You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Daily Dose of Sultnpapper 09/20/18 > Now even my hotel is trying to get me…snacking healthy.

in #dailydose6 years ago

God I hate when that happens. I mean really. I am a repeat customer for a reason (or reasons) and I feel betrayed when things change around me.

I don't do chains much, fact of the matter is I don't do cities (where chains live) much. I like Mom and Pop sorta locations. I belong to a website that lists rooms under $50 per night all across the US. Once in a while I get organized enough to use that site, but mostly I just add and update.

I found a pure dandy this summer in extreme north west Minnesota. I chased in an hour early or so due to big thunderstorms and what a lucky fellow I am. It wasn't under $50 (we are considering making the benchmark $75) but I stayed in a stand alone unit that was right across the street from a beautiful lake. It was a full block off the highway, the innerwebs was adequate until the Thunderstorm took out power, the shower and the bed were both wonderful. The hotel had a private fishing dock on the lake, and the setting was gorgeous. Right next door to a really wonderful steak house with a perogie place right across the highway.

Anyway, my kind of place and I'll go back. I stop at the Bridge Street Inn in Baker City Oregon at least once per year. They used to have a 'Rosa' that made biscuits and gravy every other day. Sadly, Rosa retired. The house breakfast is still good, but....

So, it's not that I just hate change, but changing just for changing sake kinda rubs me wrong. And let the record show that I am 4 square in favor of Otis Spunkmeyer cookies. I know them to be just damn good,

Sort:  

The only draw back to Otis Spunkmeyer cookies is that they don't keep well locked up in a cab of pickup truck in the hot Texas sun during the day. The chocolate doesn't hold up and melts. That is why if I don't eat it before I check out, I make sure I find someone who could use it pretty early in the day and give it away.
That place you stay at with the fishing dock sounds like a great place to stay at and wet a line in the evening, I keep a rod n reel in my truck for evenings when I am near the coast or near a river, and it just hit me that I need to get another damn fishing license, those expire here in Texas on August 31. I think it is bullshit that they make you have a fishing license, what ever happened to my right too "life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness"? My pursuit of happiness includes fishing, it is my God given right to fish. I'll stop right there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60309.45
ETH 2701.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48