You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: BRKR Thursday Ride! Let's Get This Going!

in #cycling6 years ago

What a cool ride! An art-show, a dive-bar, and the Peace-Bridge. And I'm getting so nostalgic to Elmwood Avenue! But it seems like you all had a lot of fun. Thanks for sharing! (By the way, is that cybernetic-looking art built out of old bike-parts? These days that all I see...)

Sort:  

Thanks! You might not recognize some of Elmwood Avenue. It becoming all 4 and 5 story new developments. I don't like it. They tore down all the houses between Forest and Bird where Home of the Hits and Mondo Video used to be recently. A lot of the smaller businesses are moving to Grant Street now as none of the small shops can afford the Elmwood rents.

I don't believe she made that art from bike parts but I do have some of that type of art on my living room wall.

IMG_20180427_064116311.jpg

Sweet bike-art!
Oh no, Home of the Hits and Mondo Video are gone!!! I guess even Tough Buff is not immune of gentrification. I used to live on Bird, first for a hippie Summer in "the Claremont" following that, in a house past Grant Street. What I loved about that neighborhood is that on one end around Delaware Ave. you have the ritziest mansions, while just a few streets to the west you found yourself the deepest ghetto. I guess now Grant is becoming more trendy... So it goes.

Oh yes I know the Claremont. Grant and Ferry is still the same but a lot of local shops are opening near Grant and Lafayette. A lot of houses were torn down near Grant and Forest and replaced with student housing. People are still scared of the area though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56769.00
ETH 2325.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36