Do you Believe?

in #curation6 years ago

As I was about to poor my beer to sit down and crank out a quick power up post I decided that it wouldn't suffice tonight. Instead I wanted to share my thoughts prediction belief in what is to come for @pifc. This isn't going to be a cheerleading post but rather some thoughts on what can be done and needs to be done to help new members coming onto steemit. Hopefully this will show my belief for what can be achieved long term with the proper support from the community.

20180529_115041.jpg

Short term there are plans already in the works to start new contests and help steemians have a place to engage with other steemians and earn rewards/prizes at the same time. We have had a nice influx of Pay It Forward minded people coming into the PIF Discord room and it's only the beginning. Delegations have come in and I fully expect as we grow more will come in to turn @pifc into a force that can make a difference. But what is the long term vision...what is beyond a discord room and contests? Why do all of this? What belief fuels all the effort that goes into the Pay It Forward Movement?

I'd like to talk about the start of every steemians journey. How we get started and what it looks like these days.

Someone Arrives on Steemit, Now What?

When someone first arrives on steemit they are lost. They tend to look at the tabs across the top of their screen finding the tabs and Trending is first. Naturally they want to know what is trending and when they go there they see a bunch of bullshit posts who are earning hundreds of dollars in rewards. They see these posts and think this is what I need to do if I want to make money...real money here on steemit.

But the truth is those people are only there because they have enough SBD or Steem to buy their way there, it's not because anyone actually likes their content. While they are making a return on their investment it's not nearly as high as one might expect as most of the money earned went to paying for votes to get the rewards they are getting. More important to play that game you already need hundreds of dollars worth of SBD to buy your votes in the first place. IMO these are not the people to emulate and they set up new people to have unrealistic expectations and ultimately set them up for failure.

At some point a person realizes they should make an introduction post. Many spend hours writing, editing, figuring out how to upload photos, and so forth. For this effort they are rewarded with the following:

  • spammed by countless bots which are a waste of space on steemit and offer no value
  • spammed by the "follow me and I'll follow you" bots
  • spammed by the "follow me and I'll follow you" humans
  • spammed by scammers and then the bots warning not to click on the scammers link (these are good bots!)
  • spammed by the cut/paste "welcome to steemit come to our discord channel because we are the best" people
  • spammed by the "welcome to steemit" comments who don't upvote the post, but upvote their comment huge so they earn more then the post itself jackasses. You all really should be ashamed of yourselves.

Then just maybe they are lucky enough to get a comment or two from real humans who found the post and read it. A comment showing they actually read the introduction and cared enough to say a few words. They took a little time to give a little encouragement without wanting or expecting anything in return. These people if they arrive might be the only positive experience someone has with their introduction post. The rest are just a ton of reasons not to post on steemit again...seriously do you like spam? Unless you are from Hawaii I don't know anyone that does.

So what can be done to help the brand new person?

See I truly believe long term @pifc can create a group of people to help welcome people to steemit. Once they see someone that appears to have potential to watch them for a few weeks still giving some encouraging words and maybe linking to some posts which will help that person avoid the "resteem services" which might be the largest scam on steemit, teach them some basic formatting concepts/code, teach them about plagiarism and why they need to post original content, and so forth. Idea being at first we just help guide the new fish in how to swim, but don't bombard them with discord channels, contests, and so forth. Just keep them away from trouble and hopefully help them on the path towards being a valued steemian.

Once @pifc is running at full power we will be spinning off some extra SBD that can be used to reward those willing to help newbies in this way. Kind of an onboarding team. This will be down the road, at least the ability to reward those doing the task will be down the road. Near term I hope to test the concept out and get posts written that will be available long term to link to.

From there I believe we can then help newbies by directing them to great groups including @pifc that offer assistance in helping curate minnows and below. Those groups who are there to help grow small members of steemit and help create a real middle class of steemit which will help steemit grow and become truly sustainable. Groups that will help upvote content and speed up the growth process of those we are helping.

