The Cycling Sessions part 1 : Lucerne to Kussnacht

in #cycling6 years ago

Today I went for an impulsive bike ride in the mountains. Well, actually I can better say hills, because the lake here is surrounded by mountains, and these were more of the smaller versions of that. In super flat Holland we would call them mountains, in this region they are like speed bumps ;)


Screenshot_20180715-123220_Gallery.jpg





If I would be making gigantic bike tours, I would have made every rookie mistake there is.

Because I decided to go out late in the afternoon, I was carrying only a liter of water some nuts, half a bread and a beer. Not exactly your survival style food, but for this kind of cycling this was not necessary.

Also I wasn’t really prepared on the distances, I was more like an observational tour. And for this behalf that was perfectly fine. See what is cool here in Switzerland, is that you are allowed in the train and in the bus with your bike. That really does make your choices a lot easier, because IF you are too far and your get tired or whatever you just go over to public transportation.

That is not the deal if you are in the far, far mountains of course, but in the city region this works perfect. So that was my reasoning also a bit for not preparing anything and just seeing how far I would reach.

Screenshot_20180715-123118_Gallery.jpg

Some art in Lucerne in the park





Screenshot_20180715-123321_Gallery.jpg

More art in Kussnacht





Now I know you all find me a pussy

But I have an E-bike. Yes, one of those battery things that make your life easy. And I can tell you I was more than happy with it today. So in general I am biking with the battery not activated or in the lowest mode. But when I have to go uphill I crank it up a bit, and all of a sudden uphill is not such a disaster anymore. Yes, you still have to have those legs rolling, and especially uphill you feel that you are being helped but you still have to do it by yourself.

What route did I take?

Screenshot_20180714-202448_Maps.jpg

It was not exactly this, but at least you have an idea of the lap


I followed the North coastline of the Vierwaldstattersee, that is the lake where Lucerne or Luzern is also based at. Going past Meggen I ended up in Kussnacht. This is an idyllic small town in the corner of the lake as well. I saw some nice boat rental thingies and chill spots so I relaxed a bit deciding on what to do next. Either I could go way further and take a train back, or I could cycle back. Also there in where choices: going back the same way or going more into the land. I decided to head home but take the new route.

And here is where the love for an E-bike comes in. Because the road was steep up! And google maps doesn’t tell you that. Yes there are apps and mapps that DO tell you that, but I didn’t check those. I just went.

So this ended up being a super nice route home between the fruit fields, and small villages and if I had taken this one with a normal bike without a battery I really would have died along the way, hahaa. So hurray for batteries!

Screenshot_20180715-123242_Gallery.jpg

Pears on the trees!! In a couple weeks ready to pluck





I really liked this bike trip

Screenshot_20180715-123255_Gallery.jpg

A totally different scenery in the hills, the wind was different as well



Back in the days in Holland I would have a tremendous hatred for cycling, because it was always against the wind and in rain. But actually when the weather is nice and you have a battery as a back-up for when the going gets tough, it is really a nice thing to do as an activity.

Next time, the south side of the lake!








Since I have this E-bike now, I will be writing more about my cycling journeys. That is why this blog is called part 1. More will follow!





Proud member of the SMG. Do you want to apply as well? Give it a shot on Discord or follow the SMG curation trail

Interested in Passive income? Try Swiftcoin and Mannabase
Did you have the Steemit Airdrop of Gbyte already?Hit me up after downloading the wallet
and I will send you the starter fee
Sort:  

Congratulations! Your high quality cycling content caught our attention and earned you a reward, in form of an upvote and resteem. Keep the pedals spinning, fellow cyclist. Your article now has a chance to get curated and featured under the weekly round-up of our Cyclefeed blog. We'd like to present you our curation tag #cyclefeed



Learn more about our cycling project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Awesome photos! I'm looking forward to seeing more travels with your new ebike!

Ow you will for sure! This whole country is screaming to cycle it!

(really glad with the battery though, these mountains are no joke!)

Thanks for getting these major votes done! <3

Nice bike! Beautiful scenery along the way!

Yesssss, my new scenery! Something else than palmtrees and azurblue seas but this isnt too bad as well!

Hi there! I just upvoted you, I am a semibot that sometimes vote on great content or sometimes just Create useful content. I am helping @cheetah , @FollowForUpvotes , @minnowSupport , @steemgigs , @dropahead #bots and other users right now for making the steem more helpful to new users. Contact me if you want me to follow on your content or comments. If you have any query then please contact me. You can always send me SP or SBD so i can keep helping you indirectly by helping these awesome bots.



Do not forget to Follow @jeevanot, I actually create content as HUMAN. />

I don't think I've ever cycled even close to that long or far, I'm terrified of traffic, but if I got to see these things I'd give it a try for sure:)

Thats the nice thing! The roads a calm and the environment is also that.

And having the E-bike makes it way less hard, because normally I would not like climbing mountains to be honest hahaha

Somtimes the unexpected trips can be the most exciting. It looks like you had a wonderful tour. The pictures tell the story. Thanks for sharing.

I enjoyed sharing it, and expect more of where this came from!

I totally agree with the unexpected aspect, that is actually what I like doing most. Not having a plan, and see where I will end up (this does not always end up right I had to admit hahahahha)

i think this might be the first time i see that

Interesting and lovely ride trought the mountains!! you are in a really beautiful place!

How pears grow on trees?? :D

And in a couple of weeks it is soooo nice, you can just pluck them out of the trees and eat the instantly! (dont piss off the farmers though hahaha)

Yeah, this region really is the bomb!

@karinxxl, Switzerland is my dream. I would like to live there and ride a bike everywhere. The cool climate is better for me than in Italy.

Yeah those couple degrees make a huge difference!
Moving to Switzerland is not an option for you then?

I will go to Lugano and Locarno in September. I'll see how life and climate there, the price of renting apartments. And next year I may decide to move.

Ahhhhh what a beautiful surrounding it is there!

Dont be discouraged by the prices of houses there, bbecause I can already tell you that they are high. Very high.
But swiss salaries are according to those norms so they also way higher!

Good look with deciding!

thanks for your comment. do you want to have byteball wallet and cryptmoney byteball? free

have it already but thank you ;)

very nice! good luck!

What a lovely ride. It almost - almost - makes me want to go cycling. Almost.

:D hahahahaha
I totally get ya. If you ever have the chance, make a test ride on a E-bike, then you will see why I all of a sudden like biking!

Ha yeah that'd be better!!!!

@karinxxl The last time I cycled was in 1980, as I had a serious motorbike accident which left my one leg shorter than the other! But your great post certainly evokes a longing in me to hit the road again. Great post indeed and upvoted! Blessings!

Ahhh, I am sorry to hear that!

Then using the pedals would make you sit not straight on the saddle I suppose right?

I think using a scooter would also be nice for these roads, also an electric one so the sounds is not that loud would be perfect. You just see so much more of the scenery compared to driving a car

@karinxxl You are right of course and I have never considered a scooter as an idea! Although I can walk fairly long distances in nature and this is a great help with my photography! Thank you for the kind reply!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62852.17
ETH 2463.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64