You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Daily Dose of Sultnpapper 12/12/18> Glad that is behind me now… and I did get a nap and learned something.

in #dailydose5 years ago (edited)

I had to get 'professional certification' hours in too. In the mechanic world it was pretty easy, a manufacturers cert class would work just fine and I always took them when available.

I had a chemical cert for a few years. Those could be beyond brutal, the biggest trick was the appearance of staying awake. It was in my best interest to have digested all that information prior to the annual class, and that made for boring classes. Until I fell in with the instructors. I may or may not have gotten a couple of annual certs in a bar the night before the class.

I don't believe I've ever heard the tonsils and adenoids theory, but I've still got all my original equipment. My Dad had a treatment for tonsillitis that involved gargling with salt water and spraying with Merthiolate that was so brutal I had to be not even remotely able to swallow before I reported a problem. So I didn't report much and there was never any reason for the doc to go get my stuff. I believe like many childhood conditions we build our own immunity over time, and I've never had much problem with it.

I was jealous of classmates that got a few days off from school and the ice cream. I still love me some ice cream. Which brings me to the desert/veggies discussion. I like veggies just fine (some of them) so I take them on a regular basis. But my father had another theory on life that I fully subscribe to. When in doubt, eat the desert first. Better to leave some veggies behind than pie or cake or ice cream. That one made a lot more sense to me than the tonsillitis treatment.

Well, sir. I've had my daily dose, I believe I'll move my tonsils over to the desert section. Thanks.

Sort:  

This was the first time in since they started this CEU class that I attended as an attendee rather than a vendor so for the 18 years or so I got my hours just for being in the building in previous years without ever having to set foot inside the lecture hall.
Plus we were allowed to pack up are display booths and leave after the last break of the day which was at 2:30 in the afternoon. The organizers make such a big deal about every attendee being there the full 8 hours of class time and give the vendors a pass on it all since they make good money off the vendors.
I was half tempted at 2:30 to go see if they would give me my little certificate and let me go on my way but I knew they wouldn't. The more you pay the more privileges you get I guess.
I would have liked to see the look and the response I would have gotten but since the last portion of the day was actually something I was interested in I didn't do it and stayed without rocking the boat.
I would have kept my mouth shut too if my parents had the treatment your father did for the sore throat and tonsillitis.
Thanks for dropping by and sharing your take on today's subjects, very much appreciated, hope the dessert section is refilled for you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57768.72
ETH 2943.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66