As the newbies have been guided along a path towards success from the @pifc team I truly believe we can make a real difference in steemit's turnover rate. Helping keep more members here on steemit long term vs jumping on and leaving after a couple weeks or months. By giving people the chance to become part of a real sincere community of people that want to help each other grow I truly believe that we can make a long term difference in the lives of many future steemians.

Belief

Feel that steemit members as a whole know we need something beyond groups like @curie who are designed for a one time rewarding of a great post. That steemit as a whole knows that the handful of whales like @surpassinggoogle who support minnows can't do this all on their own. Yes there are many other great efforts out there and Orcas, Whales, and Dolphins doing their part to support smaller fish, but there just isn't a true onboarding process designed to help take a brand new person and show them how to become a valuable member of steemit.

My belief is over time that while we will never be able to help everyone that @pifc will be able to take enough steemians and show them the correct path towards long term success.

Now this process isn't going to be easy and there are so many hurdles to deal with. But I know that with the collective minds of those who already support @pifc that we can come up with a solid plan on how to go about this. I truly believe that some of the best people on steemit already are here supporting the idea that we need to help others and in return good things will come. Those with a true Pay It Forward Mentality are here and ready to find ways to help even more people.

Tag & Resteem

Please tag others who you think might be able to help with ideas or support and resteem this post to give greater exposure.

Next Steps for @pifc

So the long term vision is great for @pifc, but what is about to happen now? How are we moving forward and what should you all expect in the next few weeks?

  1. We are currently at just over 1,600sp in delegations and will be moving the Pay It Forward Curation Contest over starting next week.
  2. We have a new contest that will start up next week. Wanted it started this week, but with vacation there just was no way to get it started.
  3. We also will have a Pay It Forward Spotlight Post which will come out once per week curating the great posts written by @pifc members. Each featured blog post will get an SBI share from me directly until @pifc can afford to pay for this or someone offers to sponsor these.

Current Delegation List

Here are the members who are making this all possible. Without the support of these members @pifc would not be able to give upvotes large enough to launch the Pay It Forward Movement. Hope that we can pull in a few more delegations over the next few days before we launch the contest, but this is a great starting point! Thank you to all of these amazing people who are giving without asking for anything in return.

@kaliju | 500.123 SP
@eroche | 10.004 SP
@bjgeese | 500.374 SP
@anlurob | 50.038 SP
@roleerob | 50.038 SP
@erodedthoughts | 250.191 SP
@energyaddict22 | 250.210 SP


Well this was a multi beer post and took a little longer then expected. Really hope that people understand that short term we will do our best to crank out some great contests and contest to support newer members, but long term @pifc is here to help build a much stronger Steemit as a couple hundred people at the top with a massive turnover rate for everyone else just isn't acceptable. We do need support to make this happen and how things progress will largely be based on what support flows in.


Photo was taken by me at MSI Chicago.

Sort:  

I read about half of this post and skimmed through the rest... I like the idea, I don't know if I'm going to take part (I'm struggling making my own posts as is.)

But I agree that steemit isn't newbie friendly at all and we need groups to tell people the right way to use it. at least the right way to not get harmed.

Sadly, where there's money involved, there will be the big players who'll harm everyone in their way to get it.

~ Good Luck ~

You will find the more you give the more you receive in life. Hope you find a way to take part.

Could not have stated better myself!

I am so glad I found this community. There is no doubt in my mind that without the values I found at @pifc I would have bid Steemit a farewell by now. Every time I ponder the possibilities of helping individuals all around the world through the networking here on Steemit I stand in awe. As with all things, Steemit has been contaminated by the greedy and the selfish. @pifc is an antidote to that. May it grow strong and long may it last. Thank you @thedarkhorse. You are appreciated!

