👻 Halloween Edition 🎃 - Learn How to Dance the Thriller by Michael Jackson

in #dance7 years ago (edited)

Knowing how to do the Thriller dance is a life skill that should be mandatory learning in school. Ok… maybe not, but it’s a super cool thing to know how to do around Halloween.

Most dance studios offer specific dance classes to teach the Thriller because there is such a big demand of those who want to learn it every October. These classes can sometimes get expensive, and so I searched long and hard to find the BEST thriller tutorial I could find online. I was looking for a video that did a good job of breaking it down in sections so that it doesn’t get too overwhelming, and also touches on both the move and the technique. It is one thing to see someone else do the move and try to copy it… and it is another thing to have their tips and tricks on how to actually make the move look cool.

This tutorial was filmed by FUNKMODE and I think they did a great job of touching on all the above points. Take your time, pause the video and practice, practice, practice! I have actually never learned the Thriller before either, and so I’ll be learning right along with you guys. I’m hoping to jump into my local flash mob this year and rock it!



A lot of cities host Thriller flash mobs on Halloween that you can jump into if you know how to do it. Alternatively, maybe the song comes on at a Halloween party and a couple people start doing the dance. The more people that can jump in – the cooler it looks! Here’s a photo from my towns Thriller flash mob that happens every year.

thrillingham.jpg

(Photo: Thrillingham's Facebook Page)


For a little extra inspiration... one of my favorite Thriller dance scenes from a movie is from 13 going on 30. If you haven’t seen it – check out the video below. It starts out with the main character awkwardly dancing by herself and then the crowd starts to join in.

Have fun learning this dance! You've still got a few weeks until Halloween to practice.

Sort:  

OK. I'm totally tempted to learn this....

btw, what's minnowbooster? Do you sign up for it, or do they just spot you and you get lucky?

You should totally learn it! It's so classic and you never know when it will come in handy at a Halloween party or wedding or something. Well... i don't know how many people are playing Thriller at their wedding - but you never know. ;)

Minnow Booster is a tool that you can either gift to someone else, or purchase for your own posts. Depending on the week, you can send minnow booster between $1-$5 dollars a post- sometimes it will let you send as much as $10 and you get a higher return on your investment. For example - most $1 minnow boosters will earn more like $1.5-$1.75. This post - my boyfriend gifted me a $10 booster - which turned into $17 something. You have a limit on how much money you can spend every week - but if you go to minnowbooster.com and input your username - it will tell you more about it and show you where you are at for the week.

Most people use minnow booster as a financial investment ($10 turning into $17 is pretty awesome!) or to help boost their reputation. The higher paying your post, the more reputation points you'll get from it.

I hope that makes sense! I'm not a total expert on it, but I might be able to help if you have questions. :) I think the website has some good info too.

See, that's the thing. You hit the nail on the head. You NEVER know when the Thriller dance will come in handy. It's like a pocket knife or something. You should always have it in your pocket, or within arm's reach. Is my thinking.

Thanks for the hint on minnow booster. I'll check it out.

I love that they do this downtown everywhere, I really should spend the time to learn it one year. At least now I have a good resource when I'm ready! :)

Nice post ,keep on Steeming

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 8.0% @minnowbooster upgoat, thanks to @raised2b
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @coruscate to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!
For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Great post...!!!
upvoted and followed...!!!

Love it! Thank you for sharing! Followed and resteemed! Hope you can follow me back. See you on the dance floor!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55275.78
ETH 2457.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.18