Curie | Who We Are

in #curie5 years ago (edited)


What is @Curie

Curie is a manual community curation initiative made up of a diverse group of individuals from all over the world. They are dedicated to improving the platform through uplifting under rewarded authors that are adding value through their exceptional content. As well as direct curation, community building support, and further development.

Curie’s main goals:

  • To discover and reward undiscovered but exceptional content by persistent creators with limited success.
  • To empower quality curators.
  • To develop a curation community on Steem.
  • To build communities.
  • To serve as a community witness.

All of this with an absolute commitment to meritocracy and transparency with an aspiration towards zero corruption.

What does Curie do with the Steem it earns?

Curie is non profit, and always has been. It is not focused on growing its own account and all additional funds (after expenses) are put back into the platform through either community support, community building or development of helpful tools etc. (https://steemlookup.com/#/ is the free Curie made search engine development for the blockchain and https://www.becquerel.io our Curie developed and open source submission platform). 100% of Curie's profits are distributed back to the community, always has.. always will be.

Curie’s ownership and governance is decentralized, as expected of a community project. Curie earns revenues largely from curation rewards, with author rewards, witness rewards and donations accounting from trace amounts. 100% of all revenues are distributed back to Curie’s contributors.

Curie will be around as long as it’s needed and has the support to continue. Every individual involved is passionate about what they do, and will fight to continue to support authors as long as they can.

More information can be found in the Curie Whitepaper


Who is behind the curation?

The current active list of curators can be found in Curie’s weekly update published each Sunday, and are archived in the Curie Discord Servers announcements channel.

Curators are required to achieve very high acceptance rates (% of posts submitted that are approved), because each rejection actually costs the project money. This waste of resources directly effects the authors the project is dedicated to supporting, due to this, standards are kept high to limit waste as much as possible. So, while anyone can be a curator, there is a bit of training involved.

Curators with sustained high curation scores over six months are promoted to being Reviewers, as per demand. Through excellent quality curation, anyone can be a top curator, and anyone can be a reviewer. All thresholds are predetermined, so there’s a great degree of objectivity and meritocracy.


Curators, by nature, like to stay behind the scenes. They want to make sure the focus is on the author and not themselves, which is the way it should be. Because of this though, many aren't sure who these people are "behind" @curie. Who is running it? Is it one person or many?

We figured it was about time to introduce ourselves, to show some of the passionate individuals from all walks of life that come to make up the @curie initiative.


Curie_Logo_with_Curie_text_2000px.png


Meet The Team



"I arrived to Steemit in September 2016 with no previous experience in blockchain technology. I was finding myself for a few years before that, with background in programming, but not really enjoying the idea of office job. Steemit as a platform where you can share your thoughts, engage with others and be rewarded presented itself as a potential solution. Shortly after my arrival I joined project Curie recognizing immediately we share the same values. I enjoy discovering and rewarding quality content and helping authors grow and reach their audience. Now I'm a reviewer and in front of general curation. In over two years since joining, I was on Steemit every single day. It helped me discover my true passion for photography and build my life around it, so I can practice it regularly. Potential of the platform is limitless. But it needs quality curation to succeed." - @alcibiades (Head of General Curation/Reviewer/Admin)




"I came to steemit in November 2016 after hearing a lot about it from my brother. I work as a business development manager for a construction company, and steemit gave me the opportunity to work on my hobbies and meet a lot of interesting people. Even though I don't post often I'm always present behind the scenes, curating quality content. I joined project Curie shortly after arriving on the platform and have submitted over 350 posts, reviewed and manually curated many more." - @teofilex11 (Reviewer/Admin)






"Hi! My name is Milos and I am a 24-year-old student of History. I am primarily interested in books, technology, football and photography. I discovered Steemit in July 2017 and joined Curie shortly after that. Today, I am a reviewer with more than 1000 reviewed and submitted posts."- @milosm2302 (Reviewer/Admin)






