You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Daily Dose of Sultnpapper 08/14/18> Maybe a hammer is needed…Bob was wrong.

in #dailydose6 years ago

Technology has advanced in so many ways and some of them good, but often I think some manufacturers including but not limited to Car Makers feel the need they need to add electronics to everything to be seen as innovative and such

But often I think its just not really needed and just another gimmick that can fail

Sort:  

The term is "planned obsolescence" as was pointed out to me on a different daily dose when I was discussing the computer issues with the old van. I can't remember who it was that supplied the link to a great video that went into a lot of detail on just how some companies even embed a time for the item to fail. One such item was the printers for home computers, after so many prints it would fail by design from a self activating shut down tied to the internal counter.
Some guy figured it out and wrote a program to reset the counter, so if your printer fails go online and search that, it might just be you have one of those models and can be back printing stuff in a matter of minutes rather than having to buy a new printer. I'll look later and see if I can find that, in fact I remember doing a follow up on that, I will find that link and add it later I have to get going right now.

@sultnpapper Yes I remember that video Its a sad state of how us consumers are screwed over these days

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59694.50
ETH 2603.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54