Tales of a cyclist: Part 6 - The Flintstone race

in #cycling7 years ago

Cycling

It was a chilly Tuesday morning in March, the sun was still yet to rise but I could see a glimmer of light in the distance. The ride to work was mostly uneventful except for the discovery of some movement in my pedals. I was immediately able to diagnose the issue, I had seen it many times before. My bottom bracket was knackered. It had been the only piece that I was yet to replace after the squeaking saga.

I knew that I could cycle it home but probably shouldn't go any further for risk of damaging the crank set. So I made preparations to get it fixed that evening.

Just so you know, I am completely lost without my bike, so when something breaks I have to get it fixed post-haste otherwise I am relegated to becoming a 'bus wanker'.

Bus Wankers

Now because I don't get home till around 5 and I obviously didn't have the part, the only place that was still open that could fix it was Halfords. This would not have been my first choice but needs must. I perused their wares whilst they tinkered with my bike, eventually they managed to swap out the offending part. I settled up and went on my merry way.

The next morning I felt elated, I had been truly blessed by the Gods. After all this time I had been freed from the prison that the eternal infernal squeak had incarcerated me in. I would never say another bad word about Halfords again, they were my saviours...well until that evening.

Carlton Dancing

My ride home started delightfully, the sun was setting behind me casting a beautiful red hue across the vast expanse of sky. The lights ahead turned red, I filtered between the two lanes of cars and came to a stop in the cycle box. Suddenly another cyclist, a person in his mid forties carrying a little extra weight, on what looked to be an oversized brompton, stopped directly in front of me. How dare he! Did he think he was faster than me, did he not realise that this was completely against cycling etiquette, did he have no respect for the code? Alright pal, it's on!

Sunset cycle

The dude shot off like a rocket. How was this even possible? He was using an old granny bike. He made it look effortless, his legs barely moving. I fought back, upping my cadence, struggling to keep up.

As we approached the uphill section of my commute I knew that this was my chance, my bike was lighter and I was younger and fitter. I kicked harder edging ever closer, as I approached his back wheel I pulled out to overtake. That is when I noticed it, the unmistakable whizzing sound of an electric motor. I breathed a huge sigh of relief, thank god, he wasn't better he was just cheating.

However it appears that he was no longer an unwitting contestant in my imaginary race, he had progressed to full blown participant and was not going to take this laying down. He pushed the electric bike equivalent of NOS and sped up. At this point I should have conceded but I just couldn't force myself to, after all he had broken the rules.

NOS

We jockeyed for position like this for the next mile, until the inevitable happened. My smooth cyclical stroke action turned into what I can only describe as a horrendous janky motion. I looked down toward my feet and noticed my left crank arm had made its way loose and was now teetering on the edge of complete dismemberment. I was going so fast that the forward momentum of my right leg produced one last turn of the pedals, the crank flew off and landed with a crash. Both feet astride the bike I was now Flintstoning down the road.

Flinstones

Now I wish I could say that I won the race like this but that would be a blatant lie. What I can say is that the dude was a poor winner, he zoomed off down the road laughing and shouting "See you later sucker" at the top of his voice.

That night a few choice words were said about the service I had received from Halfords, mainly regarding the inept mechanics who had failed to test that the bolts were tightened sufficiently. In hindsight I should have known and checked it all myself.

Sort:  

😂😂🤣 you're writing is just the best @munchell. Every time I read one of your posts everyone around me has a curious look on their faces thinking "what the hell is so funny?!".

And yes the bastards on electric bikes not only cheat but also do it with a smug smile on their faces! Instead of just lower their heads and pass quietly (in shame that they are cheating), they actually look you in the face and smile as if to say "you're the idiot for peddaling without a motor" - totally unacceptable behaviour!!! 😡

@fitnessgirl thank you I am glad you enjoyed it. Makes it all the more worth it, especially when you have to write it twice because you accidentally delete the first copy.

I have nothing against electric bikes in fact I would love to have a shot just to see how fast I could go on one. But unless I start commuting 50 miles a day then I don't think they are worth the money.

But you are right they seem to always have a snug expression on their faces. Probably just smiling at the fact that I am sweating my ass off going up a climb whereas they aren't even pedalling.

Reminds me of my friends dad who had some work done on his bike and then last weekend had his crank arm come clean off 20 miles into a 70 mile sportive

Ouch that has to hurt. The trouble is that whenever it has happened to me I have lost the preload cap too which meant I couldn't even fix it properly on the side of the road.

The mechanics didn't even fit the cap in the first place which is why it happened!

Wow that is really incompetent, how an earth can they even call themselves mechanics.

love the formatting of your post :) Great gifs!

Cheers @alainite I love GIFs I think they add a little extra to the post.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by munchell from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

wow! Great post

Oh wow thank you. Glad you liked it. I really appreciate it when folk take the time to comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63179.13
ETH 2573.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72