Curie Logo Design Entry: The Beluga Whale

in #curielogo6 years ago (edited)

My entry to the Curie logo design contest comes with a story…

beluga curie logo

I love beluga whales.


Many years ago, I shared a beautiful stretch of time with beluga whales in an aquarium. I think it was the Vancouver Aquarium… I’ve visted a lot of aquariums, and they’ve run together at this point, but I remember the experience so clearly.

I stood in front of the large tank where the beluga whales lived, and watched the two of them swim. I might have stood there for a half hour or longer. The belugas saw me. They acknowledged my presence many times, making eye contact as they swam by. I actually sang to them, if I recall correctly.

When you spend that kind of time with an animal (or an ocean, or a tree), you can attune to their vibration. These beluga whales had the most peaceful, loving energy. I literally fell in love with them, and the way they moved so gracefully through the water.

These animals seem so kind, so friendly, so willing to connect. And so, as I was brainstorming what kind of whale the Curie team would be, I chose the beluga.

As I looked through photos to get ideas for this design, I saw a photo of a child swimming with one of these whales, and of many other humans interacting in the water with them in different circumstances, all of them with wonder and love in their expressions. That solidified my personal experience with belugas.

I love these whales!


The Design


I went to art school and have a BFA in Multimedia Design, but I haven’t designed a logo in many years. I don’t even have any of the old programs I used to use.

But I wanted to do an entry for this contest, so I looked up opensource design software, downloaded Gravit Designer, and found it intuitive enough to make this logo in a matter of… okay, it took hours, but still. I’m pretty happy with the result, given how long it’s been since I’ve tried my hand at vector design.

I will say that I had a look at the entries this morning, and I like the one by @alenthin best, as a designer. It's clean, colourful, and professional.

I tried to keep this design clean, but I couldn’t help make it a bit cute as well.

Here are the three designs I liked best, in addition to the one at the top of this post.

curielogo-katrina-ariel.jpg

Here are a couple of screenshots of the process. You know it’s real ‘cause I have a gazillion Steemit tabs open in Chrome. Lol!

screenshot

screenshot


Please Support My Entry 💖


logo

If you like this design and want to support me in the contest, please go upvote my comment (which is also my entry) on the @curie post.

Even a 1% upvote is fine. Number of votes count more than the comment’s earnings.

Thank you so much for reading, and for clicking this link to upvote my entry. Your support is so appreciated!

💖


Take care of yourself. You are a gift!

Peace. @katrina-ariel

Katrina Ariel

#teamcanada #steemusa #steemsugars #thealliance


the alliance

steemusa

#steemusa and #thealliance banners by @bearone

Sort:  

wow, its looking awesome , one suggestion can make the whale with some other bright color if possible... ;-)

@adityajainxds #thealliance

That is a FANTASTIC suggestion! New post coming. Thank you for the motivation to do that! I'd thought of it, but didn't play around with colours until you reminded me. Wonderful!

Nice story about the beluga whale. Incidentally Vancouver aquarium was the first place I saw a beluga whale or even heard of the animal. I remember them being graceful

Thank you! Yes, they are so graceful. The Vancouver Aquarium is such a nice one! :)

I love beluga whales! Wishing you the best luck. I upvoted your entry ;)

Thank you so much! I really appreciate it. Beluga whales are so amazing. :)

Super cute little baby whale, I'd been happy just being a glint in a whales eye. Lovely designs will upvote your entry now.
c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance

Aw, sweet. A glint in a whale's eye. :) I love it! Thank you for your support!

upvoted your entry! 😊 Go, go, go!!

Thank you so much!!! 💖

Thank you
I love design and follow you and upvote

Thanks so much for the support! :)

These are cute. Best of luck.

Nice! Looking real good IMO. Ya got my vote... Good Luck! :-D Have a great evening.

Thank you so much for your upvote and comment, @inthenow! If you are also able to upvote the entry on the curie post, that one counts towards me winning. I know it's a little confusing. I'll drop the direct link to my comment here (just give it a sec to load). Huge gratitude for your support! :)

Click to go directly to my comment, which is my entry for the contest. 😊

Done. ;-)

Yay! Thank you! 💖

good concept whale is a powerful symbol. i like it. :)

That's way too much steemit tabs😁😁
Best of luck..going there now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54441.42
ETH 2433.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.14