Daily Dose of Sultnpapper 08/28/18> tRump finally got it right … and then guzbucked it up.

in #dailydose6 years ago

Maybe he can't...

I am begging that just once tRump will actually read something for himself and quit listening to his handlers and the White House staff. I also am thinking now that he just might not be able to read, and as far as him tweeting and being able to do his little messages on there, I am thinking that is all voice to text done things he puts out. Has anyone actually ever seen him type a tweet?

Death of Senator John...

On two separate times I have pointed out here in the Daily Dose when tRump over stepped his authority by having the flags lowered to half staff. I guess when you are a half brain; half seems like the thing to do. The death of Senator John Mc Cain was just perfect for tRump to finally get the flags lowered to half staff for the correct reason as outlined in the U.S. Flag Code. It also really helped that tRump couldn’t stand JMC and so he did order the flags to half staff for about a day and half. That is exactly what the flag code calls for; lowered on the day of the death and one full day after that.

Read the code tRump...

The reason I know or suspect tRump can’t read is because if he did know how he would have pulled the damn code up and read it for himself looking for a way out of honoring John Mc Cain any more than he had too. tRump had it right and could have easily pointed to the code as his justification to having such a short amount of “honoring” of Mc Cain.

If the death of one of your biggest adversaries isn’t enough to make you read something when people are pressuring you to honor that person what is?

Screwed it up again...

Now I have to point out that tRump screwed up again on the flags being lowered to half staff, this is almost comical the number of times he has messed up such a simple thing. The code is written for a reason, so it takes emotions out of the decision process and makes sure that continuity is maintained in how we handle such things.

All of tRump’s staff had been clamoring at him to order the American flag to half staff for an extended period of time in honor of McCain and tRump finally caved in and let them talk him into it. So when he caved he really blew it, and again I will tell all you folks that are wanting him out of office here is another chance. Remember the president can be impeached for high crimes and misdemeanors, the flag code violations fits right in there.

Moving right along...

Okay, moving right along, I have a couple people that I want to extend my sincere gratitude too. Those two folks are @ericvancewalton and @buttcoins. Eric was kind enough and generous enough to offer up one of his books on meditation to my friend Gene who is battling pancreatic cancer and Gene is looking forward to the opportunity to read Eric’s book and learn how to meditate, so thanks so much Eric. I have sent you an email with Gene’s home address and he will be looking for it from you.

Opportunity I've been looking for...

I also need to give a big thanks to my good friend @buttcoins he has been nice enough to delegate me some steem power while I was closing in on that magic number of 500 which I recently reached. Not only did he do that for me but he also made me aware of an opportunity to join another blogging group here on steemit that I had been looking to try and join and never could find a way in. I am happy to announce that in the not too distant future my posts will be flying the banner of #steemitbloggers at the bottom of the daily dose. I was informed on Monday by the young lady who runs that organization that I have been adopted into their family of bloggers. This would not have been possible without his help and looking out for me. That is a tight organization over there and I look really forward to getting in over there and meeting all the people in that group.

More mile markers ahead...

That brings me to one last announcement, I had sort of mentioned that I would be reassessing whether or not I would be continuing with the daily dose after I reached mile marker 365. I was floating that out there just in case I didn’t make it in over at the Steemit Bloggers . I have fun writing the daily dose but it is work and I wanted something to spur me on and that is just the ticket. Had I not gotten in over there I wouldn’t have abandoned the platform but I would surely have had to find a different name for it because I wouldn’t have continued on as a daily. So I am looking forward to another lap around the calendar and I hope all you good folks will come along for the ride as we pass each mile marker.

Remember Dear Abby...

I will say that I have the utmost respect for the likes of Dear Abby, she did a daily advice column in the print newspapers for years and years. I am sure there are others but she is the one I remember the most from back when all that was available was printed media and 3 television stations. Man oh man how things have changed since back then and I am happy to be a small part of that change.

777's soon...

I am closing in on 777 followers and just like with a slot machine triple 7’s might be lucky here as well, but don’t tell anyone.

Take care and we will see you back here soon.

Until next time,
@sultnpapper


Sort:  
I could have gotten you into #steemitbloggers if I had known you were interested! I have their banner at the bottom of all my posts, announcing that I am a member. SteemitBloggers was the very first community I joined on Discord — and actually the thing that made me join Discord in the first place — after I'd only been on the Steem blockchain for one month! It will be nice to have you on-board there! 😊

It took me by surprise that I even opened this post to read, since it started with a political slant, and I am not sure why I clicked on it, actually. The current nauseating political climate and the digusting actions of those in-office have made me boycott the news for the past few months as well as posts of a political nature. But, I'm somewhat glad I clicked because I had not heard of John McCain's passing.

