#cycling4steemit: A proper introduction of our new community project! Are you a cyclist? Then you should join #cycling4steemit !

in #cycling4steemit6 years ago

#cycling4steemit as the name suggests, is a newly started community project for steemians who likes to spend their time on the best creation man has ever made; the bike. So if you are like one of us who enjoys the life on two wheels you should consider checking out #cycling4steemit. Come to read, share, discuss and meet other people with the exact interest as you! Everything within the cycling world in one place.

cykler4steemit.png

Why I started #cycling4steemit


Tour cycling is not just a sport for me, it has almost become a life style and currently the way I wish the most to want to live. When I was introduced to Steemit back in April I absolutely loved to go on Steemit regularly to blog and read about others travels. I met some really great people in that time but I felt something was missing. It felt like people were scattered all across the platform and it was hard to find some actual sense of "cycling community". While we do have our "cycling" tag, it just don't manage to bring the feeling of community that I was looking for. So I decided not long time ago that instead of looking through the masses, it would make sense to create a place where people could come to meet!

My vision with #cycling4steemit


The vision is very simple, I am looking to create a place for steemian cyclists to gather and to hopefully in the long run create a sense of community based on our shared interest. Put up events, contests and much more.

#cycling4steemit should become the place to go on Steemit for all cyclists out there. But in the long run there could be a problem. The cycling world is huge and branches out to all kind of sub-branches; Tour cycling/bike packing, mountain biking, racing and the list goes on and on.. So you can imagine this could become a little messy. So how do we solve this problem?

There can be a lot of solutions to this but it is my hope that #cycling4steemit will be the startup and serve as the "big brother" for all the siblings to come. Imagine if #cycling4steemit could grow and eventually Steemits implementation of communities would be coming up, already with a working community. Then suddenly we might be able to branch out our sub-topics(given they create the opportunity to do that?). We could create sectors for all the different cyclists we are, but still under one banner.

But for now it is less about the future and more about what we can do now. Then we will see what the future of the road brings to us. We can have all kind of ideas but in the end it requires actions to be taken, so lets start with what we CAN do, step by step!

bikeutiful.jpg

3 reasons Why YOU should be using #cycling4steemit!


I am supporting those that uses the tag with my upvotes


For now I am on a regular basis going into #cycling4steemit and checking out peoples post and just like everywhere else on Steemit, I vote depending on how good I feel the post is. If it is just a simple picture, well then you might not receive my full up vote since there's also many others who I could vote for and my voting power is not unlimited. But as it stands now I can promise that if you create decent content I will be up voting you with all I have. It is my hope maybe to either seek out ways to get some delegation for this project if it really takes off, to support people even more or at least encourage those who uses the tag to also put some effort into supporting each other!

There's a good chance People who are using #cycling4steemit would be good people to get in contact with


People who are joining in and using #cycling4steemit is a given it is people who clearly are reading and being active, otherwise they would never have gone this far to use the tag. This means that those you using the tag could not only be helpful to find and expand your network on Steemit, but even find more success. Witch leads me to the last and third reason...

Empowering each other is the way forward!


We all are coming with the hope to find someone to share our work with, especially the people who have the similar interest. After all it is about empowering each other, and those who finds support from you, will most likely return the favor! With more eyes focused on one spot we can create better support and exposure for everyone. I think we all are tired of making a great post and see it get drowned by the hundreds of others posting the exact same moment. So why not make it visible to a smaller handful of people that most likely will enjoy the content at the same time? Lets help each other out and make it fun at the same time!

cyklerjuhu.png

The project just started out and people are already using the tag!


It's amazing to see how quickly people are picking up on #cycling4steemit in just one week and it gives me a lot of hope that we are enough people here to really make it even bigger! So thanks for everyone who decided to join me in my search for like-minded cyclists, it's a true pleasure! I can only imagine how this project will be looking after a month when we truly start to create more reasons to come!

So Holm says: Join us, this is only the beginning!


Let's admit it, using a hashtag is not gonna be enough to create a community BUT it is a start! Eventually we might be able to put up more features that would promote our gathering such as contests, Discord and much more that my not-so-creative mind can't come up with right now! So come give it a try, go see if you find some posts you like that used the tag, I sure already found a few.

See you on the road!