This might just be the best testimonial ever received. You put a smile on my face and I hope all the judges (@tryskele , @lynncoyle1, @energyaddict22, & @wolfhart) read this as they are just as responsible for the success as I am.

Aww @reonlouw, I'm so glad that you found us too! What a lovely thing to say, and most importantly, I'm so glad that you stayed with steemit because of it :)

Thank you @reonlow. I love our little corner. We have such wonderful helpful people. This is a group you can ask anything of anyone and they will help.!!

Great post. You have a ton of ideas. I particularly agree with this:

Naturally they want to know what is trending and when they go there they see a bunch of bullshit posts who are earning hundreds of dollars in rewards. They see these posts and think this is what I need to do if I want to make money.

Yep, I have been there myself. It was only when I started ignoring the Trending Tab and focus on the New and Hot tabs that I started to find really interesting people in SteemIt.

Going through the Trending Tab and trying to engage with those folks got me under fire, twice.

It's not worth it to discuss with those rich folks... I advise everyone to avoid discussing with the authors of all those high paid posts in the Trending Tab.

Only answer Trending Posts if you're feeling like a sheep which agrees with everything they say.

I say this because they cannot take any kind of criticism and will crucify you if you even dare to show a different opinion.


Another thing that I have found very helpful is Busy.org. Let's face it, SteemIt.com has a very ugly design and it doesn't even have notifications.

Busy.org is a lot more appealing and for a starting Steemian, it can make a huge difference!

Besides that, everyone can benefit from a vote from Busy.org.


Keep up with the good work!

There are some landmines that people need to avoid aren't there...lol. Know it's not funny when it happens to you, but luckily the effects aren't forever and can be overcome.

Trending page should be completely removed IMO and replaced with a new one. It serves zero value other then making whales much richer. Think any and all paid promotion should go to a Burn account and the SBD/Steem used for the promotion should be removed from circulation. There would be zero financial gain from the paid promotion and it would be integrated into a real trending page. It would be true paid placement/advertising and the platform as a whole would benefit from this as the amount of Steem in circulation would decrease each time someone did this.

I guess you will need to become a witness and put that idea up for voting. 😋

That just might be on the long term growth map that is in my head. Will need to make it a team of like minded people and not a single person witness account. Would like to pull in some talent and enough vests to make an impact right away.

The direction you're taking this in is just what's needed here on steemit. Im constantly thinking of how we can attract and keep new steemians rolling along. eSteem curation, @juststeemit.com, @pifc contests, @derangedvisions photography challenges and tons of other initiatives are all doing their part. I have been helping new users learn a few tricks and hacks about steemit so they can start earning from day one and directing them to discords as well answering their questions. I also dream of @pifc becoming a part of larger network of affiliated projects. With combined efforts - minnows now have more options than ever before to start off relatively well from day one. Great road lays ahead of us and transparent posts such as this here will help us created a trusted network amongst each other! Keep up the good work everyone! 💜

Think you see my vision of things. Not looking to replace anyone, but rather enhance the efforts everyone is already making. Sure there will be some overlap here and there, but with the shier volume of new account created each day there is no way any one group of people could help them all. But if we can find ways to work together our efforts will become more effective.

Yes I do! I believe pifc will go from strength to strength. I had a good chuckle at your list. Sadly true. "I follow. Please follow" "I upvote. Please upvote" Spam everywhere you look. I also spent weeks searching Steemit, reading, trying to understand, then writing, deleting, writing. I was so proud of my introductory post and .... what an anticlimax. BUT then I was nominated by not one but two amazing Steemians on payitforward and I immediately found that generous and compassionate "tribe". I definitely believe in it! Thank you @thedarkhorse

And you deserved to be nominated and we love having you as part of our tribe. Love hearing feedback like this as it really helps show that we are making a difference with the curation contest.

It does make a difference. It helps encourage those that will add value to this platform and give exposure to the right circles. I wish more people would get on board. Mind you I don't post nearly as often as I would like to.

