Building a Bamboo Bike - Part One: The Frame

in #cyclefeed5 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Building a Bamboo Bike - Part One: The Frame


Since the Steem blockchain became a centralized, top-down dominated place, where control and censorship thrive, I have decided to move my content. Don't worry, though, all my posts and up and doing well on the decentralized Hive blockchain. Come and check it out!

Sort:  

Amazing I love this, I want one haha 💯🐒

Sure, do you want me to make one for you?

Would consider it but what would the cost be then postage to UK would crank it up considerably 😬 💯🐒

Let me find out...!

...and I did! Using the shipping calculator on the BambooCycles website, I found out that shipping to London would be between $100 and $225 USD (roughly 80 - 180 GBP), depending if you want just the frame or an actual bike. In my case I really would like to build a fork and handlebar out of bamboo too, so that would put the price somewhere between the two, provided you don't want wheels and other components. Also, please keep in mind, these are the prices for London. The more remote your address, the more it will cost to ship there.

Hey @vibeof100monkeys, I got all the bamboo parts finished. Are you still interested in it? Check out this post with my offer: https://steempeak.com/@stortebeker/a-bamboo-bike-for-cryptos 0.1 BTC including shipping!

So do I! The funny thing is, though, ever since I started paying attention to bamboo bike frames, they keep appearing everywhere!

Being bamboo, you might say it is a grass roots movement.

I am sure there is a slogan in that

Awesome! Haven't even thought of that! :-)

This is super awesome. I've been wanting to build my own bike from scratch for a while but i'd more likely start with an old reynolds frame.

Did you see Sean Conway doing his cycling challenges on a bamboo bike. they were pretty cool.

Thanks for your comment. This calls for a !BEER
And I agree: it's best to start out simple. My first bike was also a regular steel frame (a Kona Hahana from 1993 to be exact), where the objective was to build a solid touring bike out of recycled parts. It turned out to be a super sweet ride, which is still waiting for me in L.A. to complete... or better continue the trip.
As for Sean Conaway, I have to admit I'm really bad at celebrities, even the cool ones. I recognize the name, but that's about it. I don't think I've seen anything with him in it, but then again, I may have without realizing it.



Hey @markangeltrueman, here is a little bit of BEER for you. Enjoy it!

Thank you very much!

Hoo-Lee-Cheese! Just the other day I was talking to a friend about the bamboo frames and now seeing your tutorial I really want to try it out - I don't think it would be difficult to find the materials in Brazil.

Well, they say that the best bamboo comes form Vietnam and Mexico, but not because it's endemic there (okay, Vietnam maybe) but because it's grown in huge quantities. Still, it would really surprise me if other countries with similar conditions (Thailand, or Colombia, or China, or Brazil) didn't have the right type of bamboo for a bicycle. Look around, and I'd be excited to read what you've found.

Thank you so much for all your praises! :-) It really makes me super happy each time I see such a comment.

what! this is so so cool! how awesome that your guest inspired you to check it out- and 5 min from your house! i'll have to book mark this for future reference.

Yes, please do! It's a really amazing little shop, and apparently there are not too many of them around.
And bamboo is a wonderful building material, it's just that Western culture is not very used to applying it. But if you can build multi-story buildings with it, it should make a super strong bike frame - and it does.
Do you think the climate on your lad would support bamboo? Or do you rather not introduce non-native species?

that's so cool! how lucky it's 5 min from you. we do have a native bamboo species - native to north america. we call it river cane. but it splits and i noticed you used a non-splitting variety. not opposed to introducing bamboo- it's such a useful species! we have a friend who grows it about a half an hour from here. she's 70 now and her bamboo must be at least 30 years old- some of it is taller than her two storey house. definitely intrigued!

I was actually pretty surprised myself to learn that there are non-splitting varieties of bamboo. But even the splitting ones are so versatile and can be used for so many things, from art to household items, furniture... even construction. I don't know how strong river cane is, but it sounds like your friend has some huge types.

Can we find the frame already buylded for sale?

Well, BambooCycles has all kinds of frames as well as bikes they sell world wide. But if you're interested in buying MY frame, I'd feel honored! Though first I wouldn't mind adding a fork and an handlebar (both out of bamboo), if not the wheels and everything else. Where abouts in the world do you live? Just so to get an idea about shipping fees. I already told @vibeof100monkeys I'd find out about how much it would be to ship it to the UK.

For me it doesn't matter from where I buy it as long it is strong and you could rely on it.I like ideea because bamboo frame is wery light.
What price,shoud I expect?
Shiping in Romania.

Well, I'd say somewhere between €500 and €750, depending on if you just want the frame, (plus headset, fork, stem, handlebar, and grips), or an actual bike with a pair of wheels and the rest of the components. Shipping is on top of that, which I still have to look into how much it is. But now that there's two of you, I'll do it this week.

Okay, I did it! I didn't have to go too far, I just used the shipping calculator on the website of BambooCycles. Unfortunately it couldn't give me a fee for Bucatesti, or anywhere else in Romania for that matter. So I'm going to have to contact UPS (and possibly other courier services) for that. However, as you can see in the other thread, to ship it to London would be between $100 and $225 USD, depending if you want just the frame or the whole bike. I'll let you know once I've gotten a price estimate.

Hey @dromihete, I got all the bamboo parts finished. Are you still interested in it? Check out this post with my offer: https://steempeak.com/@stortebeker/a-bamboo-bike-for-cryptos 0.1 BTC including shipping!

hy man.onnestly I didn t expect at this price...for moment I must ways until better times will come.
Hope you understand.Thanks.

Sure, no worries. Though I'd be interested in the price you would expect for a bamboo frame set.

Congratulations @stortebeker! Your post was featured on our daily build newsletter! We set you as a %15 beneficiary of our newsletter rewards. You can see your post on our instagram Facebook and Twitter pages.

Keep sharing your awesome DIY and How-to tutorials together with the recommended tags #diy, #build-it, #how-to, #doityourself, #build as well as posting from our website

Cheers!

Wonderful!
Thank you.

Congratulations @stortebeker! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 350 posts. Your next target is to reach 400 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest Meet The Stemians Contest - The mysterious rule revealed
SteemFest⁴ - Meet the Steemians Contest
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63179.13
ETH 2573.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72