Daily Dose of Sultnpapper 12/17/18> I am now officially confused as hell… that shouldn’t surprise anyone though.

in #dailydose6 years ago

I was just checking...

I just was checking my recent replies and figured I would knock a few of those out of the way so I wouldn’t have as many to catch up on this evening.

The very first...

The very first reply I read was from @zen-art and she informed me that it looks like my post from yesterday got someone’s attention and that the count for the number of posts I’ve written since I have been here got correct and is now in sync with what Steem World is showing I have posted.

So I was about...

So I was about to start this Daily Dose with a good old fashioned “Beep Beep!!!” like the road runner from the old cartoon series that was on television back when I was a youngster. That would be tooting my own horn, in case you didn't put that together.

That was, or...

That was, or let me say could have been a big ego trip, little old sultnpapper actually having people with some pull reading the Daily Dose. That bubble of ego popped pretty quickly though, on my screen it still reads 466 for number of posts.

I just got knocked...

I just got knocked back down where I belong I guess and that really isn’t a bad thing, I have never had a big ego to begin with and I really wouldn’t know how to act right if I did, most people with big ego’s don’t in my opinion.

So @zen-art is...

So @zen-art is seeing 492 and I am seeing 466 on my home page, could some others of you just drop me a quick response and let me know what you are seeing there?

“You wrote 492 posts, trust me. I know things.:)”, is what @zen-art wrote to start the reply. You know; I do trust her. And I wouldn’t doubt that she went and counted every one of them just to be absolutely sure and correct. It wouldn’t be the first time she sifted through all my posts; so even though she didn’t indicate she counted them that little smiley thing at the end of that sentence told me she did.

The funny thing...

The funny thing is that it seems that there isn’t any consistency to any of the stuff I am seeing. If I pick up my phone and look at my home page it shows me at 7,237 post and I know that includes all the comments I have made (which some have been known to be as long or longer as some people’s posts) so why does the phone show the combined number and my computer only show actual posts? Well, ???

You folks are...

You folks are a hell of lot smarter than me when it comes to this stuff and inquiring minds, like mine, would really like to know. If the number of actual post you folks are seeing is reading 493 now, when I post this one you are reading, then I will take it as everything is good except my view of the number. That really wouldn’t make any sense to me but I can live with that, like @zen-art said, I can at least trust her and Steem World.
Until next
@sultnpapper

Note: Thanks for reading the Daily Dose.

Photo Credits : All photos are the property of @sultnpapper.

Sort:  

So. Maybe it has something to do with 'merica. I see 466 posts on your Steemit Page and 493 on your SteemWorld page.

Maybe you and I live too close to the border and the information allowed is being strictly controlled. Back in the olden days I had a few $5 texts or phone calls from a foreign country. They were actually from me, but my phone had the mistaken idea that I was in Mexico at the time. Nearest Cel Tower was in Mexico and that's where they billed from. I was actually in the Republik of Kalifornia every time it happened. Go figure.

So, I'm confused too. Normal state of affairs for me.

I am sure glad you are seeing the same thing as me. It seems like you and me are the only ones that are seeing that way so far. It only shows 466 when I am on my computer though, on my phone it matches the number that steemworld has for posts and comments combined so I think it may have something to do with what app is being used to view it.
Or it might just be we are to close to the border, if they would just get that wall built that would probably clear this problem up and a few others...

Are you holding a whiskey in your hand there honey? Some magic plant cigarette? :D

this is from steemworld:

and this is from steemit, the math checks out:

I do not know what you see but puff puff pass, do not hold it all on to yourself :D Enjoy the rest of your day and if all else fails, turn it off and then on again, computer wizards always assure me that it fixes everything.

I am sure glad that @bigtom13 has weighed in on this because he sees 466 just like I do when he looks at my page. When I use my phone I see that 7,000 + number as well but on my laptop it says 466.
Tom said it might be an "'merica" thing but it might be just be a localized southwest United States thing since he is AZ and I am in TX.
I gave up on whiskey nearly 40 years ago and those hand rolled home grown smokes about thirty years ago so I can't blame it on those.
I might just have to reconsider it though and then maybe I wouldn't notice that steemit.com is screwed up, or at least the counter on my page is.
I have switched this thing on and off plenty of times since Thanksgiving and trust me, that number hasn't changed.
How many posts does steemit show you making? Is it the same as steemworld?

It shows my correct number, the same as on steemworld. Hey, have you checked others? Do you see the correct numbers for other people and see them off like yours or do you see everyone else with ok number and only yours is off?

So I just went and checked @bigtom13 , @thekittygirl , and @enchantedspirit accounts. Of the three only @enchantedspirit's account was screwed up and didn't match when looking at steemit vs. steemworld.
Steemit showed her with 278 posts and steemworld has her at 316. So I don't know what to make of it. Hers is off by 38 and mine is off by 28. Not that it matters in the grand scheme of things but how is it that some can be accurate and others not if it is all being compiled on the same blockchain and same verification's ?
When I do post #500 I would actually like it read 500 on my page that I look at. It just boggles my mind that it (steemit) can't keep it straight but others like steemworld can.

On my IPad I see the &000 posts showing for you andon my PC I am sure it will show somehting different, it is all very confusing I agree

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 344 (12/18/18)

I do, indeed, see 493 posts listed! ☺

Posted using Partiko Android

I am guessing it has to do with what device or app is being used to view the page. Thanks for letting me know, I assume you saw that number of 493 using your phone to view it.

I did, but I was using the OPERA browser, which I also use on my laptop
On the laptop, it is showing '493' in Opera, Firefox, Edge, and Brave browsers!

Thanks for the feed back, I don't know what to think. I checked your post count and it matches up on both places but I also found another friend who's doesn't , so it is puzzling. Hers is off by 38 and mine is off by 28 , so I don't have a clue now.

Howdy sir sultnpapper! Isn't it impressive that we have so many tech savvy people here on Steemit? I don't look at hardly any numbers or keep track of anything so I wouldn't know if they were accurate or not! lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60291.00
ETH 2583.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55