Happynerdycon Fun and Interesting Facts #6: Benefits of Matcha

in #dailyfoodphotography6 years ago (edited)

Recently, I have grown an interest within myself to find out about the food I eat, especially my desserts which may have no nutritional benefits (or so I thought) but I always treat them as the food for my soul. Since @mininthecity has taken over the #dailyfoodphotography tag, I thought let me show some support by submitting an entry for the first week. Not to forget, kudos to #howtostartablog who initiated this very wonderful contest and passing on the baton.

I wonder if it is the thing for ladies all around the world, but in where I reside, we all seem to LOVE Matcha. If not all of us, most of us (Or maybe you are different from me). I like Matcha latte, Matcha ice-cream, Matcha cakes and so on.

IMG_20180313_035711.jpg
Matcha Snow Ice by Sweet Hut, served with red beans and also the little lime-taste 'bubbles' which pop in the mouth.

I ate this Matcha snow ice earlier this week when I was pushing myself to do something difficult, out of my usual comfort zone. So, I rewarded myself for doing the hard things with this. I was thinking of bingsu, a Korean ice dessert but they didn't have that, so I opted for this ice shaving instead. It was very smooth and not too sweet. Though I like sweet desserts, I cannot enjoy when it is over sweet. I realize Matcha is always in a combo with red beans, or the Azuki beans, as they complement each other perfectly. To my surprise, it is the white or rather transparent bubble-like "balls" (which was next to the red beans in the photo above) that further enhanced the whole taste because it is slightly sourish. Its texture is like the Japanese fish eggs Ikura which are salmon roe, and it would burst in our mouth as we chew. Only that this tastes like lime. It is very refreshing and interesting, I would say. I love this whole combination together, so I left with a happy tummy and happy tongue! My soul was fed!

salmon-19542_1280.jpg
Image Source: PixabayThe lime balls were the same texture as these Ikura or salmon fish roe.


What is Matcha actually?

japanese-tea-727459_1280.jpg
Image Source: Pixabay

There is this plant which originates from China, named Camellia Sinesis. This is the plant that produce both green tea and Matcha powder. I often wonder what's the difference between these two.

Through my reading from healthline.com, it showed that they are from the same tree! Only that Matcha powder which seems to be much darker green, is from trees nurtured differently. These tea plants are covered from sunshine for 20-30 days before the leaves are harvested, to ensure they produce far more chlorophyll which explains why they are much greener. It does not mean they do not get sunshine at all but they do not get it directly. This step also enforces the tea plants to produce higher amounts of amino acids, which is the simplest form of protein. It gives a slight bitter taste with its green leafy taste.

Only the leaves were ground into fine Matcha powder, which is what we can buy and use. However, there are different grades of Matcha powder in the market.

There are so many recipes of Matcha cakes that I am attempted to try, so I am going to find Matcha powder to try making them at home.

sweets-847920_1280.jpg
Image Source:Pixabay

For those that I can't make, I will just buy and enjoy, hehe!

asia-2792981_1280.jpg
Image Source: Pixabay

What are the benefits of Matcha?

matcha-powder-2356768_1280.jpg
Image Source: Pixabay

Matcha seems to have a great variety of health benefits. Its benefits are greater than those of normal green tea, though they may share some similar benefits. My sister who used to be drinking one cup of Matcha per day successfully lost some weight due to this habit.

From what I have read, here is a whole list of the benefits of Matcha:

  • It contains high amounts of antioxidants, more than that of regular green tea.
    Matcha with its rich antioxidants can prevent free radicals from forming in our bodies, which is the very thing responsible for the damage of the body cells.

  • Cathechin, which is an antioxidant in Matcha helps to regulate the heart's health.
    Catechins can be responsible for cell repair and keep arteries healthy, hence it promotes the heart's health and helps to prevent some cardiovascular diseases.

  • It lowers blood cholesterol level.
    There are studies shown that the cathechin specially lowers LDL cholesterol which is also termed as the bad cholesterol.

