CURIOUS FACTS CONTEST #7 - Did you know kissing saves lives? 💋

in #curiousfacts6 years ago
Another week had passed and the time for some FACTS has come again. Sit back and relax, this one is as fun as it is interesting and educational. In today's facts, you will get some information about kissing that I am pretty sure you did not know. Some of this stuff will come as a surprise to you but I have a feeling that all of it will bring a smile to your face. For I wouldn't be a happy fairy if my post doesn't bring a smile, would I? ;)

Kissing will make you HEALTHIER

Yes, happier of course, but you did read that title just fine, it does say healthier. Kissing reduces blood pressure, fights cavities, burns calories and even helps with pains. How often have you used or heard that old line _"Not now, I have a headache."_ Replace the _"not"_ and you have a better sentence:

_"Kiss me now, I have a headache."_

Kissing makes men live LONGER

According to businessinsider.com (https://www.businessinsider.com) men who get kissed by their wives in the morning live 5 years longer than those who don't get a kiss. I am curious... And what about those wives? Are we living longer too? I will go ahead and suppose that we do too and use this as my new favourite excuse for getting a kiss.

"Kiss me honey, I want to have a long life!"

Most people tilt their head to the right

Onur Güntürkün, a German researcher, and a psychology professor at the Ruhr-University of Bochum in Germany had a little project. He studied 224 couples (ages 13 to 70) kissing and found that most of us tilt to the right which is something we learned in the womb.

> "The right-tilting preference is likely the ancestor of a predilection born in the womb. During the final weeks of gestation and for the first six months after birth, babies develop one of the earliest examples of "behavioural asymmetry" – turning their heads to the left or the right." Onur Güntürkün

"Watch out for my nose darling, go right."

In need of a facial workout? Kiss!

So we covered the German scientist, let's see what British researchers have to say on this. Professor Gus McGrouther from the Rayne Institute in University College, London and his colleagues observed couples under an MRI scanner and found out that we use 146 muscles, 34 facial and 112 postural.

"Lets work out together! No, no, you don't need a gym sweetie..."


So there you go my lovely readers, now you have more information about kissing. If you want to know even more, kindly visit the following links:

Sealed with 146 muscles
Study: couples love kissing right
Health benefits of kissing
15 crazy facts about kissing


All of the used images are under CC0 License and are free for personal and commercial use. You can find them at pexels.com

This post is my entry for curious facts contest. The contest is held by @river-island and the point is to build a stronger community connections by presenting some valuable information to each other. If you have some interesting facts to share, visit curious-facts-contest-7 and share your information, and even if you don't want to participate in sharing, visit it anyway and learn some interesting stuff :)

You can find my previous curious facts posts here:

Curious things about snow
There is nothing around you and you are levitating right now
Seven things you didn't know about blood donation
Everything you didn't know about ice cream

image.png

Sort:  

Yaaas! Facts! I love that banner!

@alktoni quickly read this! ;)

I hope it helps you get more kisses ;)

I think we will live forever.

Haha that's so much fun! I think @freedompoint and I will also be living a long life! 😉

A long and happy life indeed, just keep kissing 💚

Thank you for participating in Curious Facts Contest #7

😘😘😘

Resteemd and Upvoted!

💚💚💚

Ah i cant wait to have someone to kiss if i have to go to the gym

Good luck with that, hope you do 💚

Haha i will definaitely tell you first

OOH I'm gonna die soon xD I always wondered about tilting my head to the right side and why is that...
Anyway cool facts! <3

Ahahaha, don't say that! Find a girl/boy and start kissing like your life depends on it :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 59269.62
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41