Thoughts from a curator

in #curation6 years ago (edited)

Manually voting has some benefits to it than autovoting. After almost 2 years voting pretty much daily, with @ocd helping me find reliable and great undervalued content, I wanted to talk a bit about why I prefer manually voting.

You may be aware that autovoting might give you better returns, you just use steemauto or steemvoter to set up your daily votes on your favorite authors at a good post age to get a nice return knowing they usually make a good amount of post rewards. Without getting into how much better ROI it is to delegate to bid bots nowadays than curating in general, let's think about the pros and cons of manually curating vs. autocurating.

Being active on the platform daily and everything pretty much being public and open-source combined with a lot of stats and reports you can check up on, you see a great deal of things going down. One thing that I have noticed and may be guilty myself of doing (although I try hard not to) is abusing your autovotes. Let's face it, a lot of authors that know they have autovotes waiting on them as long as they post pretty much anything will at some point start posting pretty much anything without the care of the quality. They often get so used to them that they take it for granted, stop caring about interaction on their posts or about the social aspect of the platform. It becomes like a job and grind to them. There are rare cases that those who already are too lazy to curate that they have to set an autovoter notice this change in behavior in the authors they are "curating" and remove them from their list. For a manually voter this is not the case as most of what they vote on they have read it or at least taken a glance upon it.

Another thing that autovoters might not be aware of is what the authors do with the rewards. Many on the platform still use the platform socially, i.e. when they grow in SP they make sure to curate broader and help out others that are smaller than them or newer to the platform. Unfortunately there are also many that just don't care, they've either made deals with the autovoters to return part of their rewards back to them off-chain or just use them to grow their stake in other currencies they are more interested in or believe will be of more profit in the short-term.

Before we get too deep into that, there is nothing wrong with powering down. It's your stake, you've earned it - but at the end of the day there are a lot more authors that are earning stake on the platform in a much more complicated way than you might be. To someone like me, I would much more prefer to reward those that believe in the platform and stay powered up and I believe might do good with their stake in the coming future - than those who are just extracting value from the token. This should be something more people think about.

I've had discussions with people telling me that they are just placing their SP and SBD into another token they believe will grow soon to then be able to switch it back into SP in time. Although this may be true in some cases it can just be an excuse to counter my initial motivation to reward them. Its not that I go out of my way to check transaction history of accounts before I curate their content, but if I notice some constantly just powering down and never powering up - I don't think its strange that I don't feel like rewarding these users for their content as much as somebody else. The case for "I'll power up once X goes up" is not the best excuse either, if you have noticed the markets - things can change rather quickly and there won't always be a lot of liquidity on exchange to allow you to quickly jump back into SP.

To me at a time like this where SBD is so overvalued, I don't really understand the need to power down your account at all - unless you want to power it up onto another account for different reasons. Most of the time it just tells me that you don't believe in the future of the platform and are just using your current position with autovotes, etc, to trade the value you earn here into another project or (worst case scenario) into stupid deflationary money. :)

I personally can't remember the last time I powered down, even though I am making good rewards with SBD I try and power some of it up every now and then, it baffles me that not more users are taking this unexplainable situation with overvalued SBD to grow their stake in this (in my opinion) undervalued currency. I feel like Steempower will be something that many will strive for in the future to have, it is after all a tool to decide how and how much you influence the future rewards of the blockchain that is constantly going down in amounts. By 2038 there will only be around 750 million Steem in existence and the daily SP being generated will be almost 20x less than today. I believe many, like those that sold during the 10-20 cent era will have big regrets for having sold today. That of course depends on the future of the platform and how well the team will work to make it come true.

Everything in life is a risk, I realize that I may be one of those taking a big one by keeping my SP powered up constantly but to this day I have yet to see a blockchain with more potential and a chance at real world adoption come to life than the one I've placed my biggest bet on currently.

I realize I may have drifted off the manual vs automatic curation discussion. This kinda tends to happen when I free write posts, but I do believe that these two discussions go hand in hand and I am hoping that in the near future people will be more careful about who they reward with their influence. After 7 days when the rewards are paid out there is no way to take them back and reconsider, that is one of the big pros of the platform and we have to try our best to not make it a big con.

Maybe the rest of the curation thoughts will take place in another post.


Thanks for reading, as always feel free to discuss this post in the comment section and ask anything that's on your mind. I may not always have the time to reply or read everyone's comment but I really try my best to.

Sort:  

This had me thinking. One thing have observed over the months is that most people coming into the platform are coming for the money. Their activities on steemit, if it isn't profitable to them, they don't do it, regardless of how positively it might affect others.

