Project Update: A cycling trip from southwestern Poland to Romanian coast

in #cycling6 years ago

IMG_1536.JPG

I will carry my 10 kilogram backpack for 1800 kilometers while cycling through Poland, Ukraine and Romania with my friend this year.

My friend @danielw and I are doing a bike trip from southwestern Poland all the way down to Black Sea and documenting each step of the way. We believe that by sharing every twist and turn of our trip and how we dealt with it, we will deliver content, both informative and entertaining, that will serve as a traveler guide.

Trip highlights

  • at least a hundred kilometers ride during a cycling day,
  • rural roads,
  • free accommodation: camping, Couchsurfing etc.,
  • non-tourist destinations,
  • sharing the best tips and the best views;

Our goal is to educate and inspire fellow travelers from around the world to get on their bikes. At the same time we would like to make it easy for beginners to jump onboard by showing that anyone can become a traveler.

If you like to find out more and support us, go to our projects page on Fundition.io

So why have I decided to travel with such a heavy load on my shoulders?

Panniers are not for everyone

When you are riding a bike for days with a heavy backpack, you will have to be ready for a number of consequences resulting from making that terrible decision. This will not only visibly alter your performance but will also stress your muscles and spine. To take the weight off your back you should consider getting yourself a rack and a pannier. That will move the heavy load to a rack to hold on to and make your every trip much more comfortable.

Unfortunately, 10 years ago I made another terrible decision and bought a road bike :)

IMG_3261.JPG

If you are a road bike owner then you probably know that most road bike frames do not contain holes for a rack. If that applies to you, then getting a rack that can be attached to a seatpost and a relatively small pannier can be a way to go, but not without making a sacrifice. The total weight of the luggage carried with you will have to be reduced, to prevent your seatpost from bending or breaking.

But in my case the luggage averages at 10 kilograms and the seatpost is raised to a maximum, so all I am left with is my good ol' pal backpack.

DSC_0022.JPG

I will have to consider building a cross or a mountain bike in the future to finally take the load off my shoulders :)

For now, I will be glad to carry my backpack for 1800 km more, through the sceneries of Poland, Ukraine and Romania.

If you would like to help us get the necessary equipment to record this trip, you can upvote this post and support our project on Fundition.io


Image64000002.jpg

Sort:  

I bought a touring bike after attempting long trips on a back-loaded hybrid. The frame on that couldn't handle the weight. I just couldn't imagine such a long ride with a backpack. I commend you for attempting such a long ride without panniers. I also don't know if I could handle the body positioning of a road bike for such a long duration. I can get a pretty comfortable upright position on the tops when I need a break.

Does warmshowers.org have hosts in Europe? It's like couchsurfing but for cyclists.

Hi @robmolecule, I switch between different types of grips very often, so I don't stay in the same position for too long :) An upright position is possible when my hands are close to stem. When I'm in this position, I sometimes tend to hold the steering wheel with my fingers only, so I can bend away a little further :)

Also thanks for recommending warmshowers.org, I'm checking it out now :)

Hi @robmolecule, warmshowers.org is pretty damn amazing :) Thanks for the recommendation!

You're welcome! I have yet to use it but it will be part of my summer travels.

Where are you touring? :)

I want to do a ride around most of Lake Erie this summer. I might do the GAP - C&O Trail again as part of a bigger ride south. I might ride from Buffalo to NYC. I have the whole summer off because I quit my job. How far I go really depends on getting a dog sitter or seeing how far my dog can take riding in a trailer.

All three options seem really interesting :) Nice distance too.

I must say that you live in an amazing area. I am now doing a research about five Great Lakes :)

PS. Have you considered sending your dog to a dog hotel?

Hey, @piotry42 your cycling travel is amazing..thanks for share...

Glad you liked it :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by piotr42 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69672.37
ETH 3356.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74