thank you buddy!

Thank you very much, it was a very long day.

that was a thrilling footage from the cam looks quite wonderful :D

Thank you very much for taking a look and leaving a comment.

nature is very natural, beautiful, thanks for sharing @coff33a @ jhoni likes.

Thank you very much for liking my post.

Very nice post and very nice road trip

Thank you for taking a look and leaving a comment

Hey!!! How are ya? Sorry i am still alive! Just been super crazy with life!!! Much love..

Wow I picked up on a few things here. I listened to the music by the way, which I got a sense of chill out/Trance, don't know if that was the type of music or not.
I have only ever been to wales once and I was captivated by its beauty, sadly though we were only going through to get the ferry over to Ireland. However as we got towards Holyhead I remember driving through mountains and seeing old bridges that cars used to drive between the small islands.
Lastly the roads you mentioned, many are like that here in Bulgaria and they do have passing places. The more un-nerving thing is when you meet a Bulgarian going in the opposite direction they don't seem to want to stop. Looks like a long trip but beautiful too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60364.09
ETH 2378.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57