Prince and Bear and The Man of the House- DailyPetPhotography | Day 656

When my husband leaves for work,

the dogs act as if the man is six feet under and will never come home again. Drama Queens.


They want his constant attention

whenever he's in the kitchen. He's THE MAN! They jockey for his hand, his eyes choosing one of them.

Then he leaves, and it's The End of the World all over again.


How did they endure our four-day trip to a wedding in Connecticut? We got home Monday night. There was much rejoicing.

Little Bear does a happy dance

One perk: we brought home SMELLS!

That suitcase carries molecules of a Danbury hotel and the home of a Grammy-winning musician who lives in Harlem. Our son sublets from him when the musician is back in Europe on tour for a month at a time.


How the dogs do sniff our luggage when we return! The cat, of course, just sits on it to make sure HIS scent molecules overpower everyone else's. Bobi the Bad rules. Replace Deutschland with Bobi:

Deutschland, Deutschland über alles, Über alles in der Welt
Bobi, Bobi, über alles, Über alles in der Welt


What a smug little punk.

La Guardia was grueling

and by that I mean it was so bad, I will not peak of it. Must think only of good things.

This is how we felt waiting for our flight to take off:

Must. Not. Think of It.

Heading over the #dailypetphography now to think only on good things!
dPet 謝謝所有參加者,如果你有寵物,快拿起相機來拍張照片及參加

dPet 謝謝所有參加者,如果你有寵物,快拿起相機來拍張照片及參加

There are so many happy images! I love them all!

Sort:  

Oh my goodness the next time you are in Harlem you must contact me! It's half an hour away. We could do a drive by if nothing else!
Your dogs are the sweetest dogs I know on steem. I even love them more than I love my own, who is driving me NUTS at the moment. He woke me up last night whining and I thought he needed to go out, but he just wanted some water and would not go down the stairs without me! I am CRIPPLED at the moment mind you, so I was not happy to have hauled my body down the stairs and back up again just because he will not leave my presence willingly for any reason. Ever. Really annoying.

Our son will be in Harlem until the Grammy-winning musician returns from Europe. Marcelo W----?. I'd love to meet up with you!! Maybe you could catch him at a gig, if you like live jazz. What is this, you, crippled (at the moment)? That dog, testing you - he sounds worse than Bobi the Bad (at the moment).
Our dogs are sweet but not overly eager to obey. They have their own ideas about what demands I should make on them. And they're drama queens. Especially Fake News Bear. Especially at grooming time.
Hoping you are back on your feet soon!
You live in the city? THE City???

No I live in the hellish suburbs 20 miles north of THE city. I lived in THE city, well Brooklyn, for twenty years before making the mistake of moving here. I thought the kids would ride bikes and climb trees and that sort of thing, but children around here rarely play outside. The parents are overly phobic about child abduction and keep the kids imprisoned inside, even though this is rated by many as the second safest community in the nation. Isn't that sad? I hate it here. My turn to be a drama queen.

Lenore Skenazy - Free Range kids! Was it you, or @myjob, or @goat-girlz who clicked on the link I posted and said "sounds good, except for the letting a 9-yr-old boy ride the subway alone." I'm curious now how old that boy is today, and how competent and capable an adult he is.
Her site has moved to https://letgrow.org/

Treating today's kids as physically and emotionally fragile is bad for their future – and ours. Let Grow counters the culture of overprotection. We aim to future-proof our kids, and our country.

Free-Range Kids

Fighting the belief that our children are in constant danger from creeps, kidnapping, germs, grades, flashers, frustration, failure, baby snatchers, bugs, bullies, men, sleepovers and/or the perils of a non-organic grape.

http://www.freerangekids.com

one grammar school in Silicon Valley started sending kids to a very different, but equally mind-blowing place: their own neighborhood.

On their own. Without an adult.

The idea was to get children walking around, playing outside, biking to the library—just normal kid stuff. Or at least, what was normal kid stuff. Today, only 13 percent of U.S. children walk to school. One study found that only 6 percent of kids age 9-13 play outside in a given week.

That’s not just sad, it’s a radical new norm: childhood spent under constant adult supervision, and, often enough, in a car. The results wreak havoc on kids’ bodies, the environment, and any parent with hopes and dreams (or even a paying job) beyond the minivan. With national attention focused on climate change, childhood obesity and “leaning in,” less chaperoning seems like a win-win-win solution: decreased emissions, increased exercise, and more time for moms (and dads) to focus on something other than how slowly the after-school pick up line is moving.