"I joined steemit in late June 2017 after reading about it in a blog post I stumbled on coincidentally, it was my first dive into the crypto space. I'm a Computer Science grad currently venturing into becoming a Software Developer ( I could say I'm a Junior developer already), I specialize in Laravel(php) and Vue(Javascript ). I'm not much of a great writer per say, started out as every other person does until I discovered curie and figured I could spend my time curating more than write. I turned out to be good at it and I have been with curie ever since :), I have submitted over 100 posts and manually curated some for the Nigerian Community." - @thatdamiguy (Long Term Top Curator)




"If I told you that you can pay off your wedding using crypto and helping others, would you believe me? I wouldn't believe it a year ago. In August of 2017 as a law graduate I had some difficulty finding a job, any job. So I decided to put my knowledge to good use and share my thoughts on steemit.com It took me a while to find my niche and the only thing that kept me on the platform was the occasional reward from some user named Curie. It got me interested and I had to find out "who" Curie was. To my surprise it wasn't one person at all, rather a community of people working hard to make a difference. I was lucky enough to be mentored by one of the best curators there and it made all the difference in the world. By the end of the year I managed to get to the top of the curators list, help others and make some money too. Amazing, right?' - @tamacvet (Long Term Top Curator)




"Hello guys, I am mervin-gil. And yeah, that's my actual name. I am a student of electrical engineering. I am a lover of science and programming. I also love to write on this platform, which has given me the opportunity of showing my skills as a writer, and I got surprised by the fact I could actually write good stories and reviews. I became aware of that when curie came to my life for the very first time. Few days after this, somebody told me that this mentor was looking for people who was interested in becoming a curie curator, I found out it was Tamacvet, so I asked her if I could join her mentoring channel, and that was how my journey began. And well, since late September 2018 I have been curating all the posts I think are curie worthy." - @mervin-gil (Long Term Top Curator)




“This is hiddenblade. Not sure why she is showing herself here as she is supposed to be *hidden*. She joined the Curie weirdo family sometime on April - when a potato recommended her. She mostly curate the tags art, photography and travel cos she is too lazy to read. Spends most of her time stalking authors on Steemit, probably cos she has no life.” - @hiddenblade (Long Term Top Curator)








"I discovered curie in December 2017, and joined the ranks as curator in February 2018. I believe that curie is essential for discovering and empowering the new authors to take their first steps and continue to produce exceptional content." - @hidden84 (Long Term Top Curator)






"My name is Michael (aka Enjar) and I have been on Steem since June 2017. In 2018 I took over the operations of Archdruid Gaming where I worked my way up to become a curator for Curie. I have a great passion for gaming ever since I was a child when my family bought a Nintendo Entertainment System. My main curating efforts are gaming content since I have a lifetime of experience to draw from. I have played thousands of games in my lifetime. Everything from collectible card games to MMORPGs and so much more. Before Steem I have been involved in Esports, pre-alpha testing, game moderator , game development, and content creation." - @enjar (Curator)




Svemirac is a Ph.D. researcher and assistant professor at WSU, Australia. His main research is focused on galaxy formation in alternative universes and their dependency on dark matter to matter ratio. When I'm not doing science I love to do sports and have some leisure time in nature, especially rivers. On steem blockchain, I found my way to curie sometimes in March 2017, and after a month I gained top curator status. Apart from curie I am involved and regularly participating in few other community projects like crowdmind, teamserbia (I am operating witness that supports both of these projects - crowdwitness), steemSTEM and I am actively translating opensource projects for DaVinci translation projects -such as steeminvite for instant steem accounts made by Pharesim.@svemirac (Long Term Top Curator/Witness Operator)




"Hi, I am jhnmunoz. I'm a surgeon, although I mostly write about these stories that come to my head when inspired. I became interested in curie community thanks to one of my mentors, Tamacvet. She kindly introduced me to curie curation, and, since then, she has taught me a lot along with my other mentors Misterakpan, Milosm and Svemirac; I am really grateful for all I have learned from them these last months. I'm personally more into music-related and philosophy posts, but I also have curated a lot of fiction, art, homesteading, travel posts, etc; so I consider myself a pretty eclectic curator. I have put a lot of dedication to this and I really enjoy what I am currently doing here, this is a community that has made me see the curation from a completely different point of view." -@jhnmunoz (Long Term Top Curator)




