Cycling with siblings

in #cycling6 years ago (edited)


Here's a quick post to to kick off the weekend. I don't go cycling often, in fact the last time I went was in this photo, Christmas before last. For me cycling is something I did, not very often, when I was a kid. After I passed my teenage years, I can probably count the number times I got onto a bike with just one hand.


This particular occassion was quite memorable for me. It was the Christmas of 2016, the first year I had moved to Taiwan from UK. Three of my siblings and their partner come over to visit, and together the 9 of us (one kid tagged along) embarked on a round the island trip in Taiwan. Facing the pacific ocean, the east coast is the most beautiful part of Taiwan and one of the places we visited was Sanxiantai in Taitung. This is one of the most popular tourist location in Taiwan, famous for the pebble beach and the eight arch bridge.


The bridge and the pacific ocean is a great backdrop for photos (this isn't a great one but I couldn't find a better one), but you can sort of get an idea of the type of spectacular photos you can take here.


Anyway, back to the cycling. On this evening we continued our road trip up north, moving to the next county Hualien, another beautiful part of Taiwan and stayed at a local hotel which came complete with a private spa in our room. Spas are very popular in this part of the country. Refreshed and recharged the next morning, we still had about half an hour before we were due to leave. The hotel had some bikes for guests, so my sister, brother, sister in law and I went for a morning ride. This is the country side and there's hardly any traffic around. None of us had cycled for years, and we had a great time zooming along the road, not caring about any cars that came along, not that any did anyway. I can't actually remember ever cycling like this with my siblings, and having such a great time. And I'm so glad that we still managed to do this at our age. Great memories!


All photos are my own apart from the group photo, credit to my sister in law

Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://livinguktaiwan.com/cycling-with-siblings/

Check out all my travel posts here on Steemit Worldmap, and also my latest project @LadiesOfAsia where we share fun and cultural diversity across Asia Pacific.

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your high quality-travel content caught our attention and has earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content. Thank you for using #travelfeed

004Artboard_2 (1).jpg

Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=livinguktaiwan
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=cyclingwithsiblings-6dvmy9emj7


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Nice photos. I love that eight-arch bridge! And I love cycling. You can do it at any age :)

Thanks, I really should do it more, but its a bit difficult with the traffic here, as its so dangerous, need to get outside of the city.

That looks a lot of fun. Cycling is relaxing, lovely way to create bonds. Beautiful family you have :)
Blessings!

It was unexpectedly fun, getting on a bike after so many years, I remember it felt really fun! Thanks Sheryl!

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable mentions list in today's Travel Digest #312. Please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider

Hi @livinguktaiwan!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation! Your UA account score is currently 4.128 which ranks you at #2931 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 9 places in the last three days (Your UA has decreased by 0.000).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 161 contributions, your post is ranked at #56.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52