Jan 9 -- Steemit Ramble #56 -- Don't You Hate Missing Good Posts?

in #curation8 years ago

Well, another week is starting. I have a lot I want to accomplish this week. Going to be interesting to see how much I manage. The cold is starting to recede which is a relief. No bronchitis.

Bitcoin is hovering around the $900 mark and STEEM around 15cents. It seems pretty stable at this point. I believe the long awaited roadmap may be due this week. Will be lots of speculation around that I expect.

I did something different this morning. I used Streemian to syndicate a post from my blog Out of the Shadows. Has been a while since I wrote there. The post is Dear Prime Minister Trudeau

Onward to today’s rambling

What to Do if Your Kids Ask You about Death

This is a subject most people with small children struggle with. They don’t want the child to fully experience the brutality of death but also don’t want to scare them about the subject. When my husband was dying the best advice I got about talking to my niece and nephew were to not say they were going on a trip or they were going to be in a sleep of any kind. Other than that, to try to keep it simple and be open to the child asking questions as they get their heads around it.

@aksinya writes some interesting thoughts on the subject.

Nurturing the newbies

Not everyone is ready to dive into Steemit and dig their heels in. A lot will experiment, try the place out and, depending on the result either stay for a while or wander off. There are a lot of places on the web to hang out. @steevc makes some solid suggestions on how to help and support newbies.

PAPA-PEPPER STEEM-HELP CENTER - Episode 1 - An Animated Short featuring @anarchrysalis

On the subject of newbies and help, @papa-pepper and @anarchrysalis have teamed up to create a really cool video about Steemit with some excellent tips. Would be a good idea to share it around.

Hello, My Name is Jo Ann and I am a New Member of Steemit!

@mojojo is a new member of Steemit. She joined after her son told her about the site. She’s written a very raw and powerful introduction. I rather expect we’ll see some interesting writing from her.

Why whites shouldn't marry blacks.

Here’s a post you wont be expecting. The headline tells one story, the body tells a related but different story. Check out @dreemsteem’s work. Nice post.

Delayed Resolutions

@rebeccamorgan shares a touching post about how out of pain can come healing, inspiration and regeneration. We all need to be reminded of that regularly.

Winter in my town.

@ksena shares some lovely pictures of winter in her community. The pictures appear to have been taken not long after a major snowfall. Those of us who live in winter climes may curse the snow at times but it does have its beauty.

Essential skills in life: Perseverance

@sstefan writes about the importance of perseverance in order to attain our goals in life. In this age of instant gratification and multiple distractions, persevering is often lost in the shuffle.

In these early days for Steemit, being willing to persevere is important. The site will grow and flourish, it’s going to take work and perseverance by all those who believe in the platform.

Wrap-up on Day 56

Another day of varied and interesting reading. Even though I only share the posts I liked the most, that doesn’t mean there weren’t others that caught my attention.

I’ll finish by giving my sister, @artemisnorth, another plug. She’s new on Steemit and has posted so far a recipe for marmalade and today she posted her no-knead bread recipe. She’s a great cook so the recipes are worth following. Kindly visit her profile and maybe give her a follow.

Supporting and Upvoting

Let’s not forget folks. I’m sharing these posts not only because I like them. I’d really like to see them get support and upvoting. I know some of the posts have done okay by the time I post my ramble, but some really could use the support and upvoting.

Subscribing to My Posts

In addition to following me on Steemit, which I really appreciate. If you want to be sure to know about every post, you can subscribe at my other blog. I’ll send you an email when I post.

Until Tomorrow — Just Steem on



If you like this, please follow me and upvote the post.

If you’d like to see the other days I’ve posted, just visit my profile

If you’d like to be notified when I post next, join my mailing list here.


Sort:  

Thank you for posting about what I wrote. What you said is just amazing. I am humbled. Thanks again!

I just express my opinion... :)

I just call things like I see them :)

What a pleasant surprise to be included on this list! Thanks!

Upvote and follow, bless.

Congratulations to the authors mentioned
Excelnet pos dear friend @shadowspub

thank you @jlufer you are very kind

Thanks so much!!!!! I can't wait to read all the other recommendations you've listed!!!! :)
Have a lovely day-and thanks again!!

You're welcome, I hope you enjoy the other posts as well.

Thank you soooo much! Highly appreciated! And it was interesting to check all the posts you mentioned. Resteemed!

It's fun finding them and I always hope they get some more exposure. Thank you for resteeming.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59592.00
ETH 2545.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54