BRKR Thursday Ride! Let's Get This Going!

in #cycling6 years ago

Alright, I'm really excited for social group rides to start happening. Black Rock King Rollers is one of the groups I ride with. I help organize the rides. We no longer meet in the Black Rock neighborhood but the name is still with us. It's a social bar hop ride with outdoor stops. It's always met every Thursday around 6:30. We struggled to keep it going every week last year but I really want to start this up again. It's the first group I started riding with and all my cycling friends stemmed from this first group ride.

I need to say something here. Anyone can be a cyclist! Get out and ride! Meet people and do new things. See your city by bike!

Ok, back to my story. We have always been a small ride, with 8-10 people being a good ride. It's a fairly casual pace, about 10-12 mph and 15-20 miles total. We used to meet at the Essex Street Pub but have moved it to McGarret's this year. I mainly suggested moving it because this place is cash only. I love Essex, but it often became impossible to get everyone out of the bar as everyone had to settle up with their credit cards, which often led to people ordering more drinks when seeing people still in the bar. This should be much quicker getting people to leave when they have already paid for their drinks. As a bonus, this bar has a lot of bike racks out front.

I posted in our FB group (I won't print that website name on here) and just hoped people might show up. I'm still not drinking so I got a glass of water. Matt and Kathy showed up. They each had a drink and then we went off to our first stop.

DSC01472.JPG

We didn't have far to ride as a couple of our Thursday riders were having an art show at the college down the street. We couldn't skip this.

DSC01473.JPG

DSC01474.JPG

Besides the awesome art, these shows usually have free food and beer, or in my case free sparkling water. After an extended stay here, we went to an outdoor stop at the new pedestrian bike bridge near the Peace Bridge.

DSC01477.JPG

DSC01479.JPG

It's a dark photo, but that's me above

DSC01481.JPG

We then rode to the diviest of dive bars, where I was still younger than most everybody there. Cook's is the kind of bar you would never find unless you had directions. It's right on the line between a residential and an industrial area. It's on the end of a street of houses on the corner of a street that bears a sign saying it is "not a street." There is a more well-known bar at the other end of the "not a street," but most people there might not even know about Cook's. The "not a street" is actually the property of Con-Rail as it is next to the railroad tracks. Cook's is just awesome and cheap. It feels like a room in somebody's house. There is a short shuffleboard table but it was covered up by raffle items as they had some sort of event earlier that night. The bowling game was available to use though.

DSC01486.JPG

DSC01488.JPG

After this we went our separate ways. It was a great night to ride. It got chilly later, but I wore enough thermals to keep warm. Hopefully it's nice enough for another ride next Thursday!

Sort:  

It looks for fun. I would really join the ride ... if I would live in the US: D

I wonder how long before I find a cyclist on here who lives in the area. There must be somebody.

for sure :D

The cook's bar looks super cool. Very hippie and a place where you can spend a lot of time chilling!

Cook's is cool. It's funny you should say that as our first stop was definitely more a hippie bar, where they have jam bands some nights. Both are great!

Possibly different definitions of a hippie. The hippies i know are stingy, always rolling a J, jamming at the drop of a musical instrument and when they can't fine one, even empty vessels will do. And most importantly, terribly laid back.

And thus the second one looks more like the proper scene!

What a cool ride! An art-show, a dive-bar, and the Peace-Bridge. And I'm getting so nostalgic to Elmwood Avenue! But it seems like you all had a lot of fun. Thanks for sharing! (By the way, is that cybernetic-looking art built out of old bike-parts? These days that all I see...)

Thanks! You might not recognize some of Elmwood Avenue. It becoming all 4 and 5 story new developments. I don't like it. They tore down all the houses between Forest and Bird where Home of the Hits and Mondo Video used to be recently. A lot of the smaller businesses are moving to Grant Street now as none of the small shops can afford the Elmwood rents.

I don't believe she made that art from bike parts but I do have some of that type of art on my living room wall.

IMG_20180427_064116311.jpg

Sweet bike-art!
Oh no, Home of the Hits and Mondo Video are gone!!! I guess even Tough Buff is not immune of gentrification. I used to live on Bird, first for a hippie Summer in "the Claremont" following that, in a house past Grant Street. What I loved about that neighborhood is that on one end around Delaware Ave. you have the ritziest mansions, while just a few streets to the west you found yourself the deepest ghetto. I guess now Grant is becoming more trendy... So it goes.

Oh yes I know the Claremont. Grant and Ferry is still the same but a lot of local shops are opening near Grant and Lafayette. A lot of houses were torn down near Grant and Forest and replaced with student housing. People are still scared of the area though.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56430.09
ETH 2323.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35