Prince 3 years ago today with Bobi the Bad - Daily Pet Photography Event - Day 376

My baby!

He was hardly much bigger than our cat, Bobi the Bad, when we brought him home at age 10 weeks on New Year's Eve three years ago.

Bobi the Bad

had persecuted my beloved Maine Coon Merlin--who had to be rehomed!--so he had it coming, the advent of the dog in Bobi's territory. No sympathy from me, Bobinski.

Oh the times they are a changin' -

Bobi never witnessed a cat growing to such gargantuan proportions!

Prince Curly Hair vs Bob Rotten

Our beautiful Blaise

and his sister Bailey were born November 1999 and I rejoiced every day in their companionship while knowing these days were numbered. In a flash, Blaise was 12 years old and dying. Bailey died at 13. This is Blaise, draped over my legs, toward the end, and I try not to picture Prince and Bear getting to this stage:

Bailey refused to die,

and I kid you not, thirteen times, I called the vet to say were coming in to have her put down, but she'd rally around for another month. The fourteenth time, there was no doubt the end had come. She couldn't stand, drink, or eat. Not even moving her into the old van got her to perk up. This was it. In hindsight, we should have put her down the first time, but her will to live and her wagging tail convinced us she wasn't ready yet.

When the tail stops wagging,

when the head barely lifts from the floor, the time has come.

"I will never leave you!"

Dogs (and cat) who are loved so dearly have this determination to remain at our side no matter what. "I will never forsake you." They refuse to die. And so they force us to take them to the vet, get the needle, and give up the ghost at last.

But Prince and Bear are only age 3!

We shall have many more meadow walks and Frisbee wars, my friends!

@techslut

recently said goodbye to one of her beloved furry friends, and it amazes me how profound our attachment to a little furball can be, and how I continue to miss my own ginger tom:

Saying Goodbye to Kosh (2002-2019) - The Friendliest Ginger Cat

My Boy! Tom-Tom, I miss you!

Camera : my newest (used) iPhone (goodbye, Samsung 6!)

Are you a Steemit blogger who occasionally (or often!) posts about your cat(s)?
Please consider using the #catsofsteemit tag and help me develop a Steem-based cat lovers community!
PLEASE NOTE: #catsofsteemit is for YOUR cats, not for random cats you find on the Internet, cartoons or cat art. It's specifically for Steemians with cats!

Sort:  

Hi @carolkean,

Thanks so much for partaking in #dailypetphotography! Please follow @dpet for upcoming events.
Our discord channel is up and running, come on over and say hi, lots of avil pet owners are awaiting you there.
https://discord.gg/GYrnsNm

Hello @carolkean!

Congratulations! Thanks for using the #dogsofsteemit hashtag! This post has been chosen as one of the winners for Episode 54 of the #dogsofsteemit challenge.

Can't wait to see more dog photos from you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70797.92
ETH 3553.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76