Why I Am Not Against Bot Votes: An Anarchist/Free Market PerspectivesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #curation8 years ago (edited)

It was recently brought to my attention via dialogue brought about by my previous post, here, that some individuals here on the Steemit platform are strongly opposed to bots being used by curators for the purpose of voting.

While I feel some valid points in regard to the value of manually voting are raised, I think the real crux of the matter is being missed. Namely, that Steemit is a free market, for all practical intents and purposes. The idea that bot-voting is somehow "unfair" and that bot votes ultimately harm the platform is misguided at best, and...well...devious, at worst. Why?

~*~

1. Steemit is an open-source, blockchain-based platform. What individual users do with their own private resources therein is really nobody's damn business.

Ned and Dan set this thing free and basically said: "Let's see what happens." Advocating policies which would attempt to dictate what individuals can or cannot do within their personal, private sphere of influence via their own computers, and an open-source code is fine, but I wouldn't expect it to become a popular notion amongst users anytime soon. Let's just pretend that the platform did go in this direction. My prediction: Bye, bye, Steemit. Who in their right mind wants to stay on an "open-source, blockchain-based" social media platform where users can't even use their laptops and private property how they want to? At this point the platform would no longer be "open" at all, really.

2. Sure, bots may suck sometimes, but if they really suck, it is the bot owners and other self-interested curators who will suffer in the end, and most intelligent ones know this.

What do I mean? Well, say a bot owner stops checking on one of his bots and it continues voting on an account that since three weeks ago has been posting pictures of turds. Nothing but shit with two or three emojis to accompany it. While value is subjective, and some users may enjoy seeing these poop snapshots every day, this bot owner is most likely going to be the one paying for the oversight in the end.

Imagine that the whole platform becomes overrun with bots, and almost no one is ever clicking on and reading posts anymore. No interaction. No meaningful dialogue. No real idea exchange or attention market. What happens to Steemit? It sinks.

Your friends will hear you talking about how great the platform is, only to check it out and find pictures of crap, interesting thumbnail pics with no substance to accompany them, ads for hair-growth formula, and pictures of girls with fake titties with names like "Ebony Cox." Steemit would fail, in my view. If Steemit fails, so do the bot owners.

Bot owners for the most part know this. They want to reap a reward as self-interested, individual actors. Voting on garbage will not accomplish this. Most bots that are following me now are doing so because of a relationship that was developed after the bot owner had already come to value and respect my blog and content.

What I am trying to say is this. Free markets are self-correcting. The more you try to meddle, the more things get out of whack. The freer the Steem platform is, the less there will be to worry about in regard to corruption, abuse, etc., in this area.

3. Life's not "fair."

Ned and Dan created this thing, and in regard to the website, they can basically do what they want. In regard to the blockchain, however, things aren't so easy to mess with without the whole endeavor being killed in the process, and everyone, including Ned and Dan, standing to lose a lot. All transactions are burned into that beautiful blockchain forever, as far as we the users are concerned. Still, yes, the website and the interface is subject to changes and policies we as users may not like. If we don't like these things, we are certainly free to leave and to speak out.

That's the beauty of the free market.

So, while I do see bot abuse as a problem, and maybe even a big one sometimes, I in no way think that it should be regulated at this point in time.

Cheers, and thanks for reading.

~KafkA


IMG_6356.jpg


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Facebook and Twitter. Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!

Sort:  

Hello @ kafkanarchy84,

Enjoyed your post. Just wanted to let you know that your post was read, and you make excellent points about bots. Thank you

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

Also, as a selection for being a top pick today, you have been awarded a TRAIL token for your participation on our innovative platform...STEEM.
Please visit SteemTrail to get instructions on how to claim your TRAIL token today.

If you wish to learn more about receiving additional TRAIL tokens and SteemTrail, stop by and chat with us.

Happy TRAIL!

Thanks for your considerable thoughts. My opinion is divided. You are right, the manual-vote protagonists somehow are right as well. My heart prefers manual-only votes, my brain shares your arguments. Lets see whats gonna happen.

Couldn't have said it better.

You might be interested in my voting story some weeks ago:
https://steemit.com/deutsch/@freiheit50/curation-reward-ich-habe-den-robotev-besiegt-english-version-included
Your voting earnings performance is bad due to reasons I wrote about.

Excellent post. Followed!

I agree that in the end we will have to see how influential bot voting becomes. I suspect that most function by simply trying to be the first to vote for anyone who has a reputation above 60. That would function to reinforce the better quality content. Certainly, trying to ban robot voting is likely to be counterproductive.

People browsing also vote on the Art and Photography posts mainly based on the picture on display in the browser. I suppose you do not really need to go deeper into the article to know whether you like the picture.

In the long run, however, it will be quality that drives the site's development, and that will only occur when people put some thought into the application of their vote.
.



ColdMonkey mines Gridcoin through generating BOINC computations for science...


In the long run, however, it will be quality that drives the site's development, and that will only occur when people put some thought into the application of their vote.
.

I agree. And good point about the art posts.

While I tend to agree with your points, there's still something disappointing about seeing 77 upvotes, and then noticing that only a dozen people actually read what I wrote. On most forums, the numbers are usually reversed, and the upvotes feel earned. Here, it's getting eyes on the page that takes work.

Yes, and I don't want to be mistaken here. You have brought this to my awareness in a greater way, and I really do think it is a problem. I am just not so sure I would advocate regulating it, because it seems to me that that would take away from the most beautiful part of the platform for me, which is its open-source, free, free market nature.

It's because I think it's a worthwhile experiment that I continue to contribute posts :D

I love this platform. It has really challenged me to explore myself, improve my writing, and improve my communication with others. I think that many here are like me, and that that, ultimately, is what will make/makes this platform successful.

You know the use of bots is in my opinion a good thing.

Once you are on a while, you begin to see the folks that you really upvote alot anyway. But for those that travel or can not sit by watching for the release of new material each day, BUT still want to add worth for those favorite writers, it is great.

Is this gaming the system... perhaps, but if you would have manually upvoted anyway why not. Right now I use one and I have an alternate motive for it eventually, but why not use it's full capacity on sports or charts with steady income until your switch is complete?

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jan 02. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $6.40 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 02 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 64876.28
ETH 2650.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81