You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Can curation be automated and is it good for Steem? The @curx Curation Bot Experiment

in #curation6 years ago

I am really not an expert here on Steemit, but from my limited understanding (being so new here) I feel the Steemit community will be the loser if these voting bots and now your curation bots are used by a lot of users. The social aspect will be ruined and quality will degrade.

If Steemit were ever to reach even a sizable percentage of say the facebook userbase, most of the users will not be technically savvy to use these bots, then why will they join this uneven playing field?

Sort:  

Thanks for your opinion, your points are absolutely valid. I agree on paid upvote bots and try to mostly avoid them myself as well. I wouldn't say bots in general are bad and especially content based approaches like utopian can bring a completely new aspect to steem. For my curation experiment here with the time I'm willing to spend on steem, I would never reach such a broad user base with manual curation. It feels slightly better than setting an auto-voter to always the same people. On the other hand I haven't really "read" what this account votes on. You see, I'm myself still undecided...

Yes, I understand that it may become difficult for someone to curate content from tens of thousands of Steemians... it will be interesting to see how things work out eventually. I have learnt in the past few days that without paid upvoting, its very difficult for minnows to become hot or trending, so that tempts me as well....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64008.01
ETH 3308.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93