You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [Blog #10] Cycling Saturday | I Guess I Don't Like Cyclists | Beautiful Day

in #cycling6 years ago

Hahaha. I feel ya pain. Lol

I am with Rob on this one. Do whatever is safest, make the decision as per the situation in front of you. Motor vehicle laws don't apply to cyclists. At least not in India! So the question of breaking the law doesn't arise.

I have been rear ended by a car while sitting on my motorcycle at a red light! And by a bus when on my bicycle! Now i look over my shoulder more often than an escaped convict!

I also don't like cyclists. At least those who care more about the cost of the bike, jersey, kit, and accessories. I like those who shut up and ride :D

Sort:  

Sup @twowheeledmonkey, thanks for the comment!

Take a look at my comment there.
I do think we (cyclists) have ours reasons to do some things, but sometimes some os us abuse. In that case, if I see an accident where the cyclist was abusing, I'll defend the driver.

How is traffic in India? Here in Brazil we have incidents, mostly caused by distraction. My experience with the bike on the streets has been great so far, but I'm always cautious and I avoid streets that I know may represent danger. I even stop for pedestrians on crosswalks hahahaha

The closest I got to an accident was incredibly when I was inside the bike lane. The cars are not used to it yet, and many of them step their nose into the bike lane on intersections to check on going traffic. If you are distracted cycling you may visit a car's hood hahahahaha

How is traffic in India?

You need to experience it to understand it. There is beauty in the absolute chaos here! If you are an atheist, you will become a believer. There is no other way that people can ride and drive around with the intelligence of cattle and still live to tell the tale! There is a reason why India has 10 million gods :D

HAHAAHH and I though Brazil was kinda chaotic.
I've seen a video of guy traveling by motorcycle through India, and he was complaining that people drove like mad men, then he is filming and a truck rolls over. And hes like .....I told you.....

Since I have been born and brought up here, everything appears 'normal'!

So here's a quick article from an outsider's perspective of cycling in India, he used to ride in Delhi:

https://cyclingtips.com/2018/03/living-dangerously-outsiders-perspective-cycling-india/

Hahh curious to read, I'll do it today when I have a break at work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60881.23
ETH 2600.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56