You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Daily Dose of Sultnpapper 09/02/18> Can bots actually think for themselves… if so, what about emotions?

in #dailydose6 years ago

Well, it's my opinion that bots or anything else with AI does not think the way we do. Which is a really good thing. Can you imagine the damaged circuits if bots would head off down random rabbit holes like you and I are known to do? I'm thinking they'd need to measure gasoline with gallon jugs and make the amount come out exactly even for the clerks that can't count change. Not to mention banking and nuclear weapons and stuff like that.

The lot lizards seem to not bother motorcycle riders as the privacy standards don't seem to be up to their needs. Which works out really good in my opinion.

I've never used a bid bot so I just have no opinion. I think I understand how and why they work, but I've just never bothered. I really do try to aim my content at humans and stay out of the rabbit holes while doing so. I'm pretty well resigned to the fact that I'm never going to hit the trending page, another place I avoid. Why would I care what's popular with the masses? If I'm going to give an author my most precious possession (the time to read what he wrote) I want to read what interests ME. Not what the sheep want to see.

There's my rant for the day. I stand in solidarity with you and Blondie.

Sort:  

I like rabbit, it tastes pretty good in stew. The best place to find rabbit is in the rabbit holes so I am not afraid to head down them when I am hungry.
Thinking involves consciousness and with AI there is no consciousness, it is just processes and algorithms and then more of the same, and then repeat again. Kind of like sifting soil, start with big mesh screens and then work your way down to the smallest micron openings in the screens,
Clerks that can't count change just drive me up a wall sometimes. I will sometimes wait until they have entered the amount tendered like a $10 bill on a $5.27 sale and then I tell them "I have the 27 cents" and put it on the counter. The look of panic comes across their face and they freeze. You should try it sometime if you aren't doing it already, it is cheap entertainment.
I'll skip right over the lot lizards, but yes, a bike would be problematic.
I haven't looked at a trending page in at least 8 months there was nothing of value on there when I got here and i doubt anything has changed there except maybe the amounts being paid would probably be less now.
Thanks for the support on the daily dose and with Blondie and I as we make our stand.
Love the rants too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60752.38
ETH 2453.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63