You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Curation Conundrum

in #curation7 years ago

Great article. As a new user, I'm trying to follow guidelines and am writing all my own content and trying to make it valuable, mainly on Psychology as that's my field. I find myself frustrated seeing posts by users that seem to have ignored your etiquette guidelines or the Get Started guide and are quite obviously just copy pasting from news articles or just posting YT videos without mentioning the original poster (who is often a Steemit user) or adding any of their own wording to the post.

I have 'policed' a few of these today in the comments.. but wonder if it's wrong to do so. I feel I may be wasting my time but perhaps I should have pasted a link to your etiquette guide when doing so. Anyways.. in an ideal world it would be great to see original posters being rewarded for their work, and is it always right to flag users that don't write their own content as per the examples I've given above? I think I read somewhere we should avoid flagging where possible.

I find your input to the community essential so far.

Sort:  

Anyways.. in an ideal world it would be great to see original posters being rewarded for their work, and is it always right to flag users that don't write their own content as per the examples I've given above? I think I read somewhere we should avoid flagging where possible.

I think if people are just cutting and pasting entire articles from other people without their permission or adding anything substantive, then that is a good reason to flag.

How you use the flag is quite subjective but I think most people agree on that.

You can also report such instances in the Steemcleaners:

https://steemit.chat/channel/steemcleaners-linkdrop

Excellent. Thanks man!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64623.67
ETH 3421.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51