Jan 15 -- Steemit Ramble #57 -- Don't You Hate Missing Good Posts?

in #curation8 years ago

I’m really looking forward to having today to completely spend on writing. Well, reading and writing, because I can’t do the Ramble without reading A LOT.

I notice lately that a lot of posts are being devoted to the state of Steemit. Some are good, some are just repeating the same stuff over and over again. You know, it is really starting to look like a lot of navel gazing going on.

I will share some really good posts about Steemit, at least ones that I think are really good, but I’m really looking for variety of posts to share.

Onward to today’s rambling

Steemit Blogging 101: Title, Picture, First 100 Characters and WHY they're important!

@merej99 writes a great post about the basics of blogging to attract readers. There is a difference between just sticking a post up and taking the time and giving some thought to actually drawing your readers in.

Building Long Term Value from your Blog

This post by @dantheman is one of the best I’ve seen about how to approach making money on a blog and/or on Steemit. You can go for the short term, low income value by wanting immediate return or you can work to build value and gain in the longterm. This post should be must reading for anyone on Steemit. Read it thoroughly.

Steemchart.com update! Now with more than 50+ currencies

@elyaque now offers his Steemchart so it can display in more than 50 currencies. It’s a great chart that gives you the current values of STEEM, Bitcoin and SBD in one easy glance chart.

If you don’t follow his Daily Steem Report you should. My day hasn’t started until I see that come out first thing in the morning. It is another concise easy to read report with a ton of information about what is going on.

IMO @elyaque is an under appreciated contributor to Steemit.

The Truth About Tree Planting in Ontario’s Northern Wilderness 25 Unique Photos

@solarguy writes a great post on the hardships and victories of planting trees in northern Ontario one summer. If you’ve never experienced bug season in Ontario, especially in the north, well you’ve not had an experience. LOL

3 Ways to Build Self-discipline

Self-discipline, some people manage to be so focused and so buttoned down on what they need or want to do, while others find themselves either procrastinating or easily distracted elsewhere. @alcibiades writes about how to make self-discipline an integrated part of yourself, rather than a punishment that needs to be carried out.

Thoughts are Things: Don't just Skate across your Consciousness

@amariespeaks writes a thoughtful post on our thoughts and how they shape us, limit us or expand us as people. We are not truly limited by anything except our own beliefs and thoughts.

Nature's Porch Community

Some of you are going to read this post, well look at this post, and ask ‘where are the pictures?’. I’m going to challenge you to be visual in your mind and watch the picture build as @jcedwards guides you through it. Well written. This is @jcedwards second post.

Here is his introduction:

On Jumping In With Both Feet (And Why I Didn't)

While @jcedwards’ introduction and first short story didn’t get much attention. I think he’s someone to keep an eye on. Especially those who complain we don’t have quality writing on the site. Which I think is a crock attitude.

Busy January News: Alpha Release updates, 2 weeks before Public Beta release, Donation report, What's next?

It’s getting close to time for the Busy.org Beta release on February 1st. As I understand it, Busy is sort of like an upgrade to Steemit that is being developed separately but will access the Steem/Steemit database. I believe great things are coming in 2017 and Busy is part of that.

Wrap-up on Day #57

It’s interesting as I make my way around the posts that I find each day how many people are so prone to post their complaints but I don’t see too many posting about what they like on Steemit. I like that I can post about what I want.

I like that there is a community on the site, it may not be to the liking of all, but it is community. I like that we are part of something that has the potential of growth and development which will leave the old ways of doing social media or even blogging behind.

For the most part, I rather enjoy pretty much going with the flow and watching how things develop. Everyone has opinions, spoken or not. We could do with some more people with patience and willingness to let things develop.

Supporting and Upvoting

Let’s not forget folks. I’m sharing these posts not only because I like them. I’d really like to see them get support and upvoting. I know some of the posts have done okay by the time I post my ramble, but some really could use the support and upvoting.

Subscribing to My Posts

In addition to following me on Steemit, which I really appreciate. If you want to be sure to know about every post, you can subscribe at my other blog. I’ll send you an email when I post.

Until Tomorrow — Just Steem on



If you like this, please follow me and upvote the post.

If you’d like to see the other days I’ve posted, just visit my profile

If you’d like to be notified when I post next, join my mailing list here.


Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jan 16. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.80 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 16 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Thank you so much for mentioning my posts - especially my short story "Nature's Porch Community" ... I'm honoured you found it 'ramble-worthy'! (By the way, I'm female, hehehe.) I'm about to check out some of the others you mention, and will definitely be following you now as well.

I wondered if you were female but figured the easiest way to find out was to get it wrong. I am also btw. Welcome to Steemit and keep up the great work.

Thank you, and thanks for the welcome also. I probably need to post an avatar (?), but am still learning how to get around. Yesterday it took me ages to learn how to add the picture to my post, lol.

If you look beside Wallet, you should see Settings. You can link to an avatar picture in the Settings.

Thank you! And seriously, WOW!

I really appreciate the mention and your list of must-read posts is excellent! I've missed a few of them and using this post as a bounce point to visit them all. :)

Thank you for your kind words @merej99 .. hope you enjoy the reads.

Nice collection of posts. I've already read about half of them and found another interesting one in your list, which I'm going to read right now.
Thank you for sharing this. I'll follow you to not miss the next list :D

thank you for your very kind words @playfulfoodie ... I'm glad you found some post of interest to read on the list.

I'm glad to see my post included in your daily ramble. Thanks! I'll catch up on few of these that I missed.

You're welcome. I hope you found some good reads.

Thank you for sharing your experiences with us. Appreciate it. I'll follow you

thank you... hope you find some good posts to check out.

I'm totally looking forward to it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61940.19
ETH 2433.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50