Balancing your time between steemit and real life is important or you can burn yourself out...or harm relationships. So post when you can, not because you feel you have to.

Thank you for understanding @thedarkhorse!

Good morning @pifc / @thedarkhorse. On vacation, but "dropping in" to quickly comment on your post.

"... but long term @pifc is here to help build a much stronger Steemit as a couple hundred people at the top with a massive turnover rate for everyone else just isn't acceptable ..."

Amen! Still fairly new "in here," but simply don't understand the "thought process" of the "whales," at the top ... Seems so much more could be done. Correct me if I am wrong, but what do we need "Witnesses" for, if no one is creating content, for which, in support, new blocks on the blockchain are required?

Oh wait! A lot of people are working hard to create content, requiring new blocks. So ... Why aren't those directly benefiting financially doing more to help stimulate the creation of new blocks? Specifically, quality content blocks?

Keep "fighting the good fight" @thedarkhorse!


P.S. I know there are many efforts going on to promote growth on our Steem blockchain, including those supported by prominent "whales," and I have yet to learn about them. So ... My input here is not intended to be a "blanket statement," but it does convey my general impressions, up to this point.

Perhaps, @ned and others "at the top" should put their heads together and figure out a means by which all of these efforts can be publicly and clearly known by all of us. That is, ensure they are unmistakably and clearly "out in the light," for all to see ...

One of these days I will start doing some deep digging into the exact pay each witness gets and what they are doing for it. The costs of setting up a proper server with a full backup server (if you are top 50 you really need 2 servers IMO) and then the other things they are doing to help the community as I see it. Might ask if they are willing to be interviewed and talk to them about what they are doing now and future plans.

This is one reason I'd like to move the contest away from my personal account over to @pifc. Don't want any backlash of my personal thoughts hitting the contest and other efforts of @pifc as I call things as I see them vs just saying what people want to hear. Really want to make @pifc a community account that while I may have a say in things becomes big enough that if I step away for a few weeks it stills runs smoothly.

I couldn't agree more. Heck, I got all those scams you mentioned plus a few more when I joined. And yes, I did not and still do not understand everything on the platform. The idea about on-boarding process is really great. The beer must have a good effect in your head. :)

Thanks to people like you with great ideas and those who are behind it for support. More power to you, folks!

Heck to be honest I'm a dig into everything and learn the ins and outs type of person and still don't think I know everything. There seems to always be something to learn. But what I do know will be shared and hopefully save some people a little bit of the learning curve that comes along with steemit.

Beer tends to help me speak freely and without reservation. Honestly this post scared me a little as it puts my goals and thoughts out there for others to see. If things don't progress as I'd like then others will know that I didn't succeed and like most people fear of failure is real. So announcing my goals like this probably wouldn't have happened if it wasn't for the beers. Tomorrow I'll decide if it was a good thing or not...lol.

The beer gave you the courage to speak up. Now use it to overcome your fear of failure. But drink moderately, okay?

You will never know if your idea will click or not if you do not try it. All possible support are needed to make it work and support will not come unless people know what you are up into. And people will not know about it unless you say so. You just did. Hang in there and keep driving. Forward.

Been tagging along since week 4. Guess I will keep tagging along into the future. I for one am pretty excited to see what happens next.
Will try to be helpful wherever I can.

I think that this is great! I started with newbieresteemday, and it really took off helping new folks here, then of course sgg did too, but I do like the direction you're taking this. And no, it doesn't scare me off lol

There's no way to help everyone, but this is a great course of action to help many, and hopefully they will one day do the same. We have attracted some great people just with the contest, and hopefully, the new contest will do the same. I also think that the collective "we" that you and I know (@wolfhart as just one example) will be a great middle class to work with!

Nice two-beer-post buddy :)

Was actually 3 beers, but who is counting....lol

haha not you apparently @pifc 😎

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

You may rely on it

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63313.88
ETH 2629.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76