"Before Steemit, I was already curating content for other platform. Mostly short film. When I join Steemit, I saw so many content. And I noticed some of the best content was hand picked by a community called Curie. I learn more about Curie, joined their discord server, to understand how this curation process works. Then, I joined their mentoring program under the hard mentorship of several Top curie curators. After months of rigorous training, I recommended to join the ship. I don't have any specific niche in curating, I just love to read good formatted post, and good edited video, especially from new user. Because they need to be found and encouraged." - @gibic (Long Term Top Curator)




"Lover of all things trivial. Author working on my third book (The Twilight Zone Trivia Book & Encyclopedia). Television Addict who watches more TV in a week than most people are awake. Frequently talk for hours to rabid horror movie fans at comic and horror conventions. Joined Steem in December 2017 and was discovered in a talent search soon after by everybody's favorite one-eyed bearded alien @carlgnash. He got me into Curie in February, 2018. After a while I got so wrapped up in curating that I stopped posting. Someday I hope to regularly post again! I am also a co-founder of @c-squared which is another great curation group here on the platform. Currently curating all over the place, and recently took on the role of Curie Treasurer. I also work with the writer's of Curie's twice weekly Author Showcase to bring even more attention to the great authors on the platform." - @randomwanderings (Long Term Top Curator/Treasurer)




"My name is Ana and I am a professor of Serbian language and literature. I love to write fiction and book and movie reviews, but I also have some science background (chemistry and pharmacology), so I also like to write about meds. I am part of the Curie from February 2018. I was recommended by laniakea1 and he was a really good mentor to me. I like to curate fiction posts and some interesting life stories, but I also love to see some nice artworks on our platform. I spend a couple of hours almost every day trying to find good and original content and I find it really interesting." - @anasav (Long Term Top Curator)




"I'm a medical student, and in a few months I'll finish my studies. I heard about Steemit from friends and decided to try it myself. I started this adventure in November 2017. This is the only place where I can write about things that I love, because I really have little time to spare besides studies. I love to read epic fantasy, and to write short stories, and I'm huge fan of everything that has link with epic fantasy. I entered Curie mentoring program in the middle of 2018 and after two months a became Curie Curator. Since than many great thins started to happening." - @stormlight24 (Curator)




"Hi I am rifkan. I am a student of astrophysics. So, I mostly write about astrophysics stuffs. But I love to cook as well, so you can find in my blog some recipe posts as well. I started my journey as a curator for curie from January 2018 and my mentor was laniakea1. I love to curate all source of stuffs, starting from travel post art, life stories, homesteading, music related posts. I spend a good amount of my everyday life on steemit by curating and I am proud to work for curie as a curator." - @rifkan (Long Term Top Curator)




"I am Adeyeye Daniel. A lover of anything that revolves around nature. My love for nature made me choose the path of organic farming with specialization in organic poultry. Joined steemit July 2017. Also, my love for nature made me joined curie as a curator as I wish to see undervalued photographers and artists get rewarded. Just enjoy expressing nature." -@tormiwah (Curator)




"Hi, I'm scrawly. I joined Steemit in April 2018 so I can share my drawings. I found out about curie a few months later and since I've been curating people manually through my meager upvotes, I thought I could support them better if I join the curie curation team. I applied and was accepted to a mentorship program. After months of rigorous training, great camaraderie, and plenty of jokes, I finally became a curie curator in September 2018. Happy end :)." - @scrawly (Long Term Top Curator)




"I am a spider who hails from Australia, the motherland of spiders, and I have been with curie since August 2018. I love supporting art and artists through curations, engagements, and quality control. I enjoy sketching and drawing illustrations, and I love video games, reading, superhero movies, and dogs." - @veryspider (Curator)




"I'm Franz, I joined steemit in January 2018 but never posted anything for about a month because I'm shy... and didn't know what to do! I learned about Curie in march that same year and started in the mentorship program right away, I've being working with them as a curator since April and I'm always on the hunt for great gaming, photography and art content, when I'm not hunting for exceptional posts I work as a film producer and writing funny post for the platform." - @elfranz (Curator)




"I am Ubokobong “misterakpan” Akpan, a Nigerian Photographer, filmmaker, and on and off writer. I try my hands out on a few businesses, especially, in the food industry. I am presently working on a startup. When I'm not doing any of those I'm teaching kids photography and volunteering for local non profit initiatives. I find time to whoop my 12 year old cousin on FIFA :)" - @misterakpan (Long Term Top Curator/Comments Contest)





Curie_Divider_upvote.png




@Curie Needs Your Support


Curie curation depends solely on the community's support and without that it cannot continue. Curie is a non profit group that relies on delegations as well as witness votes to continue with the mission of rewarding exceptional content. If you believe this is a mission you would like to support, please consider delegating or making us your witness.




