You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue #6. (3/1/18)

in #curation7 years ago

@lifeaef
Title: So You Want To Learn A New Language? 5 tips before you start

I especially liked point 3 whereby we need to live the language. I've always believed that we learning a new language exposes us to a whole new culture and thinking without even being in the country of its origin. you've convinced me that it works the other way as well as it helps you understand how the language is formed and developed from the culture! :)

Sort:  

This is a great comment, @calebleejl. When I was in college I began to see how language shapes a culture's perspective ... and therefore the people in the culture itself. They see the world differently because of the way language directs their attention. In the United States, people tell each other ... "Be good." In French, that advice comes out in translation as ... "Be wise." In the Hopi Indian language, the advice is "Remember to follow the Hopi way." (In other words, follow the teachings of your religious guidance and community cultural standards -- which are quite different from those in white culture.)

Also ... in our culture there is tremendous emphasis on things like hard work and productivity -- and it shows in our maxims. But there is a wonderful maxim from the Navajos that says ... "A man does what a man does, and it takes as long as it takes." Personally, that one changed my life. Sometimes, I remember it ... and change the way I'm approaching a project.

Thank you so much for stopping by. Do come around often.

hahaha! I love your reply. it's also through Steemit I'm beginning to be more exposed to different cultures. just knew that there's an annual 'color run' in India. I know it's not exactly Hopi but it's Holi.

which culture are you referring to that emphasis on hard work and productivity? I do love that saying though. it's like you can never ever quit.

I will definitely stop by because you all made it easier to locate good content! :)

My culture is the one in the United States. (You know. Those arrogant b*stards who think they own the whole world!!) But I suppose on that topic of work and productivity the Japanese have us beat to a pulp. People there actually DIE from overwork and they actually have a word for that, too ... karoshi.

yes I've seen pictures! people in office clothes laying on the sidewalk. can't even make it home. :/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60268.51
ETH 3201.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43