Oct 11 - Steemit Ramble - Notes on My Favourite Reads

in #curation8 years ago

Paid another visit to SteemSpeak last night. I listened mostly to it in the background while I worked on finishing off yesterday’s Steemit Ramble. There is some deep convos go on over there and some fun. The people I’ve met in there so far are people who care about Steem and Steemit. You should check it out.

Well, sometimes it never rains but it pours. Last week I finally was able to get my springs and struts replaced on my vehicle. I’ve been staying right around the village for the last couple of months because of the condition of them. Saturday I thought I’d take a drive and within a mile of the village my vehicle started to heat up. I have to take it in tomorrow to have the mechanic have a look at it.

Onward to today’s rambling

A walk in the park: the farmers that live there

Continuing with a thanksgiving concept this post caught my eye. @ocrdu shares photos from a walk in the park in the Netherlands. What an interesting concept, having farming activity in the park. It gives you a sense of what it was like in the past during a simpler time of life.

Instructor2121: SteemTrail and SteemGuild Taking Steemit In The Right Direction

I know some of the people on Steemit are getting discouraged as the price of Steem drops and the voting rewards along with it. Others keep in mind that the site is in beta and as such is still in development.

I see Steemit as a place that will develop in time and no development is linear. It will have it’s ups and downs, the question is how far down will the downs go. That is what is getting some people nervous.

If everyone jumped ship and ran, there would be no one around to keep development moving forward or to try out what is developed. So, stick around and be part of the building.

@instructor2121 is introducing a couple of new projects to help Steemit develop. Let’s check them out and give them a try.

Instructor2121: SteemTrail An Introduction. A project funded by tdv.witness

This is one of the projects previously mentioned. As I understand what I’ve read, the idea is to have a group of curators for individual tags who will work towards developing the tag and increasing user involvement either through posting or reading and upvoting. In effect they would be creating sub-communities within the larger Steemit community.

The first phase of the project involved using curation trails through Streemian.com. The site is currently in closed beta and you do need an invite code to get into it. As it happens, I have 20 invites available. If you’d like to try out the site and get involved, just PM on Steem Chat or Steem Speak and I’ll get you a code.

Announcing Steem Guild, a second stage project to continue supporting good authors after Project Curie

This is the second project @instructor2121 mentioned above. It’s a second stage to the Curie project which is currently engaged in getting newer authors an opportunity to have their work exposed to the wider community. I’ve read through the Curie posts but haven’t been part of the project.

What is the one single mistake or decision you have made that you wish you could undo? - The Daily Steem Poll [A Question for the Community]

Just for fun, a poll to take part in. It’s one that makes you think and decide what you wish to reveal.

If I Ran Steemit: An Open Letter To The Steemit Community

@stellabelle writes a post proposing that the system redistribute some Steem to the 1,000 top active users on the site. There is considerable debate around the site as the value of Steem continues to drop. On this post, you’ll want to take the time to read the comments as there is a lively discussion taking place there.

Steem Verify | Verified Account Report 9/21 -10/11 | New Website!

If you’ve wondered how to get one of the verified badges like I have at the end of my posts, you’ll want to read this post and learn how to get yours.

How we got 200 followers in only 70 days here on Steemit

While we get some debate about the future of Steemit, we also have other people like @lily-da-vine who just keep writing quality posts and reach milestones like 200 followers and a reputation of 60+. She’s written a fascinating post about how she came to be on Steemit and how it has changed her life. Very uplifting.

Steem, from Vapor, to Liquid, to Solid - The Consolidation Phase

One of the first articles I read this morning was a post from a disgruntled member who says it will be his last. I’ve never figured the “I’m leaving” posts are very effective. If you going to go, just go. Anyways, the upside of this one was a comment left by @l0k1. I read it this morning and the thought crossed my mind it was long enough to be a post.

Seems it crossed @l0k1’s mind too as that is what he did. He used the comment and expanded on his thoughts about where he seems Steemit right now and where it can go. I tend to agree with a lot of what he’s saying.

Wrap-up on Day 34

Well, it’s been a busy day today. I wasn’t real busy on the bar but it seemed like there was a lot going on to keep my attention diverted from getting my ramble done. I think many people are interested and some what concerned about where the site is heading. I personally, think that we need to stay the course and ride out the storm by continuing to post and grow even just a bit at a time.

Supporting and Upvoting

Let’s not forget folks. I’m sharing these posts not only because I like them. I’d really like to see them get support and upvoting. I know some of the posts have done okay by the time I post my ramble, but some really could use the support and upvoting.

Subscribing to My Posts

In addition to following me on Steemit, which I really appreciate. If you want to be sure to know about every post, you can subscribe at my other blog. I’ll send you an email when I post.

Until Tomorrow — Just Steem on



If you like this, please follow me and upvote the post.

If you’d like to see the other days I’ve posted, just visit my profile

If you’d like to be notified when I post next, join my mailing list here.


Sort:  

I'm really excited about the SteemTrail initiative that you have in your list. It's the first stage toward more focused communities within Steemit. I think that will help people stick around, too, as there's clearly a community for them to connect to.

I think you are correct there. Finding like-minded people is more welcoming

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94