-holm

Sort:  

Awesome stuff Holm, unfortunately, I haven't been on my bike for a good few weeks due to the dismal weather here, also I've been ill for a couple of weeks. When things improve I'll be sure to start posting again about cycling, I've already signed up for a brutal sportive called The Struggle https://ridethestruggle.com/products/struggle-dales

It seems like cycling4steemit is similar to what I tried to do with RideStory, hopefully the Steemit userbase is large enough now for a proper cycling community!

Yeah I remember I joined you in one of your contests of RideStory. I think thinking of putting similar contest up while more and more people are joining the community! In fact, if you feel like trying your luck with it again, then this might be a good time ?

That event sounds like a killer, daamn!

I'll wait a few more months until Steemit becomes more popular and everyone in the Northern hemisphere is out riding bikes again. Have you got any other ideas for contests or other kinds of community building initiatives? Maybe some sort of challenge to see who can do the greatest distance in a week or something? hmmm...

There could be a lot of cool cycling challenges to take on! Stories such as you made, pictures, competitions such as distance etc. You should let me know ideas and if you wanna really join in on trying to make this something, I could use some help lol.

Ok sure if I can think of any good ideas I'll let you know. We could possibly make a Strava group/club for Steemit cyclists. Would be a good way to keep track of everyones riding and also make distance/climbing challenges

Strava could be right up the valley to be honest, almost too convenient. We could use it for all sort of things!

A Steemit strava group would be rad, at least then I could track newcomers and check out who to follow as well.

Count me in!

20180107_152035.jpg

1 more on the wagon! ;) cheers man! Awesome bike btw. What's the brand?

Thank you @holm! Happy to be here at #cycling4steemit.

It's a HARO Double Peak Comp. Well, it used to be. I think the only HARO part that is left there is the frame. As of right now, it already has 4,552.4 km on its metaphorical belt. It's Saturday tomorrow so that number might go up 😁

Haha yeah that's usually what happens after some good distance! That is why I have always preferred to put my money into a good frame!

Yes, the frame IS the bike. All others are replaceable. Replace the frame, it's a different bike. That's just me though.

I really hope that the project you are designing can be the leader thanks to the cyclists around the world. Thank you again for your invitation I am here, hopefully one day we can meet and enjoy a cup of Aceh coffee.

That sounds like a meeting I would love to make real! LOL.

I have no experience with creating communities and projects like this. All I know I have a need for it and I find it exciting. I have no doubt we can make this grow together as a community! I am just the one starting it up!

I'm totally in mate. This is a great initiative, hopefully this will bring all of the cyclists on steemit closer together. I know that the are a lot of us on here. Can't wait to see how this progresses.

Meanwhile I'm having a love hate relationship with my bike. She went and broke two spokes on me on the cycle home today. Now I have to replace them and true the wheel again. It is such an art to get it right again.

Yeah man! I have missed your tales of a cyclist! haha. Good to see you around again man! Cant wait to see how many we can manage to gather!

Its has a really big progress with a small amount of time, I can see more cyclists on steemit, more power man!

Haha nice one! More power my man!

Always finding something interesting on Steemit. This is one of those things! Especially things that don't cross my mind on a daily basis. Since you're into physical health, I think you'd like a similar article I wrote. It's more about when the boxing fans of Muhammad Ali came together.
https://steemit.com/life/@crypto-maven/deeper-introduction-martial-arts-background-and-going-to-the-muhammad-ali-funeral-in-louisville-ky

Ohhh I meant to ask you a question. Do you recommend the carbon drive? I'm seriously thinking about purchasing one and want to know the opinion of someone with a lot of miles on one.

How much maintenance do they actually need? I've read the brochures but can they be trusted? Is it really barely any? Or is it like fuel economy in cars? An honest comparison between belt and chain would make for a descent steemit article.

Well rode almost 5000 kilometers on my carbon drive and it seems barely used. Many people report their belts first needed replacement at the 15000-20000km mark. The belt needs no maintenance. The only thing you have to keep an eye on is if it is tension correctly. and I would heavily advice you if you get a belt drive, buy the tool to measure the tension.

I would recommend Rohloff or pinion to get the ultimate experience.

Awesome. I bike to work as much as I can. Even in the cold and snow! I haven't done much touring, but mountain biked a lot in high school. The bike is man's greatest invention.

The way you say it makes me want to be thankful that it doesn't snow here in the Philippines. Bike every day!

i admit that i can't afford it the way you have done, but sometime i also ride with my bicycle and roaming around for refreshing, there are some people who are creating group and go ahead.

Bicycling is very refreshing indeed! It's all about roaming around with the perfect phase!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97