Update curation owls #2

in #curation6 years ago (edited)


drawing.png

Hi Steemians! To improve post quality control of scientific content I made these curation owls. If you write a hard science post you will be awarded owls if you excel in the corresponding category. Check over here if you want to find out more about the criteria for each owl. In this post I want to explain in detail for what kind of content these owls are meant for, how to call the curation owls, how the tracking-bot works and also at what speed content will be reviewed/curated.

I ran into some problems because my previous bot had a dependency on the search engine of Steemistry. So I put everything on hold for a few days. My new bot has its own search engine. In addition, I can conveniently run it from my laptop.

Hard sciences and soft sciences

The hard sciences are the scientific fields which are created by using rigour, objectivity and/or empirical evidence. The natural sciences from hard to least hard are ordered as follows: mathematics, physics, chemistry, biology. The soft sciences are typically social sciences. Informally, social sciences rely on a black-box approach where questionaires play the role of output. The owls are only meant for hard sciences. So don't be angry if I don't award your content with owls because of this reason.

Curation of long and short posts

I will classify hard science posts in two classes:

  • short posts: these are posts with less than 600 words,
  • long posts: these are posts which are not short posts. :o)

Short posts can maximally receive 1 owl. Long posts can maximally receive 6 owls. Long posts with 3 owls or more will receive an upvote.

How to call the owls

First you need to follow me. If you write a hard science post and comment this post with

        @mathowl I want to catch them all

I will put you in a queue for future curation. First time users will be given priority in the curation process. You can only use the phrase once per week otherwise you will be moved to the end of queue.

Previously, my bot would reply to the post when this phrase was used. But this creates a bit a spam so I removed the bot-reply.

If you want to know how the bot works check the Appendix of this post.

About the bot & curation speed

Since I wanted to run the code on my laptop the bot is not very thorough. Approximately every 24 hours it will check if you have written a new reply and then (maximally) scan 10 of your last replies. But I think most of us write less than 10 replies per day so it should be fine. If I overlooked your post let me know. I will typically read your post within three days. If you think I have forgotten your post just send me a message on discord or reply to one of my curation owl posts.

If you have any questions about the process let me know. And if you don't have any questions go and do some science because you gotta catch all them owls!


Technical Appendix

I made the bot using steem-python. To learn about steem-python check over here.

I am not a python-person since it is not usefull for my mathematical work but if you have some coding experience python is not so hard. steem-python comes with a lot of pre-made modules. My module mainly relies on the site-package script Blog.py which allows you to store all post-related information in a nice dictionary. The rest is pretty straight-forward: I scan the replies of my followers, write the links of the parent of the found replies to a html file and also create and pickle a dictionary from my followers with the time when they posted their last reply. If anybody wants me to write in detail about my silly bot let me know :)

Sort:  

I mean sure! From one programmer to another, why not :D

If you want my code you can just tell me :P

okok I will write a post about it

I actually don't want your code. I like to be able to look at steemstem-bot (SSB) knowing that I didn't use a template from someone else to make him (unlike all the bidbots using the DrOtto code written by Inertia). Basically I take pride in knowing that aside from the steem-python library that SSB is completely my creation and even if their are problems with it, well, its still my bot. If that makes sense.

Since I know the programming side of things, my curiosity comes into the technical/theoretical side of it. Like what the bot does and maybe why it does a certain thing a specific way. Or if you were to write about how you went about learning with the library, what hurdles were there... I don't know if this makes sense but I like to get inside the minds of people and learn why they did things a specific way, I care less about what they did.

I was just joking around. I know you are the bot-master. :o)

Nah, I am still learning about it. I am far from being a master

I think this is a super cool bot :) will definitely use it in the future :)) hahah and the owls look cute.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by MathOwl from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

1 owl will do😊......but not sure if I'll meet the category
If I got 1....I will be the happiest...lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 65723.04
ETH 3470.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45