If you would like to delegate to Curie you can do so by clicking on the following links:

50 SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Sort:  

ǝɹǝɥ sɐʍ ɹoʇɐɹnƆ pɐW ǝɥ┴

You project seems in my eyes extremely valuable and important to the future of this platform. For new members to thrive they need an idea of how to reach and engage with the existing community members. If they don't find access to this eco system 'relatively quick' these days they will lose patience and interest and leave without ever making a point nor leave any footprints. Everyone else will never know what they miss. I like that you put up this team to share the social component of this world. Love it! Hope you can create / keep an recognizable impact.

Posted using Partiko Android

Engagement is so key in trying lower the high turnover rate the platform has and for higher retention rate. I happen to see this a lot in the sub community I do most of my efforts from.

I’m often remain just how big and even confusing this platform is when someone is new. I was lucky when I started and had someone who on-boarded me and showed me the way. Many come to this platform not even know what a witness is let alone Steem. They were just looking for a place to create content on and earn a little.

Always a bit heartbreaking when I find amazing content and realize that person has more than likely already left. They never get to know how many amazing communities there are that make up this platform.

Yeah I can see that your contribution is essential guys. Myself I am still quite new on Steemit and yet I feel how you make a difference on a platform ruled by confusion. Keep it up!

I'm glad to see this introduction post about people who are included in the curie project. I've been curated by curie many times (which I am eternally grateful for) and I'm happy to finally learn about curators that I didn't know before. Of course I've come across all those names but it's nice to see some stories behind these accounts..

Amen to that @delishtreats! So good to see some faces behind this famous curie project! Curie did a lot for me (and a ton of other peiple), not only the curie strike overnight and make you feel like “wtf happened to my post all those votes!?” While waking up in the morning. But I also met people through the curation trail. For example @mrprofessor, still happy that I got to know the guy! Nowadays still enjoying the posts at the curation trail. So @curie team happy to see some faces, thanks for all the support and work you guys bring to the platform. Will resteem this post so more people will get to know the faces behind the name.

@smalltall you asked about curie, well here is your chance to say hi😉

Posted using Partiko iOS

An excellent project. Really, they have served as a stimulus to many users of the community.
In my case, when I received support from your team, I felt very compromised with the need to take my work to another level. Doing what I do better.
I would like to place on record my gratitude and testimony that you do a job that makes a difference to the members of the platform.

Doing what I do better.

I also felt inspired to want do better. It really made me feel like someone cared to look into the effort I put into the post. I also got a lot of amazing and thoughtful comments which really made it extra special. Showed me the power and heart of an amazing community.

Always great to hear from people who were inspired to want to do better and create amazing content.

Oh, my voyeuristic side finds its utmost satisfaction here!
Awesome article, resteemed. It's important to give a face(s) to one of the few witnesses gifting hope to undervalued redfish/minnows. Keep up the great work guys! - f3nix

Thank you for your support!

Yo @hiddenblade! You're welcome. Thanks for posting your fine art on steemit =)

There are so many amazing people within this community. Lots of passion and many late nights on the hunt for that hidden gem left on the blockchain. Cheers!

Honestly you guys are so freakin cool! I love how you find good content and send your army to upvote and spread good quality content! These are the kinda of things in the community that keep it wholesome haha. Keep up the good work.

voted for your witness :)

voted for your witness

Thank you for showing support for the project.

Hey! Glad to finally see your team!
Good work @curie !

Posted using Partiko iOS

I really like the work that the team performs @curie, congratulations!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63463.10
ETH 3243.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.45