I was talking to a friend earlier today, I asked him why he hasn't been active on the platform, he replied by saying the current value of SBD wasn't as it used to be, it has plummeted. He went in to say he is seriously considering powering down since Steem is more valuable.
Most of us came for the money, but we changed our minds, when we understood what steemit stood for. It's a community helping each other, and it's just so beautiful.

I’m fine with people coming here for the money... They should Also learn to give and contribute along their journey. Steemit system was designed that way.

I truly believe that if we as a community can identify these self serving steemit account and stop interacting with them.

Also the steemit world has more good people than bad people. Let’s together peacefully kick out those self serving steemit accounts from our world :-)

I totally agree with you @nathanmars. As one gives , one takes . Givers never lack they say . The kind hearted makes the platform goes around and of course the inactive users are not worthy of rewards . I agree with you

Besides I saw you unfollowed me lol, have I done you any wrong ?

😀

I never unfollow good people.lol

Awww that’s sweet to hear, thanks for the follow back so that makes me a good person . Yay!!! Nice to meet you, I’m Mide , a singer { Reggae singer}

tienes todo la razón amigo todos deberíamos ayudarnos para tener una mejor sociedad dentro y fuera de steemit saludos de parte de @hazard1

Thanks for the post @acidyo. Yeah I do enjoy Manuel Curating/Commenting myself . Or as I like to refer to it as doing a little C&C :)

Two main reasons why I prefer Manuel to Auto...

First, I truly do love interacting with other Steemians' on their blogs and adding to the Discussion ( if I can't I usually won't Comment). I did similar things with Forum posting for the last 10 years or so at MMO and Fitness forums. It's something that I always enjoyed. I learn a lot from others and I think I can also offer insight and experience to help some as well. So I just have loved doing that with Forums

And now with Steemit I get paid to do it... and that is a huge, huge exciting thing I know it's not a lot but heck find me a better place doing something similar. It's revolutionary imho!

Plus, also with auto vote Iam not going to 'blindly' Reward anyone with out seeing the Content. I just want to see what Iam voting for. Even if it is a Steemian I really trust their quality, well for some reason it's almost like a knee jerk reaction that I just have to see it first. Weird, I know lol

Secondly, when you do Manuel Curating/Commenting you really are building such a better rapport than if you just auto vote people and never take the time to visit their blog to Comment and add to the ongoing topic.

Iam relatively new compared to some folks but I think with building this rapport and engaging with others ....well as a byproduct of this you will only help yourself. i.e. gaining more Followers,more clicks going to your blog, more visibility and also just building up general Credibility and Authority by the insight you can offer

So you start to build up your name pretty effectively when interacting on others' blogs.

Anyway, along with the one quality blog post a day that I do , Iam going to continue my Manuel Curating and Commenting. .Iam adding new Steemians' every week to my 'Manuel Trail' who are quality producers of Content. ( Which I also love finding 'new diamonds in the rough' )

It does take Time but it is just so worth it to me :) I mean I can honestly say C&C has turned into something that is as enjoyable to me as watching my fav tv show or going to play golf.

That's when you truly realize you are EXACTLY where you're supposed to be. Steem on :)

Again , really good and thought provoking post ;)

You said it right here. It's mainly about building up quality relationships and quality communication by being genuine and real to other humans! That is the real value of the Steemit blogging site. Since everyone is watching these days and can analyze our every action. People are getting tired of many of the inhuman things we see these days like companies that has no way of contacting a real human. It's very alien and creepy. We do not want to talk to a bot we want a real human with thoughts and emotions so we can build up trust and relationships.

I myself have never powered down and have so far only converted sbd to more steem power. I want to accumulate sp. I have also never used an autovoter. I like to cruise my feed, read the post and vote. It's just more fun that way. I do sell some voting power to smart steem so I can earn a little bit. I invested as much as I could in Steem and want to keep moving in a positive direction. It's very difficult to earn from posts when nobody seems to read them lol.

I like to cruise my feed, read the post and vote. It's just more fun that way.

I agree, @cflclosers!

I guess the best model will be some 30% 30% 30% buckets to spread yourself out a little bit. Since clearly automate some stuff has it's benefis. Since the output of amazing content I would say is still too little so it makes sense to sell some upvotes. But the ideal would be so much good content that we always can do manual curation if we want.

I believe in the platform and I not only invest back my SBD into steem with the dream of reaching dolphin (well I just recently graduated into minnow and working to get my 1st 1k) so that I can spread my vote farther. I also invest my time as I make sure I reply to each comment and reward good comment a with upvotes and making sure they are past the dust threshold. I am a minnow afterall haha .

