Feb 9 -- Steemit Ramble #70 -- Don't You Hate Missing Good Posts?

in #curation7 years ago

A late start on the Ramble today. A meeting this morning dragged on longer than it should have. Well I shouldn’t say dragged on, there was a lot going on and it went longer than it should have. The committee is planning our local Canada 150th celebration, so there is a lot of planning and work to do. In fact, I learned I had a committee I didn’t know I was doing. Guess I better get cracking on it.

Onward to today’s rambling

Why Do We Always Have Room For Dessert? How Our Appetite Tricks Us!

@sirwinchester provides us with an explanation why we always seem to find room for dessert. I often struggle with trying to avoid dessert. It’s easy at home, it’s just never in the house. Out of the house, not always so easy.

J.R.R. Tolkien's Middle Earth Could Have Been Inspired From The Real World

@vikthor writes an interesting post detailing how the fantasy world of Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings, Middle Earth, was likely inspired by the real earth. Many of his characters were influenced by many of the great mythologies of the time. While I watched the Lord of the Rings movies and loved them, I’ve not tackled reading the books.

Climbing the Tree of Knowledge: An Examination of the Moral and Scientific Arguments on Invasive Animal Research

“Man’s inhumanity to man” — I can’t count the number of times I’ve heard that phrase used in my lifetime. Far too many, and it still continues. Unfortunately, it doesn’t stop there, that wanton disregard for the world, and the other creatures in it, continues, usually driven by profit and greed. @mkfylfot writes a thoughtful post on the use of animal research. A long read but one that should be thought provoking.

The Past Few Days

@nonameslefttouse has posted a powerful entry into the Fiction-Trail contest. A most unexpected ending and content that is so true.

Fiction Trail: Author Smackdown with @johnjgeddes

For me this was a great find from @fiction-trail. An interview with fiction author @johnjgeddes. I’ve come across several of his posts that I’ve really enjoyed and have included some of them here on the Steemit Ramble. A great opportunity to learn more about him. Course, him being a fellow Canuck within spitting distance from me doesn’t hurt either.

I choose to be imperfect and let myself be.

We know we are human and thus we are imperfect, yet, so many of us don’t want to admit our imperfection. I am guilty of that at times and other times, I shrug and accept, I’m flawed. It is who I am. As a friend of mine used to say, “How you like me now?” @diana.catherine writes a great piece on the importance of not only admitting we are imperfect but in accepting our imperfect self as who we are.

Steemit Guerilla Marketing

I like trying to spread the word on things I enjoy doing and Steemit is one of the things I like doing. @mynameisbrian did an interesting experiment on how to get more eyeballs onto a post. I know some of you are likely thinking that bringing people from outside Steemit to a post doesn’t get you votes. Well, not right away but if a few of them decide to try the site out, they could be future votes. Think long term folks.

Close few mind apps, save energy and be free

An interesting analogy for aspects of our minds. @nidtyg is a new member on Steemit and has written a very interesting piece about how to unburden are so often over burdened brain functions. She’s been active and if this piece is any indication, deserves some notice.

Why Every Writer and Blogger Should be Using Steemit

@krystle writes about her experiences here on Steemit and how it has benefited her writing. She’s right, every blogger and writer should be on Steemit, but I’m biased.

Traditional brick production runs in the family

In these days of mass production, in huge factories, it is always nice to see that there are still people who value and produce using the traditional methods. There was a value and quality to traditional ways that can be mass produced.

Wrap-up on Day #70

Some great posts today. I hope you will visit them and upvote any you’ve missed. I like that I have found a writer or two who is pretty new to the platform. Let’s encourage them to keep posting.

Supporting and Upvoting

Let’s not forget folks. I’m sharing these posts not only because I like them. I’d really like to see them get support and upvoting. I know some of the posts have done okay by the time I post my ramble, but some really could use the support and upvoting.

Subscribing to My Posts

In addition to following me on Steemit, which I really appreciate. If you want to be sure to know about every post, you can subscribe at my other blog. I’ll send you an email when I post.

Until Tomorrow — Just Steem on



If you like this, please follow me and upvote the post.

If you’d like to see the other days I’ve posted, just visit my profile

If you’d like to be notified when I post next, join my mailing list here.


Sort:  

@shadowspub thank you so much for liking my post.

You're very welcome, keep up the great work.

Thank you, @shadowspub ! You wrote beautiful words about my article! Cheers to you!

I just write what I think @diana.catherine .. nice work.

Thanks so much for the mention, found a few gems in here I now have to check out too lol :)

mission accomplished... you found some gems :)

Thank you, @shadowspub for the shout out and kind words. ( I live in a Victorian Village so close to Toronto I can attend Leafs games whenever I want--Okay, I can't afford them, but I can attend them if I want) LOL!!

are you one of their long suffering loyal fans? which side of TO you on?

I bleed blue and white - I lived west of Six all my life except for a brief stint when I taught and lived in Don Mills

My parents were raised in the east end and kept moving east through their married life. Ever been around the Big Apple between Toronto and Kingston? I'm in that area.

used to commute to trenton in uni to visit my girlfriend - spent some time in Montreal - knew some people when I studied drama at U of T that were from Kingston - used to kid them about being soldiers (RMC)

ah so you met some damn fine Canadians eh :) lol Trenton is a fair hike from TO .. must have been love :)

Thanks a lot! I'm glad you enjoyed that little story of mine. I read a few of these other posts as they came up as well. You have a good taste!

thank you, you are very kind.

Great work dear friend @shadowspub congratulations

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67334.64
ETH 3519.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.10