Why you've seen so many votes from me lately. (Or seen a drop in the weight)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #curation7 years ago

I've changed the way I vote, and there will be more changes to the way that I vote coming. Its a fine balance that I am still trying to work out. A few weeks ago, fellow steemian, @mattclarke kindly lent me some of his Steem Power.

At first, I searched for really awesome content to upvote and follow. I found much of this among the people that I already follow. A lot of my VP (about 15% a day) was consumed by the automatic voting that I had set up at Steemvoter.com to help reward people's blogs who I really, really love.

I then realised that I could use the enormous amount of Steem power (relatively speaking) to try and see if I could get the most curation rewards possible, by running an autovote script called LukyLuke for the last ten days, that has been built by @inertia, available on github. Read the post about the bot here, if you're interested.

Essentially, what this bot does it watches the transfer field for the selected accounts and then checks for URLs to Steemit Posts. It then goes and votes on those posts, if the account hasn't already voted on it. In theory, you beat randowhale or booster to the vote, cashing in on their curation rewards. I set up a virtual machine, configured the bot, and let it run wild...

Here's the results, after tinkering with the script for 10 days: (Its a lot of votes)


Voting Summary

DayVotesCuration
20/07/20174062429
21/07/201710283911
22/07/201710183118
23/07/201710421562
24/07/201715296213
25/07/201713636213
26/07/201713386213
27/07/201710816213
28/07/20175332590

Visualisation:


That's a lot of votes. The insights: On average, each day, booster, randowhale and minnowbooster are used over 1000 times. The first and last day of the statistics I have generated from my bot are skewed, as I've turned it off for now. I'm not really sure if its hurt or increased my curation rewards, as there are four days of daily data for curation rewards missing from SteemWhales, so I averaged those out to the 6213. I also noticed when reviewing the data on @lalala's daily top voter list ,that there's a few other 'bots' or accounts using luckyluke along the way.

Once my voting power is restored (this will take a few days) I have a new plan. I'm going to be more active in rewarding the authors that I enjoy, who produce consistent, quality content directly, more often; and; I'm going to trial rewarding my follower's content. I aim to maintain about 80% voting power, and if I see a remarkable post, it will get a 100% upvote, and a comment along the way.

luckyluke does not have a place in that world. If I remain above 80% VP at the end of a given day; then he may. I don't know yet, but I do know it feels harder to curate consistently good content lately. I'm aware of the various curation projects and communities propping up; and read their daily summaries; its good work that they're doing. Sometimes that stuff gets my vote, too! :)

What are your opinions on voting bots like the above? (I am currently recharging my VP, so forgive a lack of upvotes from me in any comments!)

Sort:  

Voting bots dont help in most cases. I created my own bot to vote for content that has high payout and less votes and i got some better results. You can watch my curation rewards for it.

How much did you think you made by curation on those days? :)

I'll know more in a week (once those rewards filter through) I may post an update then :)

I think your right... I always keep min 80% power, I rather vote organically and with steemvoter, this would kill all my power lol

I am not "against" vote bots but I can run a bunch of scenarios in my mind that the use of them distorts the website etc, so that makes me lean away. Thing is I have been using randowhale myself so I don't cast stones and I do like that you tried to and reported about it. I think this platform is cool in that you can try lots of things.

My account has grown a little more so I see myself even getting away from using randowhale as more people have been upvoting my work.

I think the best use of randowhale / booster is when you've given a 100% upvote, and you feel it isn't enough, so you want to give that person more.

Altruism Whale should be a thing. :)

Congratulations @holoz0r! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66751.68
ETH 3487.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.03