You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Leading By Example: A New Approach To Curation Guilds

in #curation7 years ago

Good points. It is easy to complain about others but that doesn't provide a solution. We should all be working on making things better for each other. There are so many little ways we can all contribute to growing the platform! Simply sharing good posts on other social media would make a big difference.

https://twitter.com/Soul_Eater_43/status/830873707333689344

Sort:  

My sentiments exactly. There has been enough words. It's time for action.

Thanks for the share. You just reminded me that I have a twitter now. Lol.

@son-of-satire I maybe almost a day late to comment but I wonder .. how about we start putting "guidelines / standards?c/ criteria ?" I don't know which word to use to not offend anybody here to encourage good quality posting. I guess, unless we do so we will still be seeing posts that some whales here call "poor quality posting" getting supported.

There are many groups / guilds that take care of newbies now but these days, I have noticed that there are those who have stopped for a while for whatever reasons they have - work, they got disappointed, got busy etc... but are trying to come back. I think it is also important to have them supported, too. IMHO it is important that we support the newbies, the ones who are consistently doing their best to put out good quality posts and those who are in between - like the ones who are trying to come back. If we want to grow we can't just grow by just welcoming newbies and ignoring the oldies can we? IMHO it is important to find balance on everything. I'm a minnow and my voice may not matter much but IMHO it is perhaps but time to put up standards on "quality posts." It is absolutely awesome to exercise freedom and an extreme welcoming feel to reward newbie's posts but it would also be a great push and incentive if oldies would not be ignored, more so - those who are doing their best putting out posts that reflect efforts - not just complacency - it's just my humble opinion and suggestion. What kind of post do we really want to thrive here? Unless it is defined - IMHO no matter what guild / group support is put up there would always be a complain when one "poor quality post" gets supported.

Please don't get me wrong but I also think that - there's a line between good and poor quality post - whether value is subjective or not - it would still be obvious which post offers value and which one does not - so where do we draw the line? Would the guild that you will be starting be having defined criteria of posts you guys will be supporting?

It actually states within the post that this guild will be about rewarding the best content, regardless of reputation. We want to see the best that Steemit has to offer, receiving the best rewards-- whether it be coming from a level 25 who joined on that very day, or a level 75 who has been here since its inception.

As for quality, yes it's subjective. But, as you said, it is noticeable when something is particularly well written, well presented and clearly a lot of time has gone into it. It's even more noticeable when something is lazy, badly formatted, and clearly rushed. So, whilst there will always be an element of subjectivity, I feel that it won't be difficult to ensure that everything we vote on(which will likely be only 10 or so a day), will be of indisputably excellent quality.

We have also decided that there will be an account made for the guild, which will have a daily post containing what we have determined to be the top ten posts of the day. This will give the posts even more visibility and encourage user engagement on them. We may also include a few runners up that will not receive the rewards but will receive the extra visibility from the post. And- all posts from the guild account will be made with the "decline payout" option selected.

@son-of-satire yes, I saw that part but I still wanted to clarify and sorry if it is a bit insistent but I really wanted to be sure.

Thank you and will be looking forward to you guys in action.

EDIT : replying on your nested comment

I still wonder if you guys would give a defined criteria for voting - if I may put it that way but like you said - it's just starting so I'd just wait and hope for the best.

I can't speak with certainty on, but including content from all users for possible rewards is something that is not going to change.

Yes, I understand this part - it's out of our control.

It's a not problem at all. If you have anymore questions just let me know. But keep in mind that this is still a rough idea that will be getting developed further over the next few days, so there is some things I can't speak with certainty on, but including content from all users for possible rewards is something that is not going to change.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68255.87
ETH 3271.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68