That's where I live, exactly! My son broke his arm falling from a tree and boy did I catch hell in the ER for letting him climb a tree! Then there was his friend whose parents had covered their entire fenced in back yard with astro turf to keep the kids and house clean. He came to my house and ignored my instructions to not play in a certain area because of the poison ivy. His parents were mad at me for their stupid son not knowing to stay out of the stuff. To me these are lessons learned, important lessons learned.

There were days I drove 100 miles schlepping my kids around to practices, play dates, appointments and school events, and that is the truth. I spent hours of every day driving locally, hours. Parenting now can be a nightmare of trying to live up to impossible standards.

Hey, I'm looking for someone to continue a story I've started for the partner wewrite this week. I got a bit wacky with it and left major loose ends. Wanna? I could dm it to you on discord to check it out first if you'd like.

I'd love to do a we-write! Did you post the first half?
Off to look
Thank you for inviting me
Oh the driving, the driving. The organized sports. The hotels and weekends out of town at big events. The money, the pressure.

This reminds me too of the time my son was mad at me so he took off on his bike. I took off after him in my car. When I was putting him against his will in the car, him and his bike, someone stopped and insisted that I stay while they CALL THE POLICE TO MAKE SURE i WASN'T ABDUCTING HIM. This was on the street I actually lived on, but we'd only been there a few months. When the cops came they asked "is this your mother?" and he said nothing because he was a five year old kid scared shitless by the whole thing.

Our dog was the same about my brother. He'd sit all day on the stoop until my brother returned, totally ignoring me as I went in and out. And boy did I woo that dog with all sorts of treats but to no avail.

Oh those traitors!
Dog is MAN'S best friend. -_-

Hahaha, I think you just might be right!

Funny, our Lolo is the least outwardly affectionate dog that either of us has ever had, and yet he pines for us when we are gone. Odd.

I got him for Marek's birthday in 2013, which he still says is his best present ever, and he was always thrilled when Marek got home, but I was . . . just always around.

I was even wondering if he really cared about me, as when I encouraged him to go to the barn with me, he would often stay on the porch of the house, especially at night. You get to our barn by going through the woods.

But then I wound up going to a conference in California for several days while Marek stayed home with him, and Lolo evidently lay on the spot where I park my car most of the time, until my return.

Go figure.

And yet, when strangers come to the house, or people he sees seldom, he fawns all over them, the most affectionate dog ever . . . for a few minutes.

He clearly loves us, just in his own, very unique way.
;-)

Posted using Partiko Android

Lolo. LOL, Lolo!
He takes you for granted!
He read that book The Five Love Languages, that book by Gary Chapman. He doesn't need to show his love; you should KNOW it without having to see the wagging tail, right? (Or something like that.)
The Five:
receiving gifts,
quality time,
words of affirmation,
acts of service (devotion),
and physical touch.

I can skip the gifts and tokens of affection. I attach too much importance to words. Actions speak louder than words. I'm grateful for the steady, dependable presence of my husband and the things he does on a daily basis. Often to bail me out of my latest techno-blunder.
(Don't ask how I managed to burn the thick rubber lining of a drained pond that was still wet in spring.)

Lolol, okay you're one up on me, I've never (yet) managed to burn a stilk-wet pond liner. ;-)

And yes, I think you've got it, Lolo assumes we know his devotion, even when completely shining us on, and only feels the need to show it when food is involved.

Always a dog. In the best of ways.

Posted using Partiko Android

Looking for a safe place to store this for a future dog post...your Ebony came to mind when I saw this. (Not that she died, but you were parted.) :(

Oops, and I meant to add that YOU would live forever too, Cori!

Maybe not. But I'm happy to come fro.strong stock that typically stays fairly healthy and active until the end.

Posted using Partiko Android

The good genetics aside, I'm saying if kind souls were to live longer, you would live forever. :) I think you got that...and are just being humble.

Or, I'm just going by Lolo, who remains seriously underimpressed. ;-)

Posted using Partiko Android

Ain't it the truth! ;-)

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @carolkean! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 7500 replies. Your next target is to reach 7750 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest⁴ commemorative badge refactored

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Hi @carolkean,

Thanks so much for partaking in #dailypetphotography! Please follow @dpet for upcoming events.
Our discord channel is up and running, come on over and say hi, lots of avil pet owners are awaiting you there.
https://discord.gg/GYrnsNm

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63651.41
ETH 2679.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80