Brunch and Bliss at Half Saints

in #dailyfoodphotography6 years ago (edited)

Imagine helping a local farmer's family everytime you indulge into a delectable meal. Now, those "cravings and guilty pleasures", should not make you feel so guilty anymore. Welcome to Half Saints!

My event today got cancelled so I had the luxury to stay in bed untill 11 am. The moment I checked out of the hotel, I'm literally starving!

We took uber and went to this very new and cozy restaurant called Half Saints in Timog, Quezon City. The restaurant is owned by a former TV reporter,Christine Roque. She's a well traveled person and this reflects on her restaurant's menu.

Going to Half Saints is like touring the whole world while you are on your table. Their multicultural choices includes Middle Eastern, European, Asian, and American cuisine.

I ordered Arroz Con Pollo (Chicken Sofrito Paella with Carribean flair). This literally translates into chicken and rice! It came served in a sizzling pan and it's aroma just made me more hungry!

The food even tasted so good I was lost for words for a few seconds. I'm into spicy food so I put a lot of hot sauce into my plate and this made my meal a whole lot better. I downed a whole glass of their signature iced tea and sat their super satisfied.

Aside from the food, what I loved so much about the place is the fact that they are supporting local farmers. It is like a farm to table initiative, only that it's not the restaurant that grows their ingredients. Their chocolates for example is from Davao. Christine wants to make sure that while the menu is international and multicultural, the ingredients should all be local.

"I wanna leave a message that the more you go international, the more you should remain deeply connected to your roots," Christine said.

In the Philippines, the farmers remains poorest of the poor (Philippine Statistics Authority). It is ironic to see that the people who are helping feed the country are starving. Christine's exposure on media and advocacy works plus her travelling experiences brought Half Saints to life.

Indeed, after travelling the whole world, nothing feels better than knowing you are still close to home. Guiltless, I took a sip of Americano. An image of a happy farmer smiling flashed at the back of my mind.

Photo taken using my Vivo V7

Sort:  

Look delicious

It is! How I wish I could share this with you.

you welcome

You got a 25.00% upvote and resteem from @singing.beauty courtesy of @janicemars. Thank you for using the @singing.beauty UPVOTE and RESTEEM bot.

If you are looking to earn a passive no hassle return on your Steem Power, delegate your SP to @singing.beauty by clicking on one of the ready to delegate links:
50SP | 100SP | 250SP | 500SP | 1000SP | 5000SP | Custom Amount

You will earn 80% of the voting bot's earnings based on your delegated SP's prorated share of the bot's SP pool at the end of EACH voting round! That is over 38.5% APR! You can also undelegate at anytime.

Very nice post janicemars


This is very good to learn from your experience.

I respect your story. I believe you can post same article regular.


Check my article about IF YOU WANT TO CHANGE THE WORLD, START BY CHANGING YOUR WORLD. 


You can find the article here IF YOU WANT TO CHANGE THE WORLD, START BY CHANGING YOUR WORLD.

I will follow you!

Thank you so much! I would love to read your works too. Checking them out now

Sounds like a great restaurant. I believe in supporting local farmers, too. Thanks for sharing your photographs and story! The tag #dailyfoodphotography has changed from daily compilations to a weekly contest. You can read details here.

Oohh! I see. Thank you so much for informing me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63564.17
ETH 3401.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45