Cooking and Baking Experiments #2: Easy Homemade Creme Brulee!!!!!

in #dailyfoodphotography6 years ago (edited)

As promised from my post yesterday that my next experiment would be on CREME BRULEE, I tried this super simple recipe from Genius Kitchen submitted by Gillian Spence.

IMG_20180311_200252.jpg

Creme brulee is one of my favorite desserts and I have always wanted to make it. Creme meaning the cream custard underneath and brulee means burnt or caramelized sugar on top in this context, in French. Ever since my first try on creme brulee, I would try everytime I see a restaurant or cafe has it on the menu. One of the best that I have ever tried is durian creme brulee from Miss Ellie's Tea House which I introduced before on my blog. Before I decided to make this at home, of course I visited somewhere that sells it to try to make sure I can produce one as close by trying the texture and all to know what I am looking for. (Yeah, it is serious business you know! Learning from those professional chefs on Food Network, haha like Chef Ch'ng He Huang, Chef Martin Yang, Guy Fiery and Iron Chef Michael Symon etc, that's what they did before they go back to their kitchen to cook. I'm their fan!)

Because of not having a blowtorch at home to brulee the sugar on top for it to caramelize beautifully, I held back and was thinking one day I will get a blowtorch for it until I found this recipe (and some others) which do not require a blowtorch!!!

To emphasize again, the actual recipe is from Genius Kitchen. I'm trying to write it out in my own words with some modifications here and there which I applied to avoid plagiarism and our cheetah friend.

Ingredients:

  • 400ml whipping cream (couldn't find heavy cream and the bakery supplies owner said this would do)
  • 5 egg yolks
  • 1/2 cup of castor sugar
  • 1 tablespoon of Vanilla extract

IMG_20180311_014846.jpg

Here's a video on an easy way to get the yolks from YouTube:

Basically, just mix all of the four ingredients together. Mix with a whisk or even a fork. I used a fork.

After they are all mixed thoroughly, sieve the mixture. This would ensure a smoother texture for the custard.

Preheat the oven for 10 minutes.

IMG_20180311_163238.jpg

Place four ramicans into a baking pan. Fill warm water up to half of the ramicans level around the ramicans in the baking pan.

Bake/broil for 30 minutes at 250C. Check consistently after 30 minutes so the top of the custard doesn't get burnt. (Even if it does, it can be scooped off easily, so don't worry about that.) Stick in a toothpick to check if the custard is cooked. If there isn't sticky or slimy residue on it, then you are fine to go.

Let it set for 10 minutes after you take it out from the oven.

Spread castor sugar over the top of the custard. Then place it back into the water bath and back into the oven. Broil for one minute or so or until the sugar caramelizes to the yellow crisp you are looking for. Tadaaaaaa!

IMG_20180311_163429.jpg
Without the advantage of a blowtorch, the four different ramicans might have gotten different heat, hence some are more caramelized and some not. Hmmmm.

I kept one in the fridge to chill and "recreate" the top layer again before we eat it today.

IMG_20180311_171015.jpgBefore the sugar top layer was bruleed

IMG_20180311_200339.jpg After the sugar top layer was bruleed

IMG_20180311_200402.jpg

Here's some comparison to how my homemade creme brulee looks compared to the one I tried earlier in a restaurant because this is my first attempt, so I am trying to check how close I am to those on sale.

Photo on the left is the creme brulee from the restaurant, while the photo on the right is my homemade from my kitchen:

pt2018_03_11_21_37_04.jpg

pt2018_03_11_16_43_09.jpg

pt2018_03_11_16_39_07.jpg

I even ran a poll on Instagram story about the look of it as it looked more like a Portuguese tart to me, than a creme brulee.

IMG_20180311_163342.jpg

A creme brulee is never complete without the sensation of cracking the top of it, hence here's a GIF I made of my husband doing it. I was so nervous because it was like revealing the moment of truth.

20180311_101349.gif

The taste was awesome and I am satisfied with this midnight bake. I am very happy with the smooth texture (it has the 'boink-boink'ness I was looking for!) and the sweetness is just right for me. Both of us finished a small ramicans of creme brulee each. I love it and I am proud I tried to make it!

I'm guessing that without the blowtorch this is how my creme brulee would look like, very Portuguese-tart-look-alike. Haha but looking on the bright side, maybe I have 'accidentally' discovered I can actually make Portuguese tarts!!!! Oh YAYYYYYY!

Hope you enjoyed this simple recipe and the results of my baking experiment. What do you think about this experiment? Do you think it is easy and doable? You may drop your thoughts in the replies!

RoundPhoto_Feb152018_181213.png

81FB41B346924EE8233F0B6EC8D6624C2.gif

U5dtwrEWanaYvPSm2U9SjyrS9wcQH4t.gif

DQmepDz9DNUfgHYWZCABVYVEL9zjdbe9tnHWBXH2abTYx13.png

Steemit Bloggers

Appreciator
Animated Banner Created By @zord189

MomentCam_20180309033202.gif

Sort:  

Didn't know you did your midnight baking too. I just did mine yesterday and will share here shortly. Woots!

Haha yes @jazz-accountant. I usually do baking after midnight to be able to bake in peace and not be tugged around by my boy. I wish I can do in the day though so after a certain time, my mind is set to shutdown mode lol.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.10 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.02
Server time: 14:48:20
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 202.55/200.00
Total Photos: 34
Total comments: 19
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.10 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

I like that your research is to eat more of the thing that you're trying to research!

Looks very good! Well done on your first attempt!

Hahhaa I was just trying to "imitate" the big chefs out there but yeah I think my research helped me know what I am actually looking for. Thanks so much for dropping by and for your kind words too @branlee87 :)

It was really delicious! :D

Thanks for always being my lab rat dear dear <3

Thank you for letting me try. It is delicious. Although yes abit like portuguese egg-tart but I thought creme brulee somehow has that type of texture a little. No? Abit of pudding like and also Portuguese egg tart.

Hahha I also dont know, maybe they are similar because both are smooth in the texture lol. Next time make Portuguese tart :P

@happycrazycon Woah, I love creme brulee VERY VERY MUCH sis lol (Oops, sorry for the caps XD)

Hahaha seems like my palate is very similar to yours! We love ice cream and creme brulee VERY VERY MUCH! Cheers bro, @wilhb81! :)

Wa.. look delicious leh.
Ok. will give this a try..

hehe @kokuryo, try try try and let me know! :) Thanks!

wait my wife back from her holiday first. haha more fun :P

ooohh I love crème brulee too! I instantly fell in love the first time I tasted it. Thank you for this informative post. I didn't know making creme brulee is as convenient as having just 4 kinds of ingredients! I might as well make some. Cheers! to your homemade crème brulee, they look delicious.

Hey @adeline24, thanks for coming by! I did not know there is a recipe with 4 ingredients too so I too did not try making it before this. But now with this convenient recipe that has proven its success once, I think I am sticking with this! hahah :P

This has to be super duper delicious, @happycrazycon!!! What's up next? :)

Hahah perhaps Portuguese tart lo, since I accidentally made it while making this. Lol, thanks @heartscally.

Yumssss, look forward to it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58018.11
ETH 2448.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34