Belated Netflix Review - Daredevil Season 2

in #daredevil5 years ago

DDS2_Character_DAREDEVIL_US-Pre.jpg

I've spent the past 2 days recovering from food poisoning, so I've had time to watch through Daredevil season 2 from 2016. I don't find that I hate it as much as everyone seemed to when it came out. In fact, I'd say I like it. In the interest of full disclosure, Daredevil was my favorite comic growing up, so that may have colored my perception. But I think I have the ability to remain impartial; I know that the Ben Affleck movie was no good.

Spoilers ahead.

..................................................

Whereas season 1 really just dealt with Daredevil and the Kingpin becoming who they would be, there is an absolute TON going on in season 2. And basically all of it is material borrowed from the comics, just not put together in exactly the same way. The Punisher, Elektra, The Hand, and Stick are all players here. I think this show has done a great job of interweaving a lot of complicated characters and their stories into a cohesive picture. There are even callbacks to season 1, and the Marvel Cinematic Universe. It reminds me a lot of those epic multi-title crossover events that comics were so fond of in the 90's. That being said, with so much going on, it's ready to forget that this a Daredevil series. Sometimes he takes a bit of a backseat to the supporting cast.

Another thing I really like is that you can tell they are doing a lot to set up for future series and really building a universe. Season 1 felt like the show creators didn't know if they'd be able to continue the story in the future, but by this point, I'm guessing the show has been picked up and other series were in the works, so they were able to make a more cohesive experience.

I do have a couple of complaints. I don't like how dark it is. I don't mean the mature tone, although there is certainly a lot of killing, blood, and grit. I mean the lighting. Sometimes it's hard to follow the action.

But that's a minor gripe. The only thing that truly falls flat here is the dialogue. A lot of it seems trite when compared to how spectacular the fight scenes are, and at times it drags on.

Overall it's really recommend watching this, but certainly would watch season 1 first. After watching this I'm definitely looking forward to watching the rest of the Netflix Marvel series, so I guess it did it's job.

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Ugh. Sorry to hear about the food poisoning! This was one of the last Marvel/Netflix seasons I watched (just haven’t taken the time for others) and I enjoyed it. It’s been a while so details are hazy, but Bernthal’s Punisher was excellent and I thought the relationship between DD & Punisher was well done.

Thanks. I agree, I think the parallel drawn between the 2 sides of vigilante justice was really well done, without really favoring either side. They really made the Punisher sympathetic, but not in a trite way. It was done gradually over the course of the series, so by the end, you could really understand both sides of the argument.

Sup Dork! Enjoy the upvote!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67888.24
ETH 3518.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71