THE MAN WHO LIVES NEXT TO THE OVERPASS

in #cycling8 years ago

About 5 days a week on one of my bike rides I go down Bronx Park East underneath Gun Hill Road to hit the Greenway either towards The Botanical Gardens or Pelham Parkway. It's really nice.

There is a man who lives on and behind the stone wall that adjoins to the overpass which is right next to the circle that begins this section of the park. He's not very tall and he's always all bundled up in layers of brown jackets. It is a family sitting area where little kids ride their bikes after dinner and the families sit around and talk and play. He's part of the community.He's been living there for almost 2 years.

 I always wondered why he is still there because we have outreach workers here in NYC that would definitely have to know about him the police monitor this area well. I pass him and all looks well he's usually lying down on the wall. Sometimes he's sitting up and sometimes he's standing next to the tree behind the wall.

Last week I was riding by one day and there were several outreach workers there with him engaged in conversation and he has the HUGEST smile on his face. His face is very dark brown and his teeth are so white they almost glow. What struck me is:

He looks like a black oompa loompa.

HE'S SO CUTE! I almost burst into tears. THAT SMILE.

The day before yesterday I was riding by AND HE SMILED AT ME and he raised up his hand to wave at me. I almost burst into tears again.

Whatever the case, he seems to really like it there.

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your post has been featured in the Blog Spotlight newsletter, which highlights original content here on Steemit. Please upvote some of our other featured posts from other authors. And keep up the great work!
Link: https://steemit.com/blogspotlight/@donkeypong/blog-spotlight-issue-4

I guess people can find happiness in unlikely places! We can all learn something from your friend in the park.

The Botanical Gardens or Pelham Parkway

Nice to see mention of some landmarks that I recognize and have been to!

It is a very nice place glad to hear you know it. I love it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60257.31
ETH 2427.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44