I have known that you are member there, I just don't like asking for favors. Buttcoins and I have been kicking it around in DM's and he thought that I would fit in and so I have been watching more peoples post from that group of recently.
It might take me a while to fit in there, my daily dose is something that has to grow on people as you know. But I look forward to be over there and meeting the members of the group. I am glad you decided to read this edition as well, so you are up to speed on the news.

I think you'll fit right in! You post enough variety to keep everyone engaged! 😉

First of all, I want to tell you how happy I am that you'll be making another lap with the daily dose. I'm glad the reason found you and that I'll get the pleasure for another year.

I have a friend that was a 'pressman' at the Chicago Tribune, Abby's home paper and where her office was. He tells some great stories, about everybody in the mechanical side 'baiting' her. Because they loved and respected her and she could mostly take a joke. He said you had arrived at the Trib when you took a genuine ass chewing from Abby.

Tradition (rather than the code) says sitting Senators get the capitol flag from the day of their death through the day of their funeral. Not the nation's flags, you understand, just the capitol flags.

I often disagreed with our senior Senator, but I never once doubted his sincerity or integrity. Can't be said for very many in that profession.

Just so I understand, when you say "capitol flag" are you referring to the flag of the District of Columbia with the three red stars at the top and the red bar stripes that run horizontal across the white rectangular body of the flag?
Or do you mean the the flag of the United States of America that flies at the capitol building or government buildings in DC?
I know you love history and write really good articles on historical subjects, if you don't mind a suggestion I have one for you.
You should do an article on just how and why the District of Columbia came about. Most people don't know the ties it has to the Vatican and to London or just what Columbia is and that the 10 mile square area is a district of.
Abby was a feisty lady from what I remember hearing and reading about her. She might inspire me to do an advice column on steemit , I can call it "Dear Sulty," maybe a one day a week thing for starters.
I am really excited to have gotten in over at the Steemit Bloggers and to be able to expand my network of folks on the platform over there. The people I know there already are quality people.

I try not to talk politics this early in the morning (for me) and without enjoying my first cuppa java but this whole JMC fiasco has me irritated. It would seem that everything that man does irritates me and I am not even an American! He manages to put his foot in it all the time and would someone take away his Twitter account? 'Nuff said!

I need to get over and check out #steemitbloggers too. I am trying to see what direction to take my blog because I have been here for 16 months now, so it is time to do something different and grow.

I remember Dera Abby and her twin sister Ann Landers. Both wrote syndicated advice columns. Things have really changed since then, but do you remember Emily Post (Miss Manners)? I think we could use a dose or two of manners...

I do remember Ann and Emily although I didn't read the EP column much, that might explain some lack of proper manners on my part, I always have problems with which side the fork goes on and how set the table properly with utensils. I think being left handed has something to do with that.
My first cup is gone and I am on cup three so my mind is sharp and ready to take on the day as I head to San Antonio for this week.

Manners aren't only about using the right fork. How about a please and thank you?

I loved San Antonio when I visited there. Many, many moons ago I was engaged to a Texan from San Antonio. That is a story for another day Suffice to say I was much too young and anything my father thought was a good idea probably wasn't.

Please and thank you are words that aren't used often enough for sure, so thanks for bringing that up. It might be they get excluded from the English dictionary soon for lack of use by the time we expire from this earth.
San Antonio is a lovely city, it is amazing how the people there could take what was a drainage ditch and rename it the San Antonio River and then create a tourist attraction around it and mega millions in dollars of hotels, shopping, and dining known as the River Walk. That is people with a vision I tell you.
The missions are my favorite part of San Antonio, and while the Alamo is one of those missions and the most famous one it isn't the neatest one of them in my opinion. Which reminds me, I have gone by the Missions this summer so I may need to just swing by there this week while I am in town.
Dad's don't know best?
Thanks for the continued support.

Mine didn't...

Nice @sultnpapper so glad you are in @steemitbloggers now!! it has been a great journey here on Steemit for me. And i have always appreciated your rooted real presence. Steemit wouldnt be the same without you.... for me at the very least!

Thanks Butt, that means a lot to me and I can surely say the same for you as well. I was just confirming my first two supports and saws your's pop up in there with my name on it and I thought, "is he trying to chat in here with me?" Then I realized what had taken place, it was a senior moment for sure...

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 241 (8/29/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Ok maybe we have more in common than I thought 😂

Maybe so, just maybe so.

Glad to hear u are joining us over ar steemitbloggers, it is a good community so I am sure you will find many new followers! 😉

I hadn't been paying attention to the news so I didn't know he messed up the flags again LoL, let me show u my suprised face 😐

Real glad to be joining ya'll. i already know a few people but looking forward to meeting the rest of the folks.
Yes, on the flags , he had finally gotten it right and then turned around and screwed it up listening to the people in the WHouse. I swear he can't read or catch a break.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86