How to find the Sweet Spot on the voting scale - an EXPERIMENT

in #curation7 years ago (edited)

10 vote limit? I think NOT !

The above video shows my friends account being gradually depleted of voting power. Don't worry, he's had nearly a year to take my advice and join, he's not likely to take the keys from me in the next 5 days before his power is regenerated. And if he does, I'll just play dumb until he reads this post.

The recent hardfork increased everybody's voting power by 4 so that instead of 40 votes being the optimal limit for 1 day it now only takes 10 votes to reach the optimal limit while still saving lots of voting power for tomorrow.

Despite popular belief, this does NOT mean you should now carefully select your TOP 10 authors or posts of the day to upvote and deprive the others who used to get the privilege of your vote.

@fyrstikken

Voting at 100% is 4 times as tiring as it was before.

The video above also tells a story about the problem of losing power faster than you can regain it. Surely the solution is to find a voting power that uses your power only as fast as you can regain it. This would depend on how often you vote.

If you're used to manual transmition then you probably don't count your votes! If you did, calculating a suitable rate would be easy. I'm currently conducting my own little experiment with my votes to find the SWEET SPOT for my voting scale.

THE EXPERIMENT

1. Ideally, start with 100% voting power.

2. Choose a post to dedicate your 100% power vote on. Perhaps use a post of your own announcing your participation in this experiment.

3. Open steemstats.com or steemdb.com/@[insert username] and monitor the change in your voting power (a 100% upvote will bring it from 100% to 98%). KEEP THAT PAGE OPEN.

4. The next time you vote on a post, adjust the scale down to 98% to match the amount of voting power you had after your last vote.

5. Check your voting power again and use the new number to dictate where you scale your next vote. (Do this every time you vote).

6. Continue to curate casually the EXACT same way you would have prior to the hardfork, being care free (YES CARELESS & CARE FREE) about the depletion of your voting power.

7. If you notice that your voting power is now HIGHER than the scale of the vote you just used, then DON'T raise the voting scale up. Leave it at the lower number for all your next votes until you notice your voting power go below that number. Then adjust lower as usual.

Since the hardfork was implemented I started voting this way. My vote scale is currently as low as 68% for posts and I choose to reward comments with a quarter of that which is 17%. This will be my sweet spot until I find my power going lower than that.

I reached 68% voting power after 66 upvotes in about 72 hours. I'll admit I probably voted a little more than I did before the hardfork. Since then my voting power has been recovering even as I continue to upvote casually.

If you're worried about having to vote with only 1% just look at that video again and watch how many votes it took to get to 5%. That was at 100% upvote every time. It would take a lot longer while reducing the scale.

FIND YOUR SWEET SPOT

so you can vote freely

Follow @votu


HANG OUT w1th U5

podcast | music | fun | vlogz


twitter | YouTube | Bitchute | facebook


Gab | musicoin | bandcamp | website

Sort:  

This will probably be a very stupid question, but how do you adjust your voting power? :/

Not a stupid question at all, I apologise for not making it more clear. Once you get to 500 SP (I think) you will get a slider to allow you to adjust the % of your vote from 1-100%. Until then all votes are 100%.

Thank you :)

I loved this! Very well done

So basically we can vote as much as we want!
Bam theres an up vote for you!

Funny that's how I felt too until this post. Now I am like Oprah, 100% for you, 100% for you! You can all have a 100%. Well... technically 25% for comments..

Actually so far at the 25% level for comments I cant seem to make much of a dent in my voting power. It regenerates about as fast as i vote. I must be a slow reader!

Thats great to hear!

Thanks for the post @beanz.
I followed the instructions to join the experiment and created my own post.

https://steemit.com/curation/@whitesj40/finding-my-voting-sweet-spot-2

Voting for my own post dropped me from 99% to 98%.
Upvoting your post at 98% left me with 96.12% on steemit
I like your experiment. Thanks for the posting.

Awesome post @beanz, I admittedly have been going a little nuts with the whole power depletion and trying to figure out percentages since I always voted at a hundred percent before.
What a great idea! I'll have to let my power build back up (hopefully overnight will be enough) but then I'm definitely giving this a shot.
Resteeming :)

It usually takes around a day to fully recharge.

I just checked your power is at 88% so that should be back to 100 in around 14 hours I think

Can I refrain from voting for fourteen hours? LOL. I suppose I'll have to let everyone know why I'm waiting and direct them to your post ;)

I shut off my SteemVoter bot and have been curating at 100, 50 or 25 percent on posts and comments. I may need to take a day off from voting and simply leave comments so when I'm at 100% vote power I can give this a try. Sounds like a great plan to find the sweet spot! Thanks for the recommendation. :)

Wow that was so helpful! I personally use a Google Crome plug-in that allows me to see my VP as well Rep progression. Not sure how accurate the coding is, but I think it works pretty well. I'll try you method of voting along with cross checking the accuracy of the plug in with steemd! Great post!

Can you link the plug-in please?

Of course!
Here is the link
Hope this helps! It certainly magnified my experience on here to say the least!

I added the extension but when i click on the voting power button on the extension bar it just brings me to the same page as the link you gave in the reply above??

You just have to give it sometime in my experience. Try surfing steem for 10 or so and let me know if you see a change.

Its working. That is a sweet improvement. Thanks

Perhaps I spoke too soon. The data showed up when I first opened steemit this morning, but has now disappeared again. Is there any point to clicking on the plugin button once its installed?

If you vote too much it can take up to a week to regain all your lost voting power, everyone should be aware of that. If you deplete your voting power to 0 you will not be able to post, or upvote until at least partaily replenished.
You will still be able to comment during this time.
I recommend spread your votes don't empty the power supply in a day, then have to wait..and wait..

Your voting power only depletes at a 2% rate of what's left every time. Which means it's impossible to actually get to 0, although you could get to 0.0001% after maybe millions of votes. It takes 5 days to regenerate from 0 to 100, or 12 hours to regenerate 10%.

Keeping your power up is only important if you're seeking curation rewards. The only affect is how much rewards you can put out at a time, but it takes a lot longer to deplete your power if you scale it down with the slider. That's the purpose of this experiment. Finding the sweet spot that allows my power to regenerate even while I vote casually like I did when the optimal limit was 40.

No, part of the importance of your vote is the direct benefit YOU ARE GIVING to the person you vote for, and to a small degree the entire community.

Interesting approach. I was going to try to maintain at least 80% voting power, but maybe I'll find a more optimal number if i try your system. My upvotes are only worth about $1 right now, so I'd like to give as close to 100 % as I can.

I don't have enough steem power to be able to adjust my vote % yet. I guess I've been voting a lot every night, my voting power is at 21% right now. :-)

Nice work spreading the love!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67896.07
ETH 3253.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66