You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [Blog #10] Cycling Saturday | I Guess I Don't Like Cyclists | Beautiful Day

in #cycling6 years ago

So the friendship ends here, cause you gonna hate me...
.
.
.
In my country breaking traffic rules when you're sure there will be no punishment, is common. So cars stop by the red light, mostly because the car has a license and there are cameras in intersections.

So many bikers (bicycle and motorcycle) don't care about traffic rules, specially in less crowded streets. Me, i use my common sense when biking, law doesn't care about me, so i don't care about it neither. I try not to bring chaos to the streets, but because bikes are more flexible, you can (in some occasion) manage to cross a red line without risking your life or making a mess in the intersection. Sometimes that there's a traffic jam, i use sidewalks but not like i'm cycling in a street, surely with lower speed so i can handle people, and if it's a crowded side walk, i'll stick to the street.
in most cases it's all the same here, young bikers don't care much about the rules (and also rules don't care about them) also people tend to not care about the cyclist... . People mostly like a cyclist, but not when he/she is on the street.

Final word, in my opinion, that common sense is much more important than the rules. Those rules are meant to manage cars, not bikes.

Sort:  

ahahahahahah thank you @sina-adventure! Let's stay friends, but if you ever come do Brazil you'll follow the rules, ya bastard! hhahahahahaha

You know, it's super cool to know from other countries, I thought only brazilians were the ones to break rules and f** everything up ahahahaha

Like I commented for the guys, common sense always, but without abusing! Here I don't cycle on sidewalks because I respect the pedestrians a lot, they are below me in the traffic hierarchy. If I ever need to, I dismount and walk with the bike by my side.

While on traffic I use a looooot hand signals, to show the drivers my moving intentions. I also avoid streets that are known to be problematic.

Maybe i rethink cycling on side walks. (I don't do it regularly, just when there's a heavy traffic and also a wide and uncrowded sidewalk available.) But But stoping for the red light "just" for the sake of obaying the rules... THAT IS "SLAVERY" 😂, i'm a free man, and i will die as a free man. When they started caring about those who travel by bike, i might rethink that too.

AHHAHAHA YES, I'll slowly bring you to the right side of the force..

But I understand why you guys stop for the red signal, I just think that in some situations cyclists abuse it. We have no right to stop on top of a crosswalk blocking the pedestrians, that's the only way we can check the ongoing traffic.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60881.23
ETH 2600.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56