  • It helps with losing weight.
    Matcha has the ability to burn calories which would aid in weight loss. It increases the metabolic rate of the body to help burn fat four times faster.

  • It helps to promote relaxation, prevent depression and uplift mood.
    Among the amino acids present in Matcha and green tea, L-Theanine is one which can help one to relax without feeling sleepy, but to focus and enhances good memory. It is also able to produce Dopamine and serotonin, which are responsible for a good mood.

  • It helps with detoxification.
    The rich chlorophyll content within the Matcha leaves will ensure a good detoxification for the body by eliminating some chemical toxins from our body.

With so many health benefits, it is still advisable to drink or take Matcha moderately, at the most 2 cups per day. Remember that More isn't always good.


Maybe this whole post sounds like I am finding justification to have matcha desserts. You know, finding excuses to validate my cravings. BECAUSE I AM! I am just finding out if all these I am eating in has any benefits, which I highly doubted at first, hahahah!

References:

l0Iy6dkQiw7eVl3t6_0_.gif
GIF Source: Giphy

The information above were not discovered by myself but by referring to some established websites, to which I do not want to hold any credit for, but all credit to the site authors. Hope you enjoy reading this post, especially the matcha lovers! Stay tuned for the next happynerdycon episode, which is mostly on the food I eat these days but sometimes it can be on any random facts that I am interested in. Till then, ciao!

RoundPhoto_Feb152018_181213.png

81FB41B346924EE8233F0B6EC8D6624C2.gif

U5dtwrEWanaYvPSm2U9SjyrS9wcQH4t.gif

DQmepDz9DNUfgHYWZCABVYVEL9zjdbe9tnHWBXH2abTYx13.png

Steemit Bloggers

Appreciator
Animated Banner Created By @zord189

MomentCam_20180317095715.gif
Created using MomentCam App from Android

Sort:  

Lovely deserts. I love the green color of matcha deserts, but I am not a big fan of its taste in deserts.
I love drinking matcha tea. I drink matcha tea daily for its health benefits.

I like Matcha tea too, Matcha latte. Tried Choco Matcha hot drink before and it is lovely too. Maybe you don't like the artificial taste of non authentic Matcha powder in desserts, which is fine @aishaali. Thanks for dropping by :)

nice post @happycrazycon

You can use Tisko Bot to promote your post.
Send 0.200 STEEM/SBD and the URL in the memo to @tisko to use the bot for a resteem and to get 5 good upvots.
Click here to see how to use Tisko Bot.

I have never seen it here, it has many properties, I will investigate more to see if in my country I can get it

Love matcha, matcha latte, matcha ice-cream,... While typing these and looking at your gif made by @zord189... I feel like I wanna Ngom Ngom Ngom everything too... tip! 😅😂

Haha you are so funny @elizacheng :) high five to another Matcha friend!

I think I must have misled you haha. The GIF by @zord189 is for steemitbloggers lol. Because of your reminder, I must go edit and add in that GIF is made by me using MomentCam App on Android lol.

Thanks for the tip, you are always so nice! 🌷

Oh.. LOL... Me always blur blur... Hahaha... But the gif makes me feels like wanna eat more and more

Let's eat, but what to do with he extra weight gained? Lol.

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

nice your post.i like it...

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 07:40:26
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 207.60/200.00
Total Photos: 35
Total comments: 19
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

oh my! you really do your research for you posts! I learnt something new as well. I like the lose weight part ;)

p.s. thanks @mininthecity for carrying on the #dailyfoodphotography baton!

Haha @calebleejl I was trying to justify my desserts consumption only la :P

hahaha! you did well to convince me too. waiting for more of such post i.e. bak kut teh. fried chicken. :p

where I can get something like that guys?

Hi, I got this in a shop called Sweet Hut in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. Where's your location, @kenkaneki?

Hi @happycrazycon! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @elizacheng!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57517.13
ETH 3013.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35