Curator Remarks Anthology: Why I think Your Post Deserves a Curie Upvote

in #curation6 years ago

DQma4j9EEMPMKZfGWC7qacSMbZKC1kbkPZoqnrrRoVWjYTC.png


First I want to apologize for the delay in releasing last week's anthology, to those who look forward to it. It happened for reasons beyond my control.

I serve as a @curie curator. Curie is a meritocratic community curation project on the Steem blockchain, that seeks for and rewards best quality contents from new and established creators on Steem. There are two levels of quality control: Curators and Reviewers. Here are my comments as a Curator, targeted at Reviewers, in a bid to solicit reward for the posts I chose to submit for curation. The essence of publishing this is to invite creators and everyone into the thought process of a curator working with curie, with the hope that it would contribute to increasing the overall quality of contents over time. Read Curie whitepaper to get full knowledge into the workings of Curie. Also join Curie Discord Server to engage more with the community.

Psychopathy: A brief look at the causes, statistics and people behind the diagnosis.

In this fun write-up, @callumogilvy takes on a very serious topics and treats it with enough humour that it becomes very fun to read, yet keeps the essence of the discussion: Psychopathy. Check it out. It's a shame this has already paid out, but you can follow the author if you enjoy his work.

My Curator Comment

“Fourth post and THIRTY-EIGHTH comments in as many days is surely one that persists and engages. I think that's good enough to consider this newest addition to Steem's Abigail Danteses (I hope the rest of the world get the joke :-)). Apart from the first statistics, the rest of the claims are backed with links to further reading that serve as references. I enjoyed the playful tone to a rather mundane topic. Kept readers glued and wanting to finish. Overall I think this to be good quality stuff. You agree, don't you?”

Shout out to @abigail-dantes ;-)

Post got curied!


Human History X: The Mapmakers

Buckle up for the most interesting lesson you would get in Geography, and it is about maps. I have personally been fascinated with maps all my life. So it was a no brainer to pick on this beautiful rendition that is full of history, and had bits of political and psychological assertions here and there. @edumurphy is a fantastic creator and this piece represented just that.

My Curator Comment

“That was good. Really really good. Geography in its most entertaining way. The part where maps are attributed to conquests? A bit controversial opinion but far less vile than politics, you'll concede. Not the guy that puts out a mandatory one-a-day post, but does only when he has what to say. Edu has had a curie vote recently (15 days ago) with a post that had "map" in the title too. I had to go read that and be sure it isn't some sort of serialization or similar stuff to this. That is about big data and the reference to maps was just a premise to the author's point. Nowhere near as "mappy" as this one. I hope you agree on that. That's just as similar as a musician singing two different songs. This piece, I'll argue, is one of the best stuff out there on Steem as you read. This author only had one big curie vote in the past. Apart from the little simmers of $40-ish posts, I think this author is largely under-rewarded. I just have to stop. Lol. Over to the jury... :-)”

:) Post got curied!


Foggy Morning on Route 123 in Washington State

It's not everyday you see a one-photo post that is both original and good enough to submit for curation. To describe this @fivealive55 work, I would borrow the words of one of the commenters, my favourite @dswigle :). "This is such a stunning shot... This just takes my breath away." I am sure you would agree.

My Curator Comment

“Once again testing Lib's resolve of approving that one-line meme ;-) Hahahaha. [That is another in-house joke.] This one is far more than a one-line meme. This picture is really awesome and isn't anywhere below what Microsoft would pay tens of thousands of bucks for. The leading lines, the vanishing point, the subtle triangles in the frame. Quite the perfect composition. And I love the grunchy feel in the processing. Goes further to show this Photographer puts in the time to take a masterpiece shot over the line. I mean, why can't we reward this very beautiful thing with a couple hundred dollars when the author has been consistent, not had much success (there was a curie vote for his long exposure shot 29 days ago)? I am heading right to read the Creative Common permissions for this one, in the hope that I can have it framed 8x10 on my bedroom wall. It's that good :-D I hope you agree. UPDATE: I just checked his Instagram and this guy takes the best landscape photographs. And his profile is listed on National Geographic too. That's a thing.”

Post got curied!


Limestone: The Rock of Life

Limestone. Geology. Fun to read. Meet "stone-man," @nostone-unturned.

My Curator Comment

“His first original post was an awesome composite of images for a contest. Geologist with cool photoshop skills! The next introduced this hard-rock Geophysicist with a lot of field trips under his belt in an introduction post that focused on his love for Geology. Additionally author has had ample engagement and seems quite the new author with some consistency who hasn't had success yet (it won't be long before the STEM curators make this one a favourite). Being a third blog post, I know it is a bit borderline, but the author admits to taking time to understand the communities after joining a forthnight ago, before making original posts. The comment activity of this author lends validity to that claim, and makes a case for his engagement with the community. For the post, it is informative and holds a very interactive tone, which can spur discussions. I only wish the author offered some citations at the end. The geology community guys would likely weigh in... so I figure we could just help this one up the trending list in the respective tags and let it fight for its place, and in turn give this author the exposure he looks to have earned. Warped logic? Lol. I hope not. Great piece! I am following this author. If this one isn't approved (I hope it is), I would likely submit the next one, because this is an author that leaves no stone unturned in his content game ;-)”

Post got curied!


Journal: A Mandala on My Journal!

If the genie asked me for one wish, I would ask to be able to open an empty journal page and leave it with an amazing mandala art. That is what @junebride did here and it is really really adorable. Take a look :)

My Curator Comment

“Junebride seems the quintessential artist who does amazing photography, art DIYs and now a beautiful mandala. The process is fun to watch, with detailed images that gives a oomph to her storytelling. And, I love the video too. She has had three curie votes in the past for very non-similar work, and, moreover, the most recent one was in November.”

Post got curied!


With that I wrap this week's (last week's, actually) curation post.

How can you support the authors? Upvote and follow their blogs. Follow Curie trail on Steemauto to join in spreading the love.

Cheers!

Yours in service,
Ubokobong Akpan

Sort:  

hi mr. akpan! i awe you a lot! thanks a lot for picking my blog entry! how did you manage to know the number of curie posts I had?

again, i thank you so much for finding my work! more power sir!

As curators we have techniques that help us sieve through the chaff for those gem posts, and one of those is a SQL query. In a few seconds you can pull most any data from the blockchain :)

I'm speechless
Well done Sir

Thumbs up... I must remark that I truly admire your rare qualities of patience and ear/eye for quality. There aren't so many people who have such skills. And given @curie 's rigorous standards of post appraisal and selection, it is therefore easy for me to sit in wonder: how do you do it?

Congrats to those who got curied!

A good well-done to you, sir. More power to your elbow.

Deeply flattered and honoured to have been @curie'd at all, let alone more than once! I am grateful and enthused and inspired to continue to prove worthy of such.

Hey thanks for the wonderful comments @misterakpan. I feel very welcomed here since joining Steemit. This encourages me to keep up the good work. I have lots to say about rocks and I’ll make sure to include references and further readings from here on out. Responses like yours help newcomers like me really get motivated when they are unsure of how their content will be received. Thanks again!

Thank again for your support and kind words about my work. Btw you are 100% allowed to make your own prints with the CC license!

nice information, thank to you.

Lovely choices. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61305.83
ETH 3302.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48