Why I Never Became a Full Fledged "Wiseguy" "Goodfella" "Mafioso" or Whatever Else They're Called

in #curie6 years ago (edited)

Growing up around 'Wiseguys'  in a neighborhood of New York City where they lived, conjugated and operated on a fairly large scale, it isn't any wonder how I came to know and be known by many of them.

                         

Most of those associated with the various Families I knew, were pretty much "small fries" of sorts, and the truly connected in my day to day life, were merely soldiers...as most are. The upper tiered guys usually prefer a low profile (unless they are the John Gotti type) who will shake your hand and give you a smile, with some small talk, but not much more than that.

As an associate of the mob, "a friend" about the only time you'll ever be at an event a 'Boss' holds, like a birthday party, wedding etc., is through invite by a blood family member of theirs (son, daughter, wife, mother) Funerals were a little different...there, you can show up without invitation in a show of respect, and be welcomed unconditionally; especially with an envelope in hand (and there better be at least a few Benjamin's inside)

You see...it's all about the money...just like in Politics, Organised Religion and Corporations of every description.

'Power' of course plays into the mix, but is secondary to the goal in a sense. Power, offers control, which brings more money into the pockets of the controllers...Who was it that said, "Give me control of the money, and I care not who writes the law" (Old man Rothschild I think?)

Having enough money can be a wonderful thing in a world where we need it to function normally. It offers a bit more peace of mind to be able to pay the rent without worry about being kicked out for owing the landlord. To have more money than you need, is even better...right? But, what we have to do in order to get money and sustain in getting, is usually not very enjoyable.

I've developed a love/hate relationship with money over the years. I loved having it, and what I was able to use it for, but hated what I had to subject myself to, in getting it... 'SERVITUDE'

                         

Serving the 'Master' was never a particularly easy choice for me to make, being a more independent type of personality. Actually, there was never a time in my life when I opted to blindly 'follow' the orders of some self-anointed Master, that turned out well in the long term...It was always the same with the 'appointed' leaders, bosses, managers or whatever other titles they held.

Plainly...I am not the average 'sheep' I'm more like a Ram...poke me with that staff in your hand, and I'll probably charge you with my horns. Now, I can be coaxed to cooperate with another through rationalization, by choice...I'm willing to follow someone to greener pastures, as long as they know the way...and when we get there, you'd better not take more for yourself, than the rest of us are "allowed"

This attitude, is not very conduce in nature to pleasing the Mob Bosses...In the Mob, you do what you're told without question, and you 'get' what is 'allowed' according to what the 'Boss' decides you get...if anything at all...It's a lot like being in the military, or modern day politics...in a political party. (I'm an Independent)

                         

Another problem with this type of forced servitude once you sign in for it...you can't sign out without "permission" and a stern 'debriefing' of sorts, or you might find yourself dead from suicide by another's hand...just like in some Intelligence Agencies and Political circles. 

Me...??? I'm not gonna take a bat to some guys knees, who owes you money because you're my boss...You probably scammed him out of it anyway...Maybe I want to smack 'you' in the knees instead..? Now, if the guy 'robbed' you and ran off with your money...I'll help chase him down and back you up; but you're coming too.

As I said, it's all about the money and control...obeying "authority"... Fuck that. I'd rather stay poor in some other way...if that's the way it's going to be...I'll take my chances on my own, doing what 'I' think is 'right'; not just for myself, but for others as well...

So...there you have it my friends...That's why I never became a full fledged "Wiseguy" I was too 'smart' for that. I'm still alive after all these years...

Ciao


Another 'True' AngryMan Tale on Steemit, Published June 23, 2018

Images

Sort:  

Congratulations @angryman! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62837.64
ETH 2542.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65