I network, I help build Communities and one of which is the Promo-mentors who has the mission to help retain people by supporting projects and people with our community vote. I am so sure of the level of quality of the posts that they support that it is one of the few Community trails that I follow. Majority of my votes go to manual curation.

I upvote an upwards to 700 votes a way of almost 300 account that I interact. This shows because I am in the top 10 engagers in Asher's league of Engagement.

I admit though that there are some accounts on my auto vote and half of the reason is knowing they do good posts and thus I get good curation rewards and the other half is because I have made some human connection with them.

SBDs that I earn only go to power ups, some Charity works and once every 3 months as a reward to myself in a form of a book or a video game.
I am in Steem and will continue to be a content creator, content curator, and investor.

Autovotes, what a luxury.

I have also noticed some authors I follow have fallen in the trap of riding their autovotes. In all honesty, the crap or on average “Meh” quality they have started to publish - almost all of them - serves as a constant reminder to not stoop as low and abuse the goodwill of those who support.

Maybe I’m weird but - even with so many reward bots out there currently - I still prefer working at a post and hopefully earn an upvote because people see the effort which has gone into writing.

It’s just... more rewarding.

More honorable.

 

That said, I don’t have any significant autovotes so I can’t say if I would actually misuse them. Although I doubt I would. Quality is a reputation. I like looking at my feed and being proud of the effort put in.

I’m truly curious now whether $10 combined autovotes would affect that or would push me to deliver even better content. It’s definitely an interesting problem to have.

If I ever use autovotes you'll be on them. :P

Thanks for the vote of confidence. Words like these are inspiring and mean much more than an autovote often does.

An upvote should IMHO be earned, not taken for granted.

Btw... since I don’t politic not use bidbots I would be a poor choice and drain on your autovoting ROI. Better chose recidivist bidbots users for autovotes. :P

I tend to not vote on people that use bid bots. :p

An upvote should IMHO be earned, not taken for granted.

I agree, but a lot of time goes into promoting your posts in various discord channels, choosing the right tags and the timing of the post. Time that would be better spent to further improve on the quality of the posts. Hivemind will be such a revolutionary update.

I agree with you, @fknmayhem, on the satisfaction of creating a good post. I write for people to read it, not to get a little uptick.

And I also agree with you, @street.yoga -- there's so much time spent trying to figure out timing, tags and Discord... it takes away from the time to devote to creating.

Great post and discussion-starter, @acidyo!

Don’t expect too much from Hivemind. The more you expect the more you set yourself up for disappointment.

Lots indeed requires mega promotion but that’s not different from maintaining your own blog, self-hosted or hosted by a blogging platform.

It’s not because you wrote it that the hordes will storm down your front page to read you.

When I still managed an indie blog network, we spent thousands every month to promote and boost newly launched blogs and lesser known sites. Some sites were old and lucky enough to be in main aggregators (like Techmeme) or had many RSS subs but that was the result of them being written by authors with a large network. Not just because of the content published. Other times that happened because we invested in promoting those sites.

Everything else than a custom google search will already be satisfactory :)

I still think that steem Inc. is interested in a better way to find content, not guided by wealth but by talent, see this introduction of a good person token, which together with hivemind sounds like an interesting approach:

https://steemit.com/steem/@nairadaddy/good-person-token-something-big-is-coming-from-steemit-inc

Those are announcements, not actually shipped elements/code.

Communities have been announced since 2016 IIRC. A mobile app (iOS) was announced as ready at SteemFest 2017.

I also think you need to understand what Steemit.com and GPT are: they are the centralized roll-out models which aim to create traction and inspire others to build more gateways. I wrote about that here.

You have a warm heart for someone living in such a cold country.

lol this might be one of the best compliments I've ever received :D

You also have kind eyes sir <3

Just saw you seem to live in Finland. Estonia here! I was shocked how cold Helsinki was compared to Tallinn when I did a quick visit once haha.

I can feel your heart pains poured out through this post and believe me you’ve said what aches the mind of so many others . You see the issue of auto upvote has been an experience I witnessed myself . This took me back to when I just joined Steemit, I joined with a friend on the same day and one way or the other which I do not know. He was put on auto upvote, we both make post everyday him making more than 3 everyday because 1. He’s on auto upvote 2. He posts either a selfie or a meme and he earns on it big time. Being humanly I was feeling jealous and discouraged cause all I earn is 3 to 10 cents on post I spend the whole day writing. But it struck me this is me working for my future and I know 60% on steemit started with nothing or any upvote but they are good today. I summoned courage and things went on until the auto upvote stopped someday. It has stopped since then and he’s back to what I faced then . He got to lazy and when he couldn’t deal with 3cents I earn he left the platform.

