Dear @DtubeDaily on @Dtube #135 // the mana change may feel like it sucks now but exposing the cost of this chain will become a big and important long term sustainability talking point.

in #daily-vlog6 years ago


this post is gonna cost me, and it should, because it’s a real world action on a real world server, on a server that costs money to run, power, silicon and produces heat. we tend to not consider the back end part of our frontend lives — we click the buttons and the stuff goes away to ‘somewhere’

Things cost, this exposes those costs, for us to scale past where we are today, to scale for a thousand companies to build their own steem powered services with tokens we need to have some kind of resource management, I feel that although this is a big change and feels clunky and restrictive I also do feel that it’s ground breaking and can be a massive talking point about the steem blockchain in years to come.

I have a rant in the video, check it out ;)


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I disagree with this, I agree that it costs money to manage a server, power, and etc, I agree and support that ads like youtube does is not the answer for dtube and steem. I would say that punishing people to post content is going to drive them away. I am small here on steem a minnow as one would call it, but I dont just cash out every moment I get I believe in the blockchain and dump alot back into SP. I will say though that if posting costs me something I will just ended up uploading video to other places. The reason Youtube works so well is because It gives a platform for creators to share content and it doesnt cost.

I would upvote this but I CANT really afford to do that lol...I am not being combative overall I like the change and idea of filtering out greedy people. I just feel that it does damage that amount of users creating content that our honest on the platform.

It's certainly a change. We will see what happens.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57916.39
ETH 2552.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42