What Is Your Relationship With Your Family? My Children And I Are Buddies

in #curie7 years ago

26001111_1257813390987018_3650609064131878435_n.jpg

My family

Family relationship can be very complicated. Children can be very stubborn and difficult. A parent may decide to spend most of their time away from home to avoid confrontation. Fathers will prefer drinking sprees with friends into the wee hours that they rarely meet their family members. Women too will spend time in wonen groups or societies rather than be home.

The cat-rat game has been perfected in away resembling to the sun-moon relationship where they meet occasionally during eclipses. Such occasions when they meet, are so rare that there is complete uneasness.

Fathers in the African setting normally take the growling type of stance. When they arrive in the home, everybody knows the man of the house has arrived. It is as if a lion has entered an area infested by antelopes. They all scatter in all directions. It is a case of survival for the fittest. If you were unlucky to be caught, then you were beaten to pulp. It is the butt that suffered most. Mothers were not spared of the wrath. Yhe drunk man was so fierce that even neighbors feared the worst.

26055818_1257818564319834_2169940972202584572_n.jpg

My family

Traditional mothers also did not have the power to discipline their children. They often threatened to report sturbbon children to their fathers. The children therefore never feared nor respected their mothers.

My family however is brought up in a christian setting. We changed completely the threatening and quarreling type of discipline. Dialogue was embraced in my family. We talked over issues like pals. Both parents were always available in the home.

24294267_1233611326740558_7952281927708933785_n.jpg

Own image

We developed such an approach because we wanted to develope children who valued themselves as individuals. They were to grow with self disciplined rather than forced discipline. Our children were free to make decisions in the home. Often they told us their problems before going to any other person. We are buddies. Our love lives forever. They are very disciplined God-fearing individuals.

27292841_1751070308299686_155081346_n.jpg

Image by @iwrite

Special recognition
@antonette @purpledaisy @arcange @mustard @teardrops @hr1 @joshbresleuer

Sort:  

Beautiful and blessed family

Thanks very much @sirkim. Am honored

What a beautiful family you got there. Keep up.
A funny story. My cousins never understood how we could be friends and spend time with our father watching television. Their father was so scary he called himself simba wa nyumba. They ran to their rooms whenever he arrived, at times shaking. One time I visited them, I refused to leave the TV room. When he met me there he looked at me like a defiant kid. Told me to run. I never went back.

Oh! That was such a tough experience. I wonder why they take such a stance

You have such a lovely family. It is so nice to see the happiness & closeness.

I am yet to experience that. Because I don't have any kid yet.

So this post is a help to you my friend

Thanks for posting this! It is really interesting to read and learn about life in Africa for somebody like me living in Europe! It's this kind of things you don't learn from watching the news!

You are right my friend

Aww, that's so lovely. Family is everything. Sometimes they fight, but they always find their way back to love.

My family mean the world to me, I know I can count on them, we really depend on each other more so because we are orphans

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58607.22
ETH 2616.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43