You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Project Update: A cycling trip from southwestern Poland to Romanian coast

in #cycling6 years ago (edited)

I bought a touring bike after attempting long trips on a back-loaded hybrid. The frame on that couldn't handle the weight. I just couldn't imagine such a long ride with a backpack. I commend you for attempting such a long ride without panniers. I also don't know if I could handle the body positioning of a road bike for such a long duration. I can get a pretty comfortable upright position on the tops when I need a break.

Does warmshowers.org have hosts in Europe? It's like couchsurfing but for cyclists.

Sort:  

Hi @robmolecule, I switch between different types of grips very often, so I don't stay in the same position for too long :) An upright position is possible when my hands are close to stem. When I'm in this position, I sometimes tend to hold the steering wheel with my fingers only, so I can bend away a little further :)

Also thanks for recommending warmshowers.org, I'm checking it out now :)

Hi @robmolecule, warmshowers.org is pretty damn amazing :) Thanks for the recommendation!

You're welcome! I have yet to use it but it will be part of my summer travels.

Where are you touring? :)

I want to do a ride around most of Lake Erie this summer. I might do the GAP - C&O Trail again as part of a bigger ride south. I might ride from Buffalo to NYC. I have the whole summer off because I quit my job. How far I go really depends on getting a dog sitter or seeing how far my dog can take riding in a trailer.

All three options seem really interesting :) Nice distance too.

I must say that you live in an amazing area. I am now doing a research about five Great Lakes :)

PS. Have you considered sending your dog to a dog hotel?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69508.29
ETH 3366.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74