With all this being said and done , I totally agree with you that manual upvoting is the best. Those that are powering down are just not being observant, lately I was trying to get an account for someone and I saw the payment option. You see it was free before and now there’s option of payment. This is a sign that it could only get better. I agree that people will strive to have steempower in the future but I’m glad I’m part of the platform now and I can only grow with the platform.

Thanks for this I could call a national concern

One could argue that a payment option is the opposite of a good thing.. say, an argument from the point of view that if the community and service as a whole was working as intended, account creation 'fees' would be non-existent,.. aren't the witnesses making enough money on the crypto side that they can afford to give away accounts free? There are multiple points to argue here.. selfish desires could and should be at the forefront of the conversation.. charging for accounts as applied to a powering down as a cost to run the service, for instance.

Auto upvote becomes like a salary and it breeds entitlement eventually. It will slowly destroy your work ethic. It will make you less observant and be put to sleep more. We humans are wired to live in a tribe and djungle where everday some exciting stuff can go down. That is when we feel the most alive. Not when some zookeeper comes and gives us the food. It breeds learned helplessness.

We like to do work and feel like we have truly earned something. It feels awkward when we know we truly didn't work for the money. Once you become excited about getting 1 cent that's when you know you are not an entitled person anymore. And that is when the universe will start giving you more and more and more...

I totally agree with you my friend . Autoupvotes hinders pure energy radiation, pure content creation from steemians

To me at a time like this where SBD is so overvalued, I don't really understand the need to power down your account at all

I mean, shit happens where you might just need the money. If you're in unfortunate circumstances or out of work and on here, I can understand powering down for a few weeks if you need the money. I'll probably have to power down for a week or two within the coming months so I can afford to put a deposit down on an apartment since I have to move within the next 2-3 months.

I think for bigger people on here who are either big dolphins or whales, that's probably not the type of thing you'd have to worry about. So, I can understand why you'd view it like that. I always wonder if a person is leaving the platform/lost faith in it if they're powering down, so I think that's just something we automatically assume most of the time.

I think for bigger people on here who are either big dolphins or whales, that's probably not the type of thing you'd have to worry about.

Yeah it was written while thinking of those really. There are of course many other reason to power down as well like wanting to sell at a potential upcoming top to buy back at the bottom, etc.

I figured it was, since I think most of all of the prominent/well known users on here are either a large dolphin or whale. I just was throwing it out there for people similar to my size and possibly the reasoning for their powering down and what not. I have quite a bit of hope in Steemit and would like to grow as much as possible, but sometimes things get pretty rough around here and I gotta use some of my power to get by for a few months. I'm sure a lot of people around 1.5-3k Steem power are in the same boat.

@acidyo , i noticed that most users dont understand the concept of steem witness , so i made a content to explain about it and how to vote a witness check it out......
https://steemit.com/steemgigs/@blackempror/a-fully-comprehensive-user-guide-on-who-is-a-witness-and-how-to-vote-your-witness

Hi Acid. Agree with you about powering down. it just doesn't make sense. Why not grow as fast as you can and at the same time help the community grow around you. Powering down gives out the wrong message. Yes everyone's circumstances change and some will be valid for a financial crisis but that will be few and far between. i am learning about this place every day and also believe it has a bright future.

Me too I believe steemit has bright future.
Dtube, Dlive, Steepshot, musing, etc... being build using steemit. The party just getting started. Steemit is the new Google of social media.

I truly believe we can make steemit great. I mean really great! Can’t wait for a day when all the good steemians feel their contribution has paid off:)

I agree with your analysis but I think that powering down depends on the amount of sp one has. Do you want to have 100% in steem and than something go wrong?

Do you want to have 100% in steem and than something go wrong?

No of course not, and I'd understand it if some accounts are only investors and curators. It was more about those that are actively posting and earning a good deal of SBD which at current prices rewards you a lot and let's you reinvest into other things - hence those that are doing both is what is a bit confusing to me. There are some accounts even with barely any SP left keeping their posts alive by votetrading with bought or free delegation which seems to me like its the biggest form of value leech of the platform I've ever seen.

You're right. I was supporting many guys for months just to find out they had the same amount of sp after all that time. I simply moved on. The system is evolving and changing constantly. The smart guys will profit the most on the end.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64572.